We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveler rating
470
12
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
12
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsbananas fosterbird feedersaspen roomevening dessertcookieshot tubb bshomemade dessertsnightly dessertscreme bruleespecial dessertwonderful hostsspacious deckwonderful homefrom scratchbeer and wine
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 484 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Country Sunshine was very quite and relaxing. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The matress and bed linens again were very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was very clean. This B&B goes above and beyond providing drinks and wine in the evenings as well as sinful cookies and dessert. Breakfast was equally good. They are health conscious serving delicious oatmeal blueberry pancakes and bacon as well as other things. Coffee and Tea is available at all times. Staff is very friendly and personalities range from colorful to quiet and easy. Surrounding landscape is beautiful with views of mountains and a valley. It is just far enough out of Durango to give a feeling of being in the country. This B&B is good for couples as well as families. If you are into horse back riding, Hole in the Wall Stables is within walking distance. I highly recommend their rides and stage coach rides.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmcarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

My husband & I just stayed at Country Sunshine. We've been doing B&Bs for about 15 years & it doesn't get better than this! Clean, charming, amazing food, & every little need you have they've already thought of. Walter and Jodi, the owners, are real people lovers. Talking with them, we felt like we were with friends we've known our whole lives. They both go beyond service. The views, the cookies (Walter...thanks for not laughing at how many I ate), the wild life, it was the most wonderful setting. And every night they offer a gourmet dessert...they actually put a chocolate cake on the menu (after finding out about my love for chocolate) for the night that we were coming back through their area and staying with them again. The star gazing was unbelievable & on their well landscaped property you can follow a lit path to a large fire ring where we sat one night as the embers faded...Walter had made a fire eariler for one couple & their grandaughter & then brought them marshmellows to roast & the fixings for smores.
Walter and Jodi...you really have the attention to detail that makes a GREAT B&B. That you're a GREAT couple helps too!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We recently spent one night during our vacation to Colorado with Walter & Jodi @ Country Sunshine B & B near Durango. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone looking for peaceful relaxation. Our room - in fact, the entire property - was clean, comfortable and surrounded in a gorgeous landscape. We awoke to take a very short walk to view one of the local elk herds out for their morning dip in the nearby river. Later, we were served a scrumptious breakfast out on the deck. Walter & Jodi are very hospitable and easy to converse with.
The little extras like freshly baked cookies, evening dessert, and refreshments available at your discretion made it seem even more like home.
Looking forward to staying again in the future!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redrobinLancaster_wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

First of all: hello Jodi and Walter, from Francesco and Ania.
Your inn is simply great. And no only for the beautiful location but for your gentle service, your delicious breakfast and your friendliness.
I remembered how we were shocked when we got out from our car as soon as we arrived at the Country Sunshine and we saw a few feet from us a deer in the wood.
It's an ideal location for a sleepy holiday as for a sporty one.
Simply amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francescoKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stopped overnight on our way to Denver, & loved the place. The hosts were friendly & clearly have gone to great lengths to make their guests feel right at home. Very generous with drinks & snacks, & after a long, hot drive, we appreciated sitting on the deck with a cold drink, watching the hummingbirds at close quarters & the other birds in the trees nearby. A nice touch was a special dessert laid on the evening, & breakfast was also very impressive.
Durango is an attractive town, & the B&B is right at the foot of the San Juan Mountains pass.
Walter & Jodie have created something special here, & looking at their ratings from previous reviews, it seems other guests agree. Well-deserved rave reviews in their guest book as well.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Balcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews