We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, no-worries mountain living”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, S.C.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet, no-worries mountain living”
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast sits on a hillside just off U.S. 550 about 15 minutes north of Durango. We paid $125 a night to stay in the Pine Room.

So much of what I've read turned out to be true. The owners, Walter and Jodi, were excellent hosts who know the area well and seemed to think of everything we needed before we needed it. They serve amazing gourmet breakfasts on a deck overlooking the mountain across the river valley. They are some of the friendliest, hardest-working people I've met in a long time.

The inn's location is ideal as a launching point for exploring the surrounding mountains. Several spectacular hikes are within 20 minutes to the north. Durango's restaurants and tourist attractions are about 15 minutes to the south.

What really separates Country Sunshine from other inns are the little details. Every guest will probably have a different list. Mine include Walter lending me his rain jacket for a hike and his tips on things to do in the area, including where to catch the train and where to hike.

I'd recommend this place to anyone looking to spend a few quiet nights in the Durango area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpstateBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
88
299
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Country Sunshine was very quite and relaxing. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The matress and bed linens again were very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was very clean. This B&B goes above and beyond providing drinks and wine in the evenings as well as sinful cookies and dessert. Breakfast was equally good. They are health conscious serving delicious oatmeal blueberry pancakes and bacon as well as other things. Coffee and Tea is available at all times. Staff is very friendly and personalities range from colorful to quiet and easy. Surrounding landscape is beautiful with views of mountains and a valley. It is just far enough out of Durango to give a feeling of being in the country. This B&B is good for couples as well as families. If you are into horse back riding, Hole in the Wall Stables is within walking distance. I highly recommend their rides and stage coach rides.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmcarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

My husband & I just stayed at Country Sunshine. We've been doing B&Bs for about 15 years & it doesn't get better than this! Clean, charming, amazing food, & every little need you have they've already thought of. Walter and Jodi, the owners, are real people lovers. Talking with them, we felt like we were with friends we've known our whole lives. They both go beyond service. The views, the cookies (Walter...thanks for not laughing at how many I ate), the wild life, it was the most wonderful setting. And every night they offer a gourmet dessert...they actually put a chocolate cake on the menu (after finding out about my love for chocolate) for the night that we were coming back through their area and staying with them again. The star gazing was unbelievable & on their well landscaped property you can follow a lit path to a large fire ring where we sat one night as the embers faded...Walter had made a fire eariler for one couple & their grandaughter & then brought them marshmellows to roast & the fixings for smores.
Walter and Jodi...you really have the attention to detail that makes a GREAT B&B. That you're a GREAT couple helps too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster,wi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We recently spent one night during our vacation to Colorado with Walter & Jodi @ Country Sunshine B & B near Durango. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone looking for peaceful relaxation. Our room - in fact, the entire property - was clean, comfortable and surrounded in a gorgeous landscape. We awoke to take a very short walk to view one of the local elk herds out for their morning dip in the nearby river. Later, we were served a scrumptious breakfast out on the deck. Walter & Jodi are very hospitable and easy to converse with.
The little extras like freshly baked cookies, evening dessert, and refreshments available at your discretion made it seem even more like home.
Looking forward to staying again in the future!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redrobinLancaster_wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiev
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2010

First of all: hello Jodi and Walter, from Francesco and Ania.
Your inn is simply great. And no only for the beautiful location but for your gentle service, your delicious breakfast and your friendliness.
I remembered how we were shocked when we got out from our car as soon as we arrived at the Country Sunshine and we saw a few feet from us a deer in the wood.
It's an ideal location for a sleepy holiday as for a sporty one.
Simply amazing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francescoKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stopped overnight on our way to Denver, & loved the place. The hosts were friendly & clearly have gone to great lengths to make their guests feel right at home. Very generous with drinks & snacks, & after a long, hot drive, we appreciated sitting on the deck with a cold drink, watching the hummingbirds at close quarters & the other birds in the trees nearby. A nice touch was a special dessert laid on the evening, & breakfast was also very impressive.
Durango is an attractive town, & the B&B is right at the foot of the San Juan Mountains pass.
Walter & Jodie have created something special here, & looking at their ratings from previous reviews, it seems other guests agree. Well-deserved rave reviews in their guest book as well.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Balcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

As a one-night stop-over on our 25th anniversary vacation through the state of Colorado, the Country Sunshine B&B was a very relaxing, very comfortable stay that we really needed after a long day in Durango and Silverton, and the train ride. Walter and Jodi were so gracious and accommodating to us.

On our evening there, fresh cookies were offered, along with a freshly prepared cake with ice cream... a great dessert to end our tiring day in the area.

The Aspen room was very spacious and comfortable. The only detraction was the creaky floor above us in the Riverview room above us around bedtime. You can hear the guests walking overhead in the room above, but for our visit the floor noise did not last long, and we were able to get a good night's sleep.

The next morning, Walter cooked a delicious breakfast of potato pancakes with apple butter, and "chicken and apple sausage" after a fresh fruit cup. With perfect weather and morning temperature, we were able to eat our breakfast outside on the deck and watch the birds at the multiple bird feeders Walter and Jodi have in the backyard.

They even have a PC with internet access (if you need it).

The Country Sunshine is a very nice B&B that I would recommend to anyone. Thanks for the wonderful (but brief) stay, Walter and Jodi! We'll come back if we find ourselves in the Durango area again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiddleTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
12.7 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
453 reviews
12.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,021 reviews
10.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
12.6 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast

Property: Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast
Address: 35130 US Highway 550 N, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Country Sunshine b&b
Country Sunshine Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing