We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like we were staying with friends at their home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

After a two week vacation in Co. visiting Pagosa Springs, Aspen, Snowmass, Glennwood Springs, hiking and camping at Mesa Verde, our last night was spent at the Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast. The place was perfect for relaxing and enjoying our last vacation day. The house was comfortable with a large porch with tables and chairs, free refreshments and a wonderful home made desert. The next morning the hot tub was great, followed by one of the best breaskfasts ever. The area was quiet with a great view and Walter and Jodie were wonderful hosts always available to help.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMBAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 470 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2009

My husband and I spent a few days in Durango, CO this past week, and we were completely delighted with our stay at the Country Sunshine B&B. Walter and Jodi, the owners, understand "hospitality" and appeared to be truly glad we had chosen to stay with them. Walter's breakfasts were beyond compare, and his desserts each evening were an unexpected treat. Based on what we wanted to do in Durango, this was a perfect location as well. My husband and I have stayed in many B&Bs over the years, and we rank this B&B among the best. We hope to return some day soon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GroverGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

From the moment we entered we were welcomed with open arms, a warm smile, and a great tour of the B & B by Walter. The rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated, and our room had a skylight where we could star gaze at night over the bed. The hot tub on the deck was wonderful and very relaxing after a day exploring Colorado. "Chef Walter" prepared wonderful breakfast each morning and surprised us with a delicious dessert each night, plus to die for fresh baked cookies every afternoon. Walter and Jodi were perfect host, helped us plan our day and welcomed us back home each evening. We had a wonderful stay and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

What can one say about Country Sunshine and Water and Jodi ? Superlatives are .......well.....
Everything was superb. We were made welcome from the minute we stepped across the threshold. A wonderful peaceful location. Excellent breakfasts. Delicious evening desserts. Complimentary drinks, coffee and tea thought the day. Very comfortable room(s) ( we just managed to book two extra nights after our first three) All this + dozens of humming birds and some exotic American species that we did not know the names of and Walter helped us out. What more can one ask. Pity it is such a long way from the UK. Have stayed in many B&B's and hotels around our planet and this is 5 stars +++.
Should have got writing this revue some two months ago and apologise to Walter and Jodi for being late with it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baldgardengnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our daughter made our travel arrangements. We were at first apprehensive that she had made our stay for 3 days at Country Sunshine too long. But when we got there, we felt so comfortable and Jodie and Walter made us feel so welcomed. It was so quite and peacefull, you couldn't ask for anything better. They even suggested tours and different sites to see which helped us tremendously. We were treated every morning to a wonderful breakfast. Walter is a great host and made us feel very special. He made homemade cookies and the desserts at night were simply delicious. In the evening, the guests, along with Walter and Jodie and their special guest Inga from Switzerland, sat on the deck, drank wine and visited. Most of the guests were from Texas and one couple was from Minnesota. We enjoyed the hummingbirds which were so fascinating and the beautiful scenery was gorgeous. It was truly a wonderful way to spend our 40th anniversary and will certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Jodi & Walter were wonderful hosts. Walter is an excellent cook and source of information about the area. We will definately stay there again the next time we are in the Durango area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jam220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Walter and Jodi have created a special atmosphere at Country Sunshine. We experienced a great mixture of their guests and family during a two-day stay- it feels like staying with some distant relatives who trun out to be really nice people! From the fanastic breakfasts served on a beautiful deck (humming birds included), to the nightly meetings at the fire pit, the property exudes a peaceful charm. It is the perfect location for anyone interested in soaring at Tall Timbers or riding the train from Durango to Silverton. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cincyprof_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
12.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
10.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#1 of 34 in Durango
293 reviews
12.7 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
12.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,103 reviews
12.9 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast

Address: 35130 Highway 550, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range: $100 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the awe-inspiring Rocky Mountains lies the home of Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast just North of Durango, Colorado. Nestled among ponderosa pines and scrub oaks on four wooded acres overlooking the Animas River Valley, this secluded getaway is conveniently located just minutes North of historic downtown. Country Sunshine is close to dozens of attractions and is the closest Bed and Breakfast to Purgatory Ski Area at Durango Mountain Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Sunshine Hotel Durango
Country Sunshine b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing