We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Perfect B&B”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having spent time at B&Bs across North America and Europe, I have finally found the perfect B&B. Walter & Jodi give you a warm welcome, spend time with you throughout your stay to help you plan and get the most out of every day of your stay. Their home is lovely in a beautiful setting, but what sets this place apart is that the home has large public areas which encourages the guests to meet and socialize with each other. We stayed in the Golden Oaks room, a lovely corner room with fireplace and separate sitting room. Breakfasts are delicious and the desserts Walter creates as an evening treat are wonderful. Believe all the wonderful things you read in the other reviews, this place is in a class by itself. It deserves a sixth star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runners2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
88
301
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is my wife's and my favorite B&B we've stayed at hands down. A charming and quiet home outside of Durango provided a perfect getaway. It is clear that Walter and Jodi have put a lot of effort and thought into making their guest feel welcome and comfortable. Walter's breakfast and desserts are amazing as well. We just got back and are already talking about another trip to the Country Sunshine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 215JohnL215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our joint favourite B & B out of 19 we stayed in on our trip around the states.Quietly situated just north of Durango surrounded by beautiful mountain scenery this is a gem. Walter and Jodie are fabulous, treating their guest as family.Walter loves cooking breakfast for his guest which is served on the veranda whilst humming birds fly overhead. In the evening all the guests gather to drink the free wine,beer,soft drinks and socialize whilst Walter serves up strawberries and pineapple covered in chocolate as well as his home baked biscuits. If you are lucky or unlucky you may be woken up by elks calling out or a bear foraging for food all part of the charm of this delightful establishment. The house is very beautiful,spacious and clean and all the rooms are a delight. Both Jodie and Walter are a delight to talk to, Walter even taking the time to fix my camera which was on the blink. I cannot think of anything to say negative about this place, if you are visiting Mese Verede National Park or visiting Durango do yourselve a favour and stay here you will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the first time in all the years we've traveled that I have been motivated to write a review. But we really wanted to thank the owners Jodie and Walter and this seem the best way. We have been going to Durango for years, but staying at Country Sunshine was the best value and felt luxurious. Each morning Walter served a fabulous breakfast, plus there were always baked goods in addition to a fresh baked dessert each evening served in front of the fireplace.... beverages, wine and beer all included. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful, you can be as friendly or quiet as you are comfortable. They are the perfect hosts and we are very much looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regals75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in many B&Bs, and this one rates as the best, hands down. The owners have put so much thought into how to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable. In particular, the breakfasts are outstanding (in fact, ALL the food, including the desserts & the freshly baked cookies, is delicious). The setting is also beautiful and peaceful. We definitely want to return....and next time, rather than sight see, we will spend more time just enjoying this wonderful B&B.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank F208FBamandat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Country Sunshine for 3 nights on our recent trip to Colorado and what a wonderful B&B it is.
Jodie and Walter are generous hosts. Our bedroom (the Aspen room) was spacious and beautifully decorated. We woke up the first morning to find deer outside our window which was really magical. Breakfasts are freshly cooked and each day brings a different speciality from Walter. He also serves a daily dessert in the evening so if you eat out make sure you leave room for this. There is complimentary beer and wine in the fridge and a great sitting area where you can chat to other guests. The hot tub is very relaxing after a day out in the area.
The house is a little way outside Durango in a quiet area which was perfect for us. There is a supermarket 5 mins away where you can buy sandwiches for lunch and a great restaurant called Springs in the nearby golf club.
All in all this a great place to stay and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Some rooms are downstairs and some on the ground floor. We were downstairs which I liked very much a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This must be the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. Walter's wonderful deserts at 9pm. Astonishing breakfasts - beer in the fridge, cookies on the table - birds on the feeder outside the room, the hot tub, the quality of art work and furnishings, books & etc...
This place is amazing.
Jodie stimulates conversation and the humour is all pervasive. We enjoyed the interraction and banter with the other guests - our only mistake was staying only 2 nights in this wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
10.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
217 reviews
12.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,035 reviews
12.7 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
12.9 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
8.7 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast

Property: Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast
Address: 35130 US Highway 550 N, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Country Sunshine Hotel Durango
Country Sunshine b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing