We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no wonder they are # 1” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“no wonder they are # 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I spent a night at this B&B and I must tell you, it was great. Great location, great host's, great guests, great food...Walter and Jodie are the best! I would, and do, recommend Country Sunshine B&B to my friends and family but thought I'd reach a bigger audience by reviewing on tripadvisor. Plan your stay, you won't be dissapointed

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
87
297
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
626 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

This place is a hidden gem, with this being the first yelp review, maybe I am letting the cat out of the bag. It is impossible to check in here as the cell phone is a bit low on signal and the internet thinks that you are several miles away from where you are (did that make sense- I am confused?)
Anyway, back to the bed and breakfast. This place is way beyond fabulous. The lodge like feeling is wonderful, The hosts are so completely genuine. I mean the best. The rate was incredibly low for what you get. The grounds have EVERYTHING! The breakfasts are top notch, and really gourmet. The fire in the evening downstairs was delightful. The refrigerator is stocked with beer and soda for guests. There are fresh cookies and sometimes a hot dessert in the evening are generously given. The library is well stocked and the hosts will guide you around Durango if you ask. A WONDERFUL chocolate jar (with some Hershey golden almond pieces (the best) ) is by the front door and a hot tub, and ... and I guess you probably get it by now.
I like it a lot. and I am sure you will too.

Room Tip: Downstairs with the fire place! Wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharleySays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We only spent 1 night and arrived late due to a flight delay but we both loved it. Walter and Jodie are indeed great hosts. It was sooo much fun and enjoyed visiting with the other interesting guests. Would love to go back soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUcson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We loved this B and B! Warm, welcoming, helpful hosts. Superb breakfasts. Comfy bed. Good art. Excellent view. Complimentary fresh cookies, wine, beer, soft drinks. All items of top BandBs. The Country Sunshine had two additional unusual and most pleasant surprises. First, one table in the dining/living room had large, laminated maps that helped answer questions about geography. Helpful and handsome and unusual. Second, host Walter loves to cook, and each night he announced and prepared a special dessert (think fresh apple pie a la mode, or bananas Foster) served say from 8-9, just perfect after returning from great dining in Durango. And did we mention the hosts, Jodi and Walter? Welcoming, helpful, delightful, sincere, cheerful, all seem apt descriptions.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AZHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milliken, Colorado, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

If you want to be part of something special in Durango, CO then you've hit gold here. Walter and Jodie along with their team are highly capable of attending to your needs during your stay with them. Walter in particular is keenly aware of how you are doing and will accomodate you in any way he can. If you have a food preference, that can be addressed very easily and the food will certainly not leave you wanting! I personally enjoyed the complimentary local brew they had stored in the fridge downstairs for me as my wife and I sat on the comfortable couch in front of the fire that Walter started for us just as we entered the house. My wife liked the great array of tea available upstairs while we waited (not long) for breakfast in front of the glass doors watching the birds feast on the bounty of feed outside. Our host were down to earth and provided excellent service and frank conversation that made us forget we were in someone elses home. I coudn't imagine staying anywhere else in Durango.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room and Walter will be happy to help you decide based on what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne, Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Country Sunshine in July. We loved it! Jodi & Walter were great hosts and very helpful with suggestions on things to do around the Durango/Silverton area. Breakfast and dessert every night was fantastic. I would highly recommend staying with them if you get the chance to visit Durango.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragincajun2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Perfect retreat with a secluded feel with lovely views between Durango and Silverton. The hosts were so warm and welcoming, rooms tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Nice sitting area with a fireplace to sit by in the evenings while you enjoy a delectable dessert created by Walter. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious and Walter and Jodi are always so accommodating. Honestly there aren't enough positive adjectives to describe Country Sunshine B&B,and or Walter and Jodi and we are already planning our return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
12.7 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
12.7 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
12.6 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
12.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast

Property: Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast
Address: 35130 US Highway 550 N, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Country Sunshine Hotel Durango
Country Sunshine b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing