We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, fun atmosphere, outdoor patio”
Review of Carver Brewing Co.

Carver Brewing Co.
Ranked #7 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Southwest's Original Brewpub, drop by for a free tour of this solar, wind-powered brewery and sample 12 award-winning, handcrafted brews on tap. Healthy, hearty and fresh creations for breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails featuring organic produce grown locally at our own Carver Farm. Vegetarian and kid-friendly. Always expect to find something on tap for the hopheads, a Belgain style, one of the distinct seasonal lagers the brewmaster is fond of, and something you've never had before. Located in historic Downtown Durango. Large parties are our specialty: invite your guests to connect in a cozy, comfortable dining room, celebrate in a festive, intimate brew pub and rejuvenate in a lush and refreshing outdoor beer garden. Vegetarian and kid-friendly.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fun atmosphere, outdoor patio”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Despite a large wedding party on the outdoor patio with our group of 11, we received prompt and friendly service and really enjoyed the food on offer. There were plenty of offerings for our gluten-free and vegetarian group members as well as for the voracious carnivores. Good beer selection too. The prices were better than many of the other higher-end places in town, especially those with an outdoor patio. I highly recommend it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ForesterLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    314
    86
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food and artisan beer”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We enjoyed the different brews we sampled while dining. Plus, the Jackrabbit Ale was a winner at the San Juan Brewfest the weekend we were in Durango. The food was not fancy, but high above standard bar fare...and delicious. This will be a recurring "must do" on all our return trips to Durango.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ddp-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
204 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, good beer, outdoor dining”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a nice dinner here while visiting Durango. We all enjoyed the fresh beer, and for dinner I tried the Sagamity soup, which was very unusual and tasty. It's basically a vegetarian chili based on a Native American recipe - highly recommended. My daughter had a bread-bowl soup and the bread was fresh and tasty.

We ate outside and the atmosphere was very comfortable, not too loud and not right next to other tables.

Highly recommended after a long day of outdoor activity.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

On a busy busy Sunday morning we sat at the bar and had breakfast.. The bartender Kathy was superb and breakfast came out hot and tasty. We rteally enjoyed the high energy atmoshere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Felschurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Our home in Durango”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

That's how it seemed. We visited probably 6 times over our visit to Durango, mostly for the beer. We did have lunch twice and supper once. The food is good, but to me the real draw is the beer. They brew a bunch of different offerings on site, covering a wide variety of styles. A number of them are really well done. And while the place looks small as you walk in, they always managed to find a space for us, if not in front then at the back bar or outdoor patio. Compared to Steamworks this place seemed a bit more intimate, even when it was objectively pretty full. Generally friendly staff who seemed in constant motion trying to keep up with the ever-changing clientele. This is probably the first place I'll visit next time I'm in Durango.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carver Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Carver Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing