We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A delightful independent motel set against the mountains and close to all of Durango's attractions!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Siesta Motel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Holly, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful independent motel set against the mountains and close to all of Durango's attractions!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2010

I first visited Durango 4 years ago and stayed at the Siesta Motel based upon a friend's recommendation. I recently returned to Durango and from my previous experience chose to again stay at the Siesta. I would describe the rooms here as comfortable and basic. From my experience they have always been clean and well functioning. The motel offers a southwest ambiance and is set against a mountain backdrop and offers good views from your door. I have also found the location to be very convenient as you can walk to several stores and its only a short drive to downtown Durango and attractions such as rafting, hiking, fishing and the Durango to Silverton railroad. Being a smaller independent motel the owners are usually close by and eager to speak with visitors offering kindly advice on nearby attractions and eager to make a stay here as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRogers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    114
    42
    16
    10
See reviews for
74
149
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parabiago, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stopped in Durango for 1 night during our trip towards Mesa Verde National Park. What we did not expect to find amid green woods and high mountains was this mexican-styled motel. Rooms are oldie and definitely need to be refreshed but they have a colourful personal touch you will hardly find somewhere else. The atmosphere is very relaxed, with the common grassy area where you can sit down to have a chat with owners and other guests. Although downtown can only be reached by car, on the opposite side of the street there's a big supermarket. Durango itself was a bit of fun with its morning market, its cow-boy pubs and the old train station. On the whole a pleasant find, that I would recommend to anyone looking for a genuine place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldcitizen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ouray,co
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

Glad we found Siesta Motel...we''ll return. Nothing fancy, but comfortable, great bed & clean.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dantat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stay at the Siesta every year once or twice..It is always clean and comfortable..The beds are the best!!!.No extra charge for refrigerators/microwaves/kitchens in larger rooms

Durango is a very expensive place to vacation and this motel is priced lower and adequate to all others

The owners are a family and very friendly and hardworking as well as the house keeping staff

We felt very safe and will return again and again

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thom5843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this cozy, eclectic vintage Motel. Ive stayed in many and usually the neon sign is as good as it gets. The rooms are usually shoddy and most of the other "tenants" are of the long term sort. Not the case at The Siesta. While the furniture is old, none of it is beat up or dumpy. The bed was better than what we sleep on at home and the old school kitchenette almost convinced us to stay another night. If you enjoy chains like Howard Johnsons, this place is not for you. If youre looking for a unique experience in a 1 of a kind setting then this is your place. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I really have no complaints. $52 for the 2 of us, we couldnt have hoped for a better stay. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrexlerMcStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

Me and my husband stayed at the Siesta in mid Sept. 09 and just loved it. The owners were very friendly and accomodating. They sent us to a couple great places to eat and told us to go on the train. We loved it. We stayed a few nights there and it felt like we were at home. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms very clean. You can tell they take pride in their property, it is very well maintained. If you love clean and comfortable than its the place for you. We will deffinately be returning. Thanks Siesta Motel You are the Best Kept Secret in Durango.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmm_cmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Visted Durango for a couple of days, late August 2009. Stayed two nights. Clean, very nice rooms and grounds. These owners aren't looking for good enough, they put in a lot of work to keep an older Motel looking it's best.The staff was frendly and informative about the town. Will stay here My next trip to Durango. Almost past it by because of some bad reviews, ( coming from about the same date, same group?" MakesYou Wonder") Give these Folkes a try and You'll agree they deserve only high marks.
P.S. Ride the Train to SIlverton, this Old Biker needed a nice relaxing day, what a view!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaOldBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.0 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.7 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
2.4 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Property: Siesta Motel
Address: 3475 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#11 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siesta Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing