We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siesta Motel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pure Cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Wow! The Siesta Motel. This place is about as cool as it gets. Huge green neon cactus sign, like retro Route 66 vintage, but it’s the real thing. The owners are great and the rooms spotless and furnished with funky authentic furniture. Great bed. I travel through Durango a few times a year and this is my second time here. The price is terrific. Bring two wallets if you want to stay in any of the hotels downtown or disinfectant and a rubber suit if you want to stay at one of the cheapos. I recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are a little bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    114
    42
    16
    10
See reviews for
76
150
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Priced as high as Best WEstern and other much nicer hotels, but don't deliver on the goods. Not sure at all why they view themselves as "Durango's BEST kept secret"? Beds too soft with Hammock effect, I slept on floor. AC disturbingly loud. Bath fan was horribly loud. Full kitchenette very old and tiny, but functional. Owners not friendly at reception, stricly business. Old room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kodi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place has great advertising and looks good on paper and in person...the price is decent as well. The room itself had a refrigerator, was neat, clean, and decorated nicely, albeit small. The outdoor courtyard was clean and neat. Free trolley service is yards away. If we had to do it over again, we would pay $30-$50 more and stay downtown, closer to 'the action'...although my wife disagrees.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the busy highway leading into town (4 miles away) and until late evening road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at the Siesta during our trip out West. Wonderful, cozy place. Definitely felt like staying with friends. The rooms were very homey and comfortable. The atmosphere was very welcoming and we ended up staying two nights. Would definitely stay here again. It's a small place, but if you like a down home type of place this one will fit the bill.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a spotlessly clean and welcoming hotel with friendly, helpful owners. A bit out of downtown, as many are, but the free trolley bus stops just outside. The only thing stopping a five star review is the lack of breakfast. A great place to stop, and we stayed for three nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David499564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was shocked to find the quaint little motel at the end of the main drag in Durango. Shuttle close by, and very sweet owners, and staff.

Pet friendly, biker friendly, hiker friendly, just plain friendly I'd guess to anyone.

Rooms were nice for the price too.

I'd recommend it over any hotel in Durango!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very nice non -chain motel. Clean and friendly. Thanks to the local visitor bureau for listing it. A very spread out town, so it's hard to find any that are handy but here you are a tad far from downtown. I also liked the decor...lots of nice touches.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank averageones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.4 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
2.4 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Property: Siesta Motel
Address: 3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#11 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siesta Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing