We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Siesta Motel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Southwest
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A decent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my family in the suite, which was nicely laid out with one kind bed in the main room and then a separate room with two twin beds. The kitchen in the suite was a decent size, and I could see myself actually being able to make meals here. The location is too far from town to walk if the weather is bad, but there are free trolleys that run during the daytime that you can catch from near to the motel. The front desk was closed when we got there in the mid afternoon, and we found our keys inside an envelope taped to the door of the main office - not very secure, but then again, no one took them before we arrived and invaded our room. For Durango, which is overpriced in general, this place is a good deal, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RubyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    114
    42
    16
    10
See reviews for
76
150
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed here Sept 14. The owner was cordial and the room was clean and roomy. We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit and paid $98 which was a good price compared to the other chain hotels. There weren't actually 2 separate bedrooms. There was a queen bed in the main room with the kitchenette, sitting room and TV. The separate bedroom had a double and single bed with a TV. The beds were comfortable and the kitchenette had the necessities. We only had reservations for one night and was going to ride the train the next day. The owner allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot the next day so we could ride the trolly to the train station and save the parking fee and hassle. We saw a sign on one of the other hotels advertising rooms for $47, I wander how many people fell for that?? I asked the owner why she didn't advertise on well known travel websites (hotels.com, priceline, etc) and she said they can't afford the fees they charge. As usual, the big chains are squeezing out the small business owners.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was probably the worst night's sleep I've had in years! The king-size bed in #8 was totally shot! I wanted to grab my sleeping bag out of the car and sleep on the floor! The place was clean but the bed was unacceptable. The owners need to spend some money and buy new beds. A sore and stiff back and neck are not what you want when you're on vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripping_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Hidden gem if you're looking for basic, no frills, clean, comfortable and inexpensive. Only 23 units with very small parking lot. Room #4 was small, but held a very comfortable, pillow-top, king size bed. desk w/lamp and chair, small upholstered chair in corner, 2 seater bench under the window, one bed side table with lamp. Shower was updated and adequate. Bathroom very basic but clean. Bedroom has older carpet and wood paneling on all 4 walls. Lighting could have been better as was a little on the dark side. In room wy-fi worked well.

We stayed 2 nights. After our first night, we left our car in the motel parking lot and caught the free shuttle to the train station for the Durango/Silverton train ride. The shuttle stop is a few feet past the motel office and we walked there in less than 2 min. It costs $7 to park at the train station, so this was very convenient. The free shuttle was running every 20 min. and dropped us about 1 block or maybe 1/2 block from the train station. Since the motel does not include breakfast, we ate a quick breakfast at the McDonald's next to the train station.

The motel is located just past 34th street, so we did drive about 1 mile to the "downtown" area for meals as the fall free shuttle hours stop early in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gottagetupandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
604 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 692 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at the Siesta for two nights. We chose it because it seemed to be affordable in what is obviously a spendy and touristy town. We paid $78 per night plus tax and that was the most we paid while on an eleven day tour of southern Colorado where we stayed in seven motels. I searched on Trip Advisor and guide books for affordable places and this was one of the better deals that I could find. When we drove down Main Street we passed two or three others that offered lower rates but I cannot comment on their conditions.
The Siesta is an older mom and pop place but kept in good shape by the owner. When we checked in she was very friendly and answered our questions about Durango. The room was small but clean. No extras were offered including no breakfast. We loved the large cactus neon sign that marked the location but we were disappointed that the sign was not turned on either evening we were there. However, the sign stated, "Free room- just kidding" so there was a good sense of humor.
I don't know if this a disadvantage or not but the motel is at the far northern end of town which makes it about 35 blocks from the historic center of town and the famous train station. Parking in the center of town is a bit of a headache (meters or paid lots). However, during most of the year a free shuttle, the Trolley, runs along Main Street from 7:00 in the morning until 10:00 at night (shorter hours in winter) so if you are taking the train to Silverton you can make the early train or if you are visiting some of the pubs in the downtown you can make it back to the motel safely providing you don't stay out too late.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unclelouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at the Siesta Motel for 2 nites during the Labor Day weekend. Per some of the other reviews and because it was the only thing left I chose the Siesta. Our room was of small to average size and our furniture looked new. We liked that the room was very clean. We did not find management as warm and fuzzy as some previous reviews and there were signs everywhere warning you that if you were to accidentally harm something you would be CHARGED!!! One sign OK, 2 signs Maybe, signs everywhere......?
I got a look at some of the other rooms and they were not as nice as ours but I cannot complain about our room. The beds were comfy. Over all we would stay there again because of the price and the cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank houtexgirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here with husband, room was clean, except for the dead spider behind bathroom door. Shower stall was VERY tiny, and would not accomodate a larger person. AC Unit in room was very cold, and the beds were pretty comfortable.
Pros: Price
Location
Comfy Bed
Liked the Kitchenette
Clean Towels
Cons: Tiny Shower Stall
Tacky Envelope asking for Tips
VERY Rude Owner (mainly the Lady Owner)
Only allowed to use Ice Machine Sparingly
Limited Parking, and is awkward
The room is not up to date at all, which is to be expected of a mom and pop place. The website stated it had a hot tub, but it did not.
All in all I would stay here again but only for a night or two, and as long as I wasn't planning on hanging out in my room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOTO7923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.4 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.4 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.7 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Property: Siesta Motel
Address: 3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#11 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siesta Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing