We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Eggs Benedict”
Review of Oscar's Cafe

Oscar's Cafe
Ranked #10 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Weimar, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Real Eggs Benedict”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We tried this for breakfast after other Tripadvisor reviews, they were right on.
I normally stay away from eggs benedict because the sauce is from a can or powder mix. This was excellent.

Their meals are very large and we left some the plate because it was too much to eat.

I did not like their biscuits and gravy. I'm from Texas and we make it different. Must be some liberal / conservative thing.

It took a reasonable time to get served and the food to arrive. Remember everything is freshly prepared. If you want something quicker, go to the golden arches. If you want something slower, go to Denny's.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunni2Weimar_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    116
    34
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still good 10 years later”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had been to Oscars 10 years ago on a trip, we still talked about the best pancakes ever. We were on a road trip and got the chance to come through Durango, well we knew where we were going to eat breakfast. It just so happened that we stayed across from them. It had been updated some, but still the same little (and I do mean little) place, with the best pancakes that cover your entire plate. My husband thought he'd get two pancakes, but only made it though half, they are large! The service was great for one of the busiest places in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“This is THE place to go for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We recently ate at Oscars. Oscars has only gotten better since I last reviewed it. The owners recently renovated the restaurant and it looks great. The service staff is great and the food is wonderful. I had the Tio Omelet and my wife had the Durango Scramble. The Tio is very special and features Oscars famous green chili. The Durango Scramble has eggs, bacon, cheese and avocado, all of which make for a special meal. You cannot miss going to Oscars while visiting Durango.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Large portions lots of choice”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Huge portions definitely share with family or load up on a big plate then you can go to Mesa Verde all day like we did and not need to eat again until dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Big sized breakfasts”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We arrived around 8:00 in the morning and the place was packed. However, we were quickly given a table which was cleared. The service was quite efficient so we were able to quickly order. We had their enormous plate sized pancake with an egg and bacon. The maple syrup was even warm. Good value.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Oscar's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing