We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pulled Pork and Sliced Brisket was delish”

Serious Texas Bar-B-Q
Ranked #9 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pulled Pork and Sliced Brisket was delish”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Our kids (18, 21) insist we eat there when we are in town. We ended up eating there twice this vacation. Everything was great except for the cheesy potatoes. They were served not hot. My children thought they were okay. I did not like them. The service was great as usual. A change of taste from the sauce we are used to! We will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claydh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    303
    114
    32
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's okay”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Don't get the local favorite lol unless you are a meat and potatoes person.. Umm I wasn't impressed the meat had a smoky taste :) staff was a bit rude there was a choice of a cpl beers I love barbecue I just think it was overpriced and dry and stay away from the coleslaw

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delilah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I visited Serious Texas Bar-B-Q in Durango. As a business traveler it’s nice to have a good place to eat. And for Durango there prices are good. Most of their other place I have tried in Durango are overpriced. I had the sliced beef and it was okay. A little dry this time. I should have stuck to the ribs, they have always been great. I really love there sauce.
Downside was all the flies. They need to do something about that. Continually swatting gets old fast. Even with all this I do recommend them and will visit again. Thanks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Johns, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good BBQ and friendly”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was recommended by are hotel for a friendly BBq place. This definitely fit the bill. The staff as friendly and quick getting our orders. We had the turkey, pulled pork and brisket. Allof it was great and had that great smoke flavor. You order by how much you want and the take it to your table. So if you are looking for full service this is not the place for you, but you will miss some great food. It is like eating at a friend house. Also another recommendation I use was most of the people eating there were locals. Would go back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lgallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fast, Friendly, Tasty”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The pork sandwich with the cherry chipotle chutney and BBQ sauce is the bomb. My daughter loved her Texas taco with pulled pork, cheesy potatoes and jalapenos in a warm tortilla.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAT633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serious Texas Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Serious Texas Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing