We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Barbeque.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serious Texas Barbeque

Serious Texas Barbeque
3535 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
19702472240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Guin, Alabama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Barbeque.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

1st timer eating there. Very good food, like their sauce. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Good selection of different types of meat. Order big 6 with all kinds of meat. The beans are great And the cold slaw is good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    228
    93
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
190 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“GOOD STUFF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We eat here every time we come to Durango. Good BBQ reasonable prices one location has a wonderful patio on the river

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pegasus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin CA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Menu, Big Portions, Fine Outdoor Seats and River View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place was just great fun! Fast, casual dining perched above the Animas river.
At mid-day we ate on their giant covered patio with a fine view of kayakers and rafters and tubers floating down this calm stretch of river. Tables are set with a wooden box containing a roll of paper towels and a big Texas-sized bottle of a very flavorful, spicy, vinegar based BBQ sauce.

Inside we lined up to order at the counter and to decide whether to eat indoors or out. Our choice was easy on a Summer afternoon.
Their food was pretty tasty and certainly reasonably priced ($6,50 sandwiches, tax included, for example). The Pulled Pork sandwich was especially smoky and delicious. The Pork Loin sandwich seemed not quite tasty or ample for two of us who ordered it, despite its mild pineapple jalapeño sauce. Our favorite was their $5 Texas Taco, with lots of cubed potatoes, cheese and BBQ meat. Wow, big, juicy and full of flavor. It even got better with their table BBQ sauce.
The view was worth it all, plus delicious food! We are fans!

When we returned home, our credit card bill showed an incorrect amount. We called the Manager and he immediately credited us properly. with an apology. We assume this was just an honest (careless) mistake, but appreciated his immediate action.

Advice: Always keep your original receipts when traveling - of course!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerMundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalcrest, Florida
Level Contributor
234 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“terrific bbq”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we loved this bbq. the sauces are great. and then you have the beans!
we ate here 3 times in the week we were in durango

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathryn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ. Worth checking out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Delicious, speedy friendly service. Everything we ate was great. I enjoyed the peach cobbler. It's a must when in Durango. YUM

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweitzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Serious Texas Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing