We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful buildings with incredible mountain views.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Tamarron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Tamarron
Ranked #17 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Durango
2 reviews
“Beautiful buildings with incredible mountain views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

There were 5 in our room and we didn't feel crowded. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. A full size futon and not a pull out bed made it extra comfortable. Great amenities with pool, jacuzzi, steam shower, and waking trails.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmtepker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    5
    17
    17
See reviews for
41
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We rented a room at this lodge through Durango Mountain Resorts. From the reviews, I thought the resort would be a bit more updated. Mr Brady would have felt right at home in unit 513! The room was screaming for an update. The bathrooms, furniture and materials, including shag carpeting, did not look like they had been touched for over 30 years. The room did not have room darkening shades, which meant we were all up early with the intense sun in the room. In addition, the lodge itself was in need of repair, with wings being completely abandoned. I asked about getting a room with more updates but the front desk person said he could not help with our room assignment. In addition, I did not even get a bill upon checkout. The person at the front said he was unable to generate one for me since the room was through Durango Mountain Resorts. Five days later I have not received an email bill or any confirmation of what I was charged for the stay.

On a positive note, the kids liked the indoor/outdoor pool and spa. The views were very nice from the property and the distance to Durango was manageable. Also, we ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was of good quality but was mainly bar food type items. There was also a kitchenette in our room and a grill/patio on the side of the hotel, although the grill looked like it had not been cleaned in years.

This lodge has a beautiful location but it desperately needs some renovation or else it will continue to go downhill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photographer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Wanted to say thanks to Heather and the Tamarron staff for making our family vacation/reunion great. Our group of 24 were well taken care of and the facilities/condos were great. Location is perfect for day trips to silverton/ouray and into durango. Cuckoos was great and kids loved the pool. Great escape from the Texas heat. We really enjoyed the train, rafting, and hiking the goulding creek (across 550 from tamarron). Hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: 575/576/577 was amazing. very high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

It was so nice to finally arrive at the Tamarron. The location is just what we asked for, about 20 mins out of town. We came up for true outdoor experiences and couldn't have landed at a better hub. Service was genuine and prompt. The place was clean and neat. Loved the smell of those afternoon showers coming from Texas!
And to top it off, we have never had such good chicken from the Cuckoos restaurant. Only good things to say.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Enjoyed my stay in Unit 318 in Tamarron. Clean and comfortable. There is a restaurant on site now called Cuckoos. I loved the location. Just 20 minutes from Durango and 40 minutes from Silverton. Close to a lot of things I enjoy. Horseback riding, hiking, fishing. The pool and fitness center was great. I enjoyed the spa services. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love2ridehorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Room was average for cleanliness and space, but upon checkout, (not mentioned anywhere before), we were charged an extra $50 "cleaning fee". We had opted for no cleaning or towel service after our first night and stayed 2 nights. We made no unusual mess - we aren't at all untidy - and besides the cleaning staff had not been in our room until after checkout. Counter person indicated that this was a normal charge for this lodge as they employ a 3rd party cleaning crew. I was totally taken by surprise by this deceptive charge! In addition, the food choice in the Cukoos grill and lounge was very limited and the larger hot tub was out of order. Never again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We arrived in Durango after a long day of traveling from Baltimore, MD around 7 pm, after getting adjusted and settled in our room. We decided that we didn't want to drive back into town so headed down stairs to the restaurant inside the hotel to eat, that is scheduled to be open daily until 10pm it was around 830 and they were closed already. This happened on 2 other occasions when we tried to go down to the restaurant them being closed before they were supposed to and the other time we caught them right as they were closing early and they wouldn't take our service. So i refused to eat at cuckoos for the remainder of my trip. The people at the front desk were great very accomodating and cordial, they made a point to meet all of our needs and make sure that we were taken care of. We did have a problem with the fitness staff, we found them to be rude and not to customer friendly. The pool was down most of the week and they had no clue when it was going to be fixed. All in all with the restaurant and the fitness staff being rude and having horrible customer service I would not recommend staying here. The only perks were they are 8 mi from the mountain and they have a shuttle to and from the mtn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
14.8 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
10.6 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
14.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
16.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Tamarron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Tamarron

Property: The Lodge at Tamarron
Address: 8 miles south of Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Tamarron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tamarron Vacation Rentals, located in beautiful Durango, Colorado. Tamarron lodging is the best of both worlds ~ just 20 minutes north of downtown Durango and 10 minutes south of the ski resort. Come relax in the mountains while being clsoe to everything Durango has to offer. Our main lodge has an indoor & outdoor heated pool open year-round, two hot tubs, sauna, fitness room, restaurant and bar. Durango lodging accommodations include everything from studio units with kitchenettes to studio lofts that sleep 6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge at Tamarron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Tamarron Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing