We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
124
61
19
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
61
19
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple crumblehen weekendbridal suitefor sunday lunchbite to eatweekend stayboth nightsfamily roomgiants causewaycouldn't do enoughwild duckxaghranightclubmealdeclanreceptionistfry
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 241 of 241 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2009

My husband and I booked into this hotel for three nights while attending a family wedding. Our first surprise was to find that the hotel was on the corner of a very busy junction and the 'hotel car park' was, in reality, three spaces outside the main entrance and some public parking near the local shops.
We were warned that the hotel would be noisy until 1 a.m. but did not expect to be disturbed until 02.30 when, in desperation, we phoned reception to ask if they would intervene to quell the party that was taking place under our window. The noise finally abated at around 04.00.
The main problem that we encountered was that our bedroom stank of cigarette smoke. Attempts had been made to disipate the smell by opening the window and propping the inner door open with a fire extinguisher. However, once we had closed the window, (in an attempt to reduce the noise level), and disturbed the soft furnishings the smell of cigarette smoke became overpowering. The room did have a smoke alarm which was obviously not working properly.
We complained the next morning to the hotel manager and he quickly and efficiently transferred us to another hotel.
Although the food was of a good standard and the rooms more than adequate, I would not recommend the hotel as a place to stay unless you are part of a loud, noisy party, are deaf or a very heavy smoker (bearing in mind that smoking in hotel bedrooms is against the law!)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mgt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 16, 2010

At Walsh’s Hotel we strive to continuously improve the hotel and the service we provide. Our rooms are cleaned to the highest standards and are checked by Management on a regular basis. We are very sorry it escaped the attention of our staff that there was a smell of smoke in the room. All our rooms are non smoking and we strive to enforce this policy. Generally, the guest would have immediately been moved to another room, but being fully booked this was not an option on this occasion. The General Manager did however deal with it as best as he could, as soon as he was informed of the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 214 meiden, da laut vom angrenzenden Biergarten (bis 3 Uhr) und ausserhalb des W-Lan empfanges##1
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.