We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Dinner”
Review of Walsh's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walsh's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Maghera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derry
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing Dinner”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Went for dinner on a Tuesday evening straight after work as had an appointment to attend within the hour. My husband and I both ordered the bangers and mash. I informed the waitress that it needed to be served quite quickly as I had an appointment in 45 minutes time. The food was served in good time but the quality was dire. It consisted of 3 poor quality pork sausages and a spoonful of mash underneath. A rather sweet gravy was served with it. In addition to the sausages being of a poor quality they weren't even hot! I feel if they are going to charge that amount for sausages and mash, at least they could provide locally sourced high quality products. Both of us were utterly dismayed. I will not be back for a long time. (Meal was eaten in the bar area).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeCoachontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    51
    16
    22
    14
See reviews for
43
69
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights recently...the staff were pleasant and hardworking..The food was acceptable...The room was presented as tidy and the ensuite clean but the decor was long past tired, the deep cleanliness was just unacceptable, the carpets were seriously stained, the curtains hung limp and dirty (I couldn't touch them)No on site parking available either, only the street for cars.... Sad that such a well positioned hotel with such a good staff is so desperately in need of a thorough CLEAN and refurbishment..a poor reflection on our N.I. tourist industry..sadly!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynemacquarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We got a good deal for this hotel and stayed 2 nights. Food was really good and staff were friendly and helpful. Decor maybe a bit tired but overall clean and comfortable. Looking out for the next b&b deal but if I was in the area I would certainly go there for a meal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz2884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were travelling past and as restaurant had been recommended we decided to have 2 course special, this was served very quickly and was very tasty. We were seated close to the bar which was very noisy and dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jss79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked this hotel for a weekend break for myself, wife and 2 friends. We were given a great deal for 2 nights B&B with 1 evening meal. One off our friends took ill and was unable to go but the hotel were good enough to honour the deal and even gave our friend and evening meal on both nights as they said he had already paid for it any way. The staff were excellent and really made you feel at home with their homely charm. The accommodation was a double room which was very comfortable but maybe dated. The food was very good both at breakfast and in the evenings and restraint is used extensively by the locals which is always a good sign.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sliverfox18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here for two days, it was very reasonably price and our family room was great (it had a maisonette) which was excellent as I was sharing the room with my sisters and it gave us all privacy. The beds were really comfy and clean. The shower was absolutely brilliant and super powerful. The staff were super helpful and friendly. The outside traffic was a little noisy... but that is no fault of the hotels. The breakfast was great. Its not the most modern of hotels but it was great value for money and as I said the staff were great!

Room Tip: Maisonette rooms are great for family and friends sharing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puddle7soup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked a family room. It was a large room but very dated. Bathroom was small and in need of a make over (cracked sink and black mould around shower)> there was a king size bed - very uncomfortable - thin sheets and cover that looked like it could do with a good wash. 2 single beds were better. After 1 night we asked if there was another room. There wasn't but they could offer us an apartment down the road. This was no better - velux windows in the roof over the beds and no blind on a couple of the windows. We stayed in the hotel room for Saturday night.
There was a function on the Saturday night plus a kind of disco. we were in our room by midnight, woken at about 2am when the disco stopped and then again later when a fight of some sort broke out in the room next door! I suppose I can't blame the hotel for that. We were so tired the next mroning we didn't get up in time for breakfast! (Had 1 breakfast which was fine).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maghera
5.8 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
143 reviews
13.1 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,059 reviews
13.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
White River House Hotel
14.9 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
387 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walsh's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walsh's Hotel

Property: Walsh's Hotel
Address: 53 Main Street, Maghera BT46 5AA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Maghera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maghera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Walsh's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walsh's Hotel is a traditional country style hotel, conveniently located halfway between Belfast and Derry, just off the main A6 Glenshane Pass and is central to all major tourist destinations in Northern Ireland. It offers home from home comfort in each of its beautifully appointed rooms, free parking, free wifi access, and encompasses Jack's Bar, Jack's Grill Bar, The Silverhill Restaurant & Wine Bar, & Gravity Nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Walsh's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing