We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon weekend break!”
Review of Walsh's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walsh's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Maghera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just home from a lovely weekend in Walsh's hotel couldnt fault it one bit! Food fantastic and the staff very friendly met Pauline the General Manger and Liam bar man of the year couldnt get better service anywhere. We will definitely be back. Hope to see yous all soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaineagnew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshs, Public Relations Manager at Walsh's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Elaine, thankyou for your positive comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Walshs very soon.

Una
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

I had this hotel chosen for me, as the company I work for in N Ireland have an account there.

I was welcomed at reception with a friendly smile and given my key. Very efficient. Had a slight problem in that the remote for the tv was missing, but this was sorted very quickly. I ate in the hotel bar both nights and found the food very good and the potions generous. Friendly service from all staff I encountered. Brilliant!

The staff were very accomadating to my requests. The only slight down side is the noise from the street outside. Luckily it wasnt too warm a night so closing the windows in the room reduced it to an acceptable level. But it is a town centre hotel, so I guess it goes with the territory.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank AndyMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshs, Public Relations Manager at Walsh's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thankyou for your positive comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Walshs hotel soon.

Una
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The staff were so nice. I can't say enough about them. Jack's bar lovely and the food amazing.
Seriously the amount of food and the quality was unbeliveable. We found the room quite dusty. the furniture was very dated and the beds so uncomfortable. We had a groupon dear for two nights but left after one as we got no sleep. The rooms look out on the main street and a good bit of traffic noise. Could have put up with that but the bed matress were so bad, with springs sticking out. We were told they had a new manager and things were improveing. They were very kind and offered us alternative sleeping arrangements. Again congrates to the staff. They made the stay so good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgtkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshs, Public Relations Manager at Walsh's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thankyou for your positive comments, with regard to the noise unfortunately the location of the hotel makes this very difficult to control.
In response to your comments regarding the dust, we were at that time experiencing some difficulty with housekeeping, this matter has now been resolved and new housekeepers employed.
We hope to have all our bedrooms refurbished by Christmas 2012.
If you wish to use your second nights accomodation you would be very welcome to do so, please just contact us direct.

Una

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Went down for one night and ended up staying for two!
Room was nice and clean and big!
Staff were friendly and very helpful.
The food was amazing! We had dinner both nights in Jack's bar and it was beautiful. My only complaint was that the portions were huge!
The hotel is in Maghera, a small town but it is conveniently located next door to a Centra supermarket if you forgot anything!
The hotel is in a perfect location for getting about and seeing the sights! It is in close proximity to the Giant;s causeway, Carrick-a-rede ropebridge, Benone Strand, Dunluce Castle, Portrush, Portstewart and more as well as Derry city. We got around all of these - by car of course and really loved it. I will definitley be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerryf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshs, Public Relations Manager at Walsh's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thankyou for your positive comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Walshs Hotel soon

Una
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We purchased a Groupon deal for a 2 night stay at Walsh's Hotel and we decided on a midweek break as apparently it can be a little noisy due to the night club they have at weekends, fine if you're in that age bracket, but we wanted something quieter. The room was was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly, good value for money with generous portions (the steak was excellent, as indeed was the 3 course for £10 deal).
We did have a slight criticism as we were awoken very very early with the passing road traffic and passing lorries (also no heat on, not normally needed in July in fairness). In hindsight the windows may have not been fully closed, as we had no problem the second morning (and the heat was on the second evening). We could not fault the staff, they were very friendly and the hotel itself is clean and homely and yes we would go back. Close and convenient to the National Trust property, Springhill, Moneymore, which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshs, Public Relations Manager at Walsh's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thankyou for your positive comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Walshs Hotel very soon

Una
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a hen night and had such a great experience. The staff were so friendly and helpful it made our night more enjoyable. The location is great as there are numerous take aways and shops close by if you want or need anything. There is a night club on site and also live music in the bar area. The bedrooms are fantastic and a great layout. The only negative was breakfast the following morning - 2 waiters running around like headless chickens and getting nowhere was a big let down. The food was ok but unfortunatley the service wasn't good. It wouldn't stop me returning however.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerryReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshs, Public Relations Manager at Walsh's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thankyou for your positive comments, I will pass these on to all staff.
We have taken on board you points reagrding breakfast and have changed our system. We are now serving breakfast to all guests and have more staff on at busy breakfast times.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Una

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

On arrival we were greeted by friendly reception who explained to us that the room we were in was above kitchen n will be warm. OMG it was warm.

The food was excellent as part of our groupon offer we got 1 evening meal which we choose was 2 steaks n WOW excellent.

The bar staff were friendly n welcoming.

So overall beside the extremely warm room in 106 it was a really lovely hotel and I would definately return on a similar offer that we have just had from groupon.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Searán M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walshs, Public Relations Manager at Walsh's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments, I will pass these on to all staff.

We hope you will return soon and if you contact us directly we will offer the same deal that you previously had and will certainly ensure that you are not in Room 106.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Una
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walsh's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walsh's Hotel

Address: 53 Main Street, Maghera BT46 5AA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Maghera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maghera
Price Range: $122 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Walsh's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walsh's Hotel is a traditional country style hotel, conveniently located halfway between Belfast and Derry, just off the main A6 Glenshane Pass and is central to all major tourist destinations in Northern Ireland. It offers home from home comfort in each of its beautifully appointed rooms, free parking, free wifi access, and encompasses Jack's Bar, Jack's Grill Bar, The Silverhill Restaurant & Wine Bar, & Gravity Nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Walsh's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing