We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try for yourself”
Review of Walsh's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walsh's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Maghera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I have stayed at walshs numerous times but have not entered a review until now having casually read some of the contributions below.I can honestly say that I have stayed as small and large parties for many years and have had nothing but courtesy from the staff.To me the rooms are lovely with nice character,exposed brick etc,the food in the bar and dining room is top rate and reasonable,and jacks bar is an excellent location to have a drink or two.In summary i have nothing but praise for the hotel and would advise anyone thinking of going to give it a try.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everton_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 219 of 219 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

group of 14 girls went to this hotel for my 40th. on arrival we were made stand in reception til we paid balance in full. when this was done they insisted on security deposit from each of us. while waiting in reception no one was allowed to go to toilet or go to bar. apalling. then we were told that the night club was not on that night,but it was in our price we paid for night club. when we got to our rooms the smell of damp was awful and rooms were freezing.plus our tiolet never worked.we reported this an at 2.30am a bar man came to fix toilet an informed us we need a plumber. plumber never arrived. the hotel is very run down. wish i had of known how bad this hotel was before i took my friends there.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philipkanebt357bf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

i stayed at walshes last saturday nite 22/1/11 and found the place to be very run down with bad smells in the room, it has let its standards slip drastically...we were made stand like criminals till every penny was handed over and not allowed to even use the toilets until they were paid in full....once we paid we were told there was no nite.club on that nite(which was included in the price) the toilet wasnt workin in one of the rooms and they didnt send anyone up till 2.30am the heating wasnt on for our arrivals...there was also 2 vegetarian girls on our group who didnt take desert and asked could they have an irish coffee..the waiter said sure and then charged them 9 pound...i found the place appalling the staff ignorant and certainly wouldnt recommend for any future parties

Stayed: January 2011
4  Thank lyndon114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Haven't stayed at the hotel but have spent a bit of time here. It's a great spot for drinks and food with friends. Very friendly staff who even made calls to microsoft to help me fix my computer problems!! Great Lunch Carvery at brilliant price! Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank out-and-about-NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

My husband and I booked into this hotel for three nights while attending a family wedding. Our first surprise was to find that the hotel was on the corner of a very busy junction and the 'hotel car park' was, in reality, three spaces outside the main entrance and some public parking near the local shops.
We were warned that the hotel would be noisy until 1 a.m. but did not expect to be disturbed until 02.30 when, in desperation, we phoned reception to ask if they would intervene to quell the party that was taking place under our window. The noise finally abated at around 04.00.
The main problem that we encountered was that our bedroom stank of cigarette smoke. Attempts had been made to disipate the smell by opening the window and propping the inner door open with a fire extinguisher. However, once we had closed the window, (in an attempt to reduce the noise level), and disturbed the soft furnishings the smell of cigarette smoke became overpowering. The room did have a smoke alarm which was obviously not working properly.
We complained the next morning to the hotel manager and he quickly and efficiently transferred us to another hotel.
Although the food was of a good standard and the rooms more than adequate, I would not recommend the hotel as a place to stay unless you are part of a loud, noisy party, are deaf or a very heavy smoker (bearing in mind that smoking in hotel bedrooms is against the law!)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mgt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 16, 2010

At Walsh’s Hotel we strive to continuously improve the hotel and the service we provide. Our rooms are cleaned to the highest standards and are checked by Management on a regular basis. We are very sorry it escaped the attention of our staff that there was a smell of smoke in the room. All our rooms are non smoking and we strive to enforce this policy. Generally, the guest would have immediately been moved to another room, but being fully booked this was not an option on this occasion. The General Manager did however deal with it as best as he could, as soon as he was informed of the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 214 meiden, da laut vom angrenzenden Biergarten (bis 3 Uhr) und ausserhalb des W-Lan empfange...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Uta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walsh's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walsh's Hotel

Address: 53 Main Street, Maghera BT46 5AA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Maghera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maghera
Price Range: $116 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Walsh's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walsh's Hotel is a traditional country style hotel, conveniently located halfway between Belfast and Derry, just off the main A6 Glenshane Pass and is central to all major tourist destinations in Northern Ireland. It offers home from home comfort in each of its beautifully appointed rooms, free parking, free wifi access, and encompasses Jack's Bar, Jack's Grill Bar, The Silverhill Restaurant & Wine Bar, & Gravity Nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Walsh's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing