We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
130
62
20
23
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
62
20
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saturday night bridal suite hen weekend bite to eat roast beef weekend stay both nights family room staff were so friendly my mum giants causeway couldn't do enough wild duck xaghra nightclub meal declan
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 250 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2011

group of 14 girls went to this hotel for my 40th. on arrival we were made stand in reception til we paid balance in full. when this was done they insisted on security deposit from each of us. while waiting in reception no one was allowed to go to toilet or go to bar. apalling. then we were told that the night club was not on that night,but it was in our price we paid for night club. when we got to our rooms the smell of damp was awful and rooms were freezing.plus our tiolet never worked.we reported this an at 2.30am a bar man came to fix toilet an informed us we need a plumber. plumber never arrived. the hotel is very run down. wish i had of known how bad this hotel was before i took my friends there.

Date of stay: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philipkanebt357bf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

i stayed at walshes last saturday nite 22/1/11 and found the place to be very run down with bad smells in the room, it has let its standards slip drastically...we were made stand like criminals till every penny was handed over and not allowed to even use the toilets until they were paid in full....once we paid we were told there was no nite.club on that nite(which was included in the price) the toilet wasnt workin in one of the rooms and they didnt send anyone up till 2.30am the heating wasnt on for our arrivals...there was also 2 vegetarian girls on our group who didnt take desert and asked could they have an irish coffee..the waiter said sure and then charged them 9 pound...i found the place appalling the staff ignorant and certainly wouldnt recommend for any future parties

Date of stay: January 2011
4  Thank lyndon114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Haven't stayed at the hotel but have spent a bit of time here. It's a great spot for drinks and food with friends. Very friendly staff who even made calls to microsoft to help me fix my computer problems!! Great Lunch Carvery at brilliant price! Recommended.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank out-and-about-NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

My husband and I booked into this hotel for three nights while attending a family wedding. Our first surprise was to find that the hotel was on the corner of a very busy junction and the 'hotel car park' was, in reality, three spaces outside the main entrance and some public parking near the local shops.
We were warned that the hotel would be noisy until 1 a.m. but did not expect to be disturbed until 02.30 when, in desperation, we phoned reception to ask if they would intervene to quell the party that was taking place under our window. The noise finally abated at around 04.00.
The main problem that we encountered was that our bedroom stank of cigarette smoke. Attempts had been made to disipate the smell by opening the window and propping the inner door open with a fire extinguisher. However, once we had closed the window, (in an attempt to reduce the noise level), and disturbed the soft furnishings the smell of cigarette smoke became overpowering. The room did have a smoke alarm which was obviously not working properly.
We complained the next morning to the hotel manager and he quickly and efficiently transferred us to another hotel.
Although the food was of a good standard and the rooms more than adequate, I would not recommend the hotel as a place to stay unless you are part of a loud, noisy party, are deaf or a very heavy smoker (bearing in mind that smoking in hotel bedrooms is against the law!)

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mgt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 16, 2010

At Walsh’s Hotel we strive to continuously improve the hotel and the service we provide. Our rooms are cleaned to the highest standards and are checked by Management on a regular basis. We are very sorry it escaped the attention of our staff that there was a smell of smoke in the room. All our rooms are non smoking and we strive to enforce this policy. Generally, the guest would have immediately been moved to another room, but being fully booked this was not an option on this occasion. The General Manager did however deal with it as best as he could, as soon as he was informed of the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room tip: Zimmer 214 meiden, da laut vom angrenzenden Biergarten (bis 3 Uhr) und ausserhalb des W-Lan empfanges##1
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews