We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Friendly and Helpful Hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoney River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stoney River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drake
Creston, Iowa
2 reviews
“Great Value, Friendly and Helpful Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This resort was very nice for the price and value. It is only about 15 minutes from Estes and the drive is a scenic road winding along the river. My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and had a great time.
The owners were wonderful hosts, very friendly and helpful. We wanted to go horseback riding while in Colorado and Linda was more than happy to call and schedule our ride for us. Anything we needed or wanted they were ready to help us find whatever it was.
The rooms are also very nice. It is right on the highway, but that is unavoidable if you want something close to Estes. There are several trails right behind the resort which are easily accessible with some nice length to them. We will definitely come here again when we visit Estes in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croc1113, Owner at Stoney River Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for the kind sentiments Josh and Hannah. We really enjoyed having you. We hope to see you both on your fifth anniversary....with maybe a little one (or 2) tagging along. Best wishes.
Colin Linda and Cole....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My mom, 2 kiddos, and I wanted to take a nice relaxing trip with our 2 dogs. They do allow dogs here, but never mention that you cannot leave them in the room. We tried going into Estes for a day of fun, and never got a call until we travelled 40 minutes into Estes that we must come get our dogs. Then she mentions they have a doggy daycare in Estes for $15 a day/dog. Why was this not posted in our room? So, the problem is that you have NO CELL SERVICE here, and she cannot call you until you reach town. This place is in the canyon, and quite removed from Estes. Not a quick trip into town as they mention. It's pretty mountainous and you must wind and travel slow.

The rooms are incredibly dirty and old. The room we stayed in didn't even have adequate bedding for the futon. There is no tv, only videos they offer in their office. Customer service is awful, and you feel they're always watching you as they live right on the property in close quarters. This woman talks about other customers as if she is pissed at everyone, and it's not right to disclose previous customer's issues, etc. They always come talk and butter up to you as you leave, but otherwise, not at all.

Also, they say riverside. You cannot get to the river and enjoy it.

There are so many other nicer places closer to town. Don't save money on staying here. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orchidflower_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croc1113, Owner at Stoney River Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I remember this family well and the room wasn't dirty when they got here but it was within about 10 minutes of their arrival. Two adults two toddlers and two dogs in a 2 person room.

About the dogs...As the website states, "well behaved dogs may be left unattended".
Her dog was on the kitchen table barking non stop out the window. Some of the guests complained and when I asked where the ladies were they told me they had just left.
I went in to see why the dog wasn't in its crate (maybe he had escaped) but NO. Both dogs were left out and the one had gotten on the table where their unfinished eggs had been left.
Yes I called and had them come back and get their dogs. Why should the other guests have to listen to that all day? They shouldn't and they don't.
A flyer on the Doggy Day Care was in the Welcome Packet.

The distance to ESTES PARK... If it took them 40 minutes to get to Estes Park they must have crashed. We are 13 miles from Estes Park (as the website states)...it takes me 20 minutes to take my son to school there each morning.

As for the river it runs through our property and we have cleared the entire bank...many people sit along the lawn and enjoy it...teens tend to play in it...and a lot of guests fish in it.
(No its not safe for toddlers)

And as for living on site..duh...every property has a site manager 24/7 ...

The only accurate statement in this review is that we are not a resort...but then you can see that by our prices...the name came with it when we bought it and we do plan to change it in 2014.

We can't please everyone.. my feeling about leaving dogs is this...Don't bring them if you don't plan to take them everywhere with you..hire a sitter or drop 'em at the day care for a lousy $15.00 so they can enjoy their day too....and not be left alone in some strange place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Little Moose Room #8 for two nights in August 2012. It was great to be able to take our Miniature Schnauzer, Bozlee, with us. Nice and relaxing, did some hiking and just sitting by the river. Hope to be able to stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family of 4 stayed plus our dog stayed here in Aug. 2012. I am so happy to have found this wonderful place. It is clean, quiet, friendly, and perfectly located. We rafted in Ft. Collins, shopped and rode horses in Estes, went to a lovely park in Loveland, and spent every evening playing badmitton, bocce (which we brought) having s'mores down by the river, and visiting with our neighbors and hostess. Our dog made friends with the other dogs and ran around playing as well. The kids were free to get board games and movies from the office whenever they wanted. It felt like a small community there. We stayed in the caboose. The view of the canyon wall as we got up each morning was gorgeous. Can't wait to go back.

The Tracy's

Room Tip: The Caboose is quite roomy. Lots of sleep options and lots of closet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharitracy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croc1113, Owner at Stoney River Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I appreciate this review. I remember this family fondly...the quiet teen and the outgoing younger sister. I remember the doggy too...short lil legs had no problem keeping up with my doberman. We had great fun with these guys...lots of s'mores and lots more movies...when they were here...they really kept on the go...we enjoyed having them and look forward to seeing them again.
Colin Linda and Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

My brother, sister, and I stayed in the Bear Room at 2 Eagles. It is a 23 minute drive into Estes Park--a drive we made often. We actually saw some bighorn sheep right along the road near the entrance to 2 Eagles during one of our drives into town. The beat motif in the room is really cute--there are stuffed bears everywhere. The resort is very community oriented. There were s'mores nights which we didn't participate in but it was a nice idea. There is also a jungle gym and a badminton net set up. The river runs right by the resort which is wonderful. There are 2 hiking trails right behind the rooms--just ask the owners for information on the trails.

One of the beds was pretty comfortable, although the other was a bit harder. Since it is a cabin type of atmosphere, you will find some kitchen amenities, but you will need to bring or buy others. For example, there was no hand soap, paper towels, or kleenex. However, there was a coffee pot (no free coffee though), pans, a few pots, plates, and utensils. One more thing to note--the price we were charged was higher than the prices listed on the website.

We enjoyed our stay here. However, if you want to be very close to the national park, stay in Estes Park.

Room Tip: The bear room sleeps 2-4. There are two full beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koolkat1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and loved it. The reviews about Rhonda are outdated, as the hotel has taken on new management. The new owners are wonderful! They are friendly and accomodating--I have never experienced better management! The resort itself is good for the price, and for the outdoor types (who else visits Colorado?) there are hiking trails that start right in the resorts backyard. Overall, this resort deserves an A++ in my book.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the 2 eagles resort,loveland in our rocky mountain trip last month.
We stayed in the little moose room for a couple of days and we enjoyed it .Rhonda was very sweet ,with great hospitality! She offered us some suggestions to go around the park and to find restaurants.She helped us out by lending a small room heater to keep us warm during the night. Overall it was a very pleasureful stay.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank utopia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake
10.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
10.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
13.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#6 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
9.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Loveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney River Lodge

Property: Stoney River Lodge
Address: 80 Idlewild Lane, Drake, CO 80537 (Formerly 2 Eagles Resort)
Location: United States > Colorado > Drake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney River Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the river and in the woods...just the way we like it. 2 Eagles Resort is located just 15 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and is a great alternative to "in town" lodging. We offer a variety of affordable accommodations ranging from kitchenettes, to suites with full kitchens, to completely self contained cottages. The atmosphere is "family" and the attitude is left behind. Hike our secluded trails, fish outside your door, play horseshoes and volleyball. Or you could just kick back and enjoy the serenity. Smoking outdoors okay. Dog friendly units available. FREE WI-FI and Sat TV Some units with fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Stoney River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Eagles Hotel Loveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing