We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most beautiful setting for an RV park in Colorado!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
210 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Most beautiful setting for an RV park in Colorado!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is our second stay at Priest Gulch RV Park. We loved it just as much as before! Friendly, clean, manicured sites, with great separation. Many sites are along the Delores River. There are also cabins and tent sites available. Many amenities such as free fire wood! Book well in advance as this is a premiere park in the gorgeous Colorado Rockies!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JM0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Polk City, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I have been returning to this park on and off for the past 12 years. Whenever we can get away this is probably our favorite RV park. The park is small, but all the sites are well situated to provide the most amount of privacy per site. Park is well run and the bathrooms, showers and laundry are spotless! There is a nice little clubhouse free for all to use too which is nice. 50 AMP sites, sites are pretty tight for a big rig (which we have) but the park is so pretty as soon as you finally get the coach parked (which takes some finesse and skill) especially driving a 45' coach over the very narrow little bridge at the park....but once you get through all of that...the park is worth it. Just pour yourself a glass of wine, set up your lawn chairs behind your coach and lean back and stretch out as you listen and look at the peaceful, beautiful little Dolores River flowing right behind your coach and you will forget all about the troubles in the world....because welcome to a little slice of heaven while you are here. Oh, and don't forget to go to the lobby to purchase one of Ernie's famous cinnamon rolls sold every Sat AM. Carry the rolls back to your site, site down in your lawn chair with a hot cup of coffee and your freshly made still warm huge cinnamon roll and you will definitely know what heaven will be like when we get there! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Go to the check in lobby to purchase one of Ernie's (the park owners) famous cinnamon rolls sold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NemoWinsAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Peaceful and clean. A great place to stay. An hour fromTelluride, a great fishing area and wonderful rides! We will be back. The river puts you in a great place! Dog friendly. Everyone has own space, grass, firepit and wood.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocklite88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmorhea, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Priest gulch is in a beautiful location on the Dolores River. The sites are large and very well kept. The experienced, courteous staff were exceptionally helpful, especially in directing parking. They obviously know how to manage a campground for maximum enjoyment. The Internet works best at the meeting room and cell phones are spotty in the area. Great hiking trails across highway from the campground. Priest gulch fully met our expectations and will be tops on our list of rv parks in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank barbsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here in fall 2012 and really enjoyed it. Came back June 2013 for a week with my retired M.D. sister (from Washington state) and one of their friends, all at my recommendation. We all had our separate spot. I had planned to stay an additional day for my birthday (as a Stage 4 cancer survivor birthdays are something to celebrate.) Had plans to meet up with friends at 11:30 am in Telluride, and then we were heading back home the next day. Having been there a week, we had our lawn chairs out, barbecue set-up, computers set-up inside our motorhome (not that you get good internet here and zero cell service, a serious safety issue), kitchen and bath items set-out, septic hooked-up, slides out, jacks down, etc. Then at 10 am on my birthday, knock, knock...we have to move NOW to a different spot because they messed up the booking (they parked us in my sister's spot and she had planned to stay one day less than us). Yes, someone else is coming in and they needed our spot. So much for my birthday lunch in Telluride. Yes, so what. They could care less. Yes, we could have moved to another spot for the last night, but seriously if that's how they treat good customers, why would we stay? We packed up, I was in tears, and left, never to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank stillkickn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a 28 ft Airstream trailer. This is our second year here, staying for a week each time. The campground is beautiful, well kept and spacious. We stayed right on the Dolores River. Very nice. There's plenty to do. Lots of hiking within 5 miles. Two trails just across the street and another 1.5 miles down the road. The towns of Dolores, Telluride and Durango are all worth visiting. We are planning on coming back here next year. Only down side is the monthly patrons are a bit snobbish.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DanAndBenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at Priest Gulch driving down from Telluride towards Durango. We had seen the reviews but had driven this road several times and were always struck by how beautiful the campground is. It really is. Having said that, their welcome was not the friendliest and the manicured nature of the campground is offset by, frankly, too many 'NO' signs. So, it just didn't have a real friendly feel [and we're over 60]. We chose to dry camp the next night just west of there at West Dolores campground; very friendly; 1/2 the cost and even more quiet. So, if you're looking for a well established more structured and patrolled [but gorgeous] setting, Priest Gulch is for you. If you want a more friendly camping experience go to West Dolores campground up the west fork of the Dolores River.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carylanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolores
0.8 mi away
Circle K Guest Ranch
Circle K Guest Ranch
#2 of 2 in Dolores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
17.8 mi away
Dolores River Campground and Cabins
13.5 mi away
Dunton Hot Springs
Dunton Hot Springs
#1 of 2 in Dolores
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Sophia Retreat & Event Center
10.3 mi away
The Mine Shaft Inn Hotel & Hostel
20.3 mi away
Rio Grande Southern Hotel B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge

Property: Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge
Address: 27646 Highway 145, Dolores, CO 81323-9715
Location: United States > Colorado > Dolores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Dolores
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge Colorado/Dolores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing