We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful a little slice of heaven on earth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I have been returning to this park on and off for the past 12 years. Whenever we can get away this is probably our favorite RV park. The park is small, but all the sites are well situated to provide the most amount of privacy per site. Park is well run and the bathrooms, showers and laundry are spotless! There is a nice little clubhouse free for all to use too which is nice. 50 AMP sites, sites are pretty tight for a big rig (which we have) but the park is so pretty as soon as you finally get the coach parked (which takes some finesse and skill) especially driving a 45' coach over the very narrow little bridge at the park....but once you get through all of that...the park is worth it. Just pour yourself a glass of wine, set up your lawn chairs behind your coach and lean back and stretch out as you listen and look at the peaceful, beautiful little Dolores River flowing right behind your coach and you will forget all about the troubles in the world....because welcome to a little slice of heaven while you are here. Oh, and don't forget to go to the lobby to purchase one of Ernie's famous cinnamon rolls sold every Sat AM. Carry the rolls back to your site, site down in your lawn chair with a hot cup of coffee and your freshly made still warm huge cinnamon roll and you will definitely know what heaven will be like when we get there! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Go to the check in lobby to purchase one of Ernie's (the park owners) famous cinnamon rolls sold...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NemoWinsAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 36 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Peaceful and clean. A great place to stay. An hour fromTelluride, a great fishing area and wonderful rides! We will be back. The river puts you in a great place! Dog friendly. Everyone has own space, grass, firepit and wood.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rocklite88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Priest gulch is in a beautiful location on the Dolores River. The sites are large and very well kept. The experienced, courteous staff were exceptionally helpful, especially in directing parking. They obviously know how to manage a campground for maximum enjoyment. The Internet works best at the meeting room and cell phones are spotty in the area. Great hiking trails across highway from the campground. Priest gulch fully met our expectations and will be tops on our list of rv parks in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank barbsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here in fall 2012 and really enjoyed it. Came back June 2013 for a week with my retired M.D. sister (from Washington state) and one of their friends, all at my recommendation. We all had our separate spot. I had planned to stay an additional day for my birthday (as a Stage 4 cancer survivor birthdays are something to celebrate.) Had plans to meet up with friends at 11:30 am in Telluride, and then we were heading back home the next day. Having been there a week, we had our lawn chairs out, barbecue set-up, computers set-up inside our motorhome (not that you get good internet here and zero cell service, a serious safety issue), kitchen and bath items set-out, septic hooked-up, slides out, jacks down, etc. Then at 10 am on my birthday, knock, knock...we have to move NOW to a different spot because they messed up the booking (they parked us in my sister's spot and she had planned to stay one day less than us). Yes, someone else is coming in and they needed our spot. So much for my birthday lunch in Telluride. Yes, so what. They could care less. Yes, we could have moved to another spot for the last night, but seriously if that's how they treat good customers, why would we stay? We packed up, I was in tears, and left, never to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank stillkickn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a 28 ft Airstream trailer. This is our second year here, staying for a week each time. The campground is beautiful, well kept and spacious. We stayed right on the Dolores River. Very nice. There's plenty to do. Lots of hiking within 5 miles. Two trails just across the street and another 1.5 miles down the road. The towns of Dolores, Telluride and Durango are all worth visiting. We are planning on coming back here next year. Only down side is the monthly patrons are a bit snobbish.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DanAndBenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at Priest Gulch driving down from Telluride towards Durango. We had seen the reviews but had driven this road several times and were always struck by how beautiful the campground is. It really is. Having said that, their welcome was not the friendliest and the manicured nature of the campground is offset by, frankly, too many 'NO' signs. So, it just didn't have a real friendly feel [and we're over 60]. We chose to dry camp the next night just west of there at West Dolores campground; very friendly; 1/2 the cost and even more quiet. So, if you're looking for a well established more structured and patrolled [but gorgeous] setting, Priest Gulch is for you. If you want a more friendly camping experience go to West Dolores campground up the west fork of the Dolores River.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carylanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had driven through this campground on our way back from Telluride and thought it to be a beautiful place to spend a week in our RV. So we make reservations there for 10 days last summer. It was complete frustration.

First being this park is 80% seniors and having one of the few families with children they were constantly being scrutinized. They were not allowed to wade in the river (destroyed the embankment), they could not climb any of the trees (possible indentations would invite bark beetles). The playground was rusted out and surrounded by grumpy seniors who complained constantly about the "noise" the children were making. Children were not allowed to enter the bathrooms without an adult. On and on ..


The staff was constantly driving by in their golf carts. One morning, after a late night thunderstorm, they actually knocked on our door at 9am and asked why our children had left trash on the table .. which had apparently blown onto the road during the night. As evidence, they held our children's juice boxes.


The office staff was rude and made us feel most unwelcome.


We will never camp here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank WadeFamily8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolores
0.8 mi away
Circle K Guest Ranch
Circle K Guest Ranch
#2 of 2 in Dolores
131 reviews
13.5 mi away
Dunton Hot Springs
Dunton Hot Springs
#1 of 2 in Dolores
251 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sophia Retreat & Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Mine Shaft Inn Hotel & Hostel
10.2 mi away
Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge
19.7 mi away
Cascade Village
Cascade Village
#9 of 21 in Durango
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge

Address: 27646 Highway 145, Dolores, CO 81323-9715
Location: United States > Colorado > Dolores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Dolores
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge Colorado/Dolores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing