We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at Priest Gulch driving down from Telluride towards Durango. We had seen the reviews but had driven this road several times and were always struck by how beautiful the campground is. It really is. Having said that, their welcome was not the friendliest and the manicured nature of the campground is offset by, frankly, too many 'NO' signs. So, it just didn't have a real friendly feel [and we're over 60]. We chose to dry camp the next night just west of there at West Dolores campground; very friendly; 1/2 the cost and even more quiet. So, if you're looking for a well established more structured and patrolled [but gorgeous] setting, Priest Gulch is for you. If you want a more friendly camping experience go to West Dolores campground up the west fork of the Dolores River.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carylanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 36 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had driven through this campground on our way back from Telluride and thought it to be a beautiful place to spend a week in our RV. So we make reservations there for 10 days last summer. It was complete frustration.

First being this park is 80% seniors and having one of the few families with children they were constantly being scrutinized. They were not allowed to wade in the river (destroyed the embankment), they could not climb any of the trees (possible indentations would invite bark beetles). The playground was rusted out and surrounded by grumpy seniors who complained constantly about the "noise" the children were making. Children were not allowed to enter the bathrooms without an adult. On and on ..


The staff was constantly driving by in their golf carts. One morning, after a late night thunderstorm, they actually knocked on our door at 9am and asked why our children had left trash on the table .. which had apparently blown onto the road during the night. As evidence, they held our children's juice boxes.


The office staff was rude and made us feel most unwelcome.


We will never camp here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank WadeFamily8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have been going to Priest Gulch for 4 years in a row. I can honestly say this is the best place to stay for a day,week,month or months. We have met alot of wonderful folks at PG. I know PG cant please everyone because some just have that attitude. But I'm here to tell you you wont find a more beautiful place to stay. We have tried and nothing compares. FYI Ernie's Rolls on Saturday morning are to die for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitedually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

After making a reservation at Priest Gulch months in advance, and being really excited about our stay after looking at the pictures of the campground, we checked in and the beginning of our disappointments began. We have camped many places throughout the country and I realize that each campground has and needs rules, but when you check in at Priest Gulch, be prepared to get your ear bent about things you can and can't do. For starters, if you enjoy having your patio lights on around your RV, you better make sure they're off by 10pm. Also, after moving the picnic table around a bit to make our campsite a bit more accomodating, we had moved the table to where half of it was on grass and the other half was in the gravel. Well, it didn't take long for one of their staff to come by and have us move it back. We also had a pation mat that was overlapping the grass about 6 inches and was told that we couldn't do that either. Not to mention that every ten minutes they have a staff member on golf carts driving through. No doubt to "patrol" the area. The guy camping next to us had a dog which was being a bit noisy during the day, but we didn't mind it too much because he was inside his RV.....and it was DURING THE DAY! He had stepped out for awhile to go fishing when the dog started up and it didn't take long before campground staff was knocking at his door.
The campsite itself was nice, well, manicured and clean. It just really was frustrating because it seemed as if everyone was being "monitored" for misbehavior. Not a fun place. I would say the majority of the campers were people over the age of 60, and had been camping at Priest Gulch for years and knew those around them. They weren't very friendly or welcoming to us, or the other campers that were not the summer campers. By the way, if you have little ones, they just sort of tolerate the kids and the playground is in dire need of updating and cleaning. Rusty swings and slides that are next to the dumpsters didn't make my wife too happy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hopplegrommet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed one night and wished it could have been longer. We left the Grand Canyon and took a ride into the San Juan mountains on the reccomendation of a friend. Check in was smooth the price reasonable and we were even led to our campsite. The river is absolutely gorgeous. Free firewood for campfire. There was a bike race happening the next day and the owner was very helpful calling ahead for me to verify diesel was available up the road since we had to change our route. Planning to bring the kids next year and will definitely stay here. Don't forget some paint so you can decorate your own rock to go on display out back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Along the rivers edge and beautiful trees everywhere! The hummingbirds are everywhere so bring your feeders. The firewood provided for your camping experience is a great personal touch. Wifi service was ok but there is no phone service!! Not their fault you do have to drive out to Rico to get service. There is no town to visit closeby. You pretty much stay here to relax. And that was ok with us. We drove to Telluride which was great! Groceries are expensive so plan ahead. Bring your crafts. No TV available. You must have a satellite dish to get anything. So many people stay here all season so call early for reservation. We've already booked for 2013!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We love staying in the cabins along the river--so great to hear the water when you go to sleep at night and the hummingbirds love the place as well. Always enjoy our visits.

Room Tip: All the Ranch "houses" are great.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolores
0.8 mi away
Circle K Guest Ranch
Circle K Guest Ranch
#2 of 2 in Dolores
132 reviews
13.5 mi away
Dunton Hot Springs
Dunton Hot Springs
#1 of 2 in Dolores
251 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sophia Retreat & Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Mine Shaft Inn Hotel & Hostel
10.2 mi away
Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge
19.7 mi away
Cascade Village
Cascade Village
#8 of 20 in Durango
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge

Address: 27646 Highway 145, Dolores, CO 81323-9715
Location: United States > Colorado > Dolores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Dolores
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Priest Gulch Campground , RV Park, Cabins & Lodge Colorado/Dolores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing