We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good First Night Stop from Denver Airport ... Nice Hot Tub/Sauna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good First Night Stop from Denver Airport ... Nice Hot Tub/Sauna”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

About 1.5 hours from Denver airport, past the Eisenhower Tunnel, this location definitely puts you high in the Rockies and offers convenient day trips to Frisco, Keystone, Breckenridge, and Vail. This could be a "last night" stop if you are mindful of traffic going East to the tunnel, especially on Sundays (goi70.com).
In late June the lake was beautiful and watching the boats on the water with the snow-tipped mountains above was reminiscent of the Alps, with the advantage that the room prices are about 4 times less expensive than Europe. Earlier reviews of Lake Dillion/Frisco Reservoir noted the very low water levels but by late June the snow runoff had improved the situation so that the views were lovely. I took advantage of the walking/biking trails around the lake and reserved a Water Taxi to return. There are boats for rent and a little Tiki bar at the marina.
The Best Western Ptarmigan is beside the lake, next door to the terrific Arapahoe Cafe'. It seems to have been built in two sections: the main old-style motel where the office is located with rooms that open to the parking lot, and the lodge-style condos/suites built in clusters separate from the motel section. We had a double room ($99.24 incl. taxes) near the office facing the parking lot and lake. The room was clean and smelled fresh with the usual amenities of large TV , small fridge, iron/board. The beds had a bit of a sag in the middle but did offer a decent night's sleep. The only disturbance was that we could hear other guests talking in their rooms or out on the walkway after we went to bed; and a garbage dumpster woke us in the morning. I would think that a 2nd room or condo might offer more complete quiet if that is important to you.
As far as free motel breakfasts go, this one is generous with boiled & scrambled eggs and make-your-own waffles. Other reviews mentioned a crowded breakfast room: we took ours outside and I would suggest to the Best Western management that they use some of the adjoining lobby space for a few tables and put some tables outside. There was free use of a computer/internet in the lobby.
I usually do not like using hotel pools/hot tubs but the hot tub and sauna were so clean and there was no smell of chlorine that usually bothers me. I enjoyed the large hot tub to myself (large enough to paddle around in) and then walked down to the lake and went in waste-deep for a real hot-cold spa treatment. Terrific ; however I had a headache later and so started pounding water. I never experienced a reaction to high altitude on previous visits, but now that I'm over 50 I seem to be more sensitive, especially after drinking alcohol. Next time I'm in the Rockies I will over-hydrate prior; bring some Coca Tea; buy a $10 O2 canister, and try other natural remedies such as:
1) CHLOR-OXYGEN - min 2 drops in water 2x/day and DRINK H20
2) CoQ10 - 100mg 2x/day and DRINK H2O
3) GINKO BILOBA - 2caps 2x/day and did I mention DRINK LOTS OF WATER.
There is also an O2 store in Vail Village that is reported to be very helpful.

Room Tip: Second Floor Facing Lake if in main motel. Condo if absolute quiet is necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    278
    77
    16
    24
See reviews for
289
317
66
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our stay here was ok. I asked for a room upstairs witha view of the lake if possible & recieved a room down stairs with the view of a pine tree. I have stayed here in the past & was a little disappointed both times. the two positive things are a short walk to the lake & a great place to eat breakfast lunch or dinner next door.

Room Tip: Request a room away from any outside doors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cctopcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresco, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This lodge has a great location right next to the lake. We were able to see a little of the lake and mountains from our room. We stayed in Lodge #4, which had a small view of the lake (some of it was blocked by trees and an adjacent property). I would think that if you stayed in the lodge (1?) that is connected to the lobby, you might have a better view of the lake. We had a small balcony facing the lake. Our room was on the second floor, so it required walking up steps - no elevator so if steps are difficult for you, request a bottom floor.

There is also an outdoor amphitheater right next to the lodge and they had live concerts while we were there, which was nice to listen to.

The room itself was clean, the beds were comfortable, the wifi was good, the breakfast had two kinds of eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, and the usual fare of breads and pastries. We were able to sit in the breakfast area to eat.

We would stay here again, but may ask for a room with a better view of the lake.

The front desk clerk also recommended Pug Ryan's (just a short walk away) for a burger, and we were not disappointed. We were able to sit outside and listen to the concert while we ate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looking4gems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

After seaching Breckenridge, Vail and Keystone, we found this Best Western right across the street from Lake Dillon. Very nice desk staff, good breakfast, and a nice view from our room. Kind of hard to find, due to lack of signs on the main road (Hwy 6). Room was nice and clean and very quiet. Breakfast room was too small for the amount of people using it. No swimming pool, just a hot tub.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield mo
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful setting across the street from the lake. Unfortunately we had no view and a very stuffy room. A nice little patio outside the room with no chairs and a locked door. Why have outdoor areas that you cannot use? Breakfast room was too crowded for us to get in, so we walked to the restaurant next door and paid for breakfast. The stay was disappointing to us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06098, Manager at Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 970-468-2341.


Sincerely,

Anna Staszel
GM
BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We choose this hotel mainly because of its location (on Lake Dillon and many restaurants in walking distance) - we are so glad we did.
The hotel can be a bit tricky to find without a GPS.
Check-in was quick and smooth - staff was very friendly (although I was not recognized as a Diamond member).
Our room was located in building #3 (we were able to park in front of the building). We had a nice balcony with a bit of a lakeview - but the shore is just across the street - I would recommend a walk along the shoreline, very beautiful.
The bathroom was spacious with a nice countertop. The room itself was pretty big, comfortable and clean (a big plus was the balcony and the windows to let in some fresh air - there was no A/C in our room: but Dillon is located about 9.000ft above sea level, so there is no need for an A/C most of the time, I assume).
Furthermore the room was equipped with a fridge and it also had a flat tv.
After a good night's sleep in our quiet room we headed for breakfast: breakfast was average (the basic stuff). The breakfast area is pretty small though, but we were fortunate enough to get a spot.
We would definitely stay here again !!

Room Tip: Request a "lake view" room (you will enjoy the balcony and the tranquillity) - but keep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

After a day of driving, we looked forward to checking into our room with a view overlooking the lake.. Sounds perfect. But when we arrived, the parking lot was being paved and there was no where to park or check in and it didn't look anything like the pictures. We were very upset and pulled into a parking area somewhere around there and tried calling the hotel directly but was placed on hold for too long. The hotel is right on a busy highway, it was just too busy too. We were disappointed. The hotel could atleast had called to tell us what was going on. We wound up cancelling altogether and chose to drive to Breckenridge to find other accommocations. So glad we did.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bunky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06098, Manager at Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I apologize for your bad experience. We had our parking lot paved about two weeks ago, however we have 3 different buildings were you would be able to stay. You said that we are located by the busy highway. You may be confusing our hotel with another property. Our hotel is located by Lake Dillon in a quiet area about 1.5 away from the highway.

Caroline Green
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillon
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Dillon
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Silverthorne
0.6 mi away
The Dillon Inn
The Dillon Inn
#3 of 7 in Dillon
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
533 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Silverthorne
237 reviews
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lake Dillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge

Property: Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
Address: 652 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon, CO 80435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Dillon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel Dillon
Best Western Dillon
Dillon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing