We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at BW Ptarmigan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at BW Ptarmigan”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Ptarmigan in Dillon, March 2012, for our ski trip. The location is ideal, right across the road from Dillon Lake, with beautiful views of the lake and the surrounding mountains. Our room was clean with everything in good repair. It included a t.v., a small dorm-style refrigerator, and a table with 2 chairs. The BW Ptarmigan also provides a locker, along with your room, in which to store skiis or boots. We found the ladies at the front desk to be very accomodating and helpful. The breakfast, which was included with the stay, was great - scrambled eggs, hardboiled eggs, sausage, waffles, assorted pastries, bagels, fruits and yogurt, as well as milk, juice and coffee to drink. We were very pleased with our stay, and would definitely stay there again, if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    275
    76
    15
    24
See reviews for
285
309
64
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We've stayed here a number of times and find it to be a good value. Our room on this trip was just over a hundred bucks during spring break (not that the snow was bringing them in this year). The place is as most say: clean, great location, decent sized rooms, thin walls, good breakfast (free!), fridge in most rooms, ski lockers, hot tub and a few good beer and food options within walking distance. Temp control in a room would really depend on the room. Ours was a little warm but I opened the window/door :) I think most rooms have a little patio or deck. During ski season you should expect all the clunking in the morning and you won’t get away from it here. The negative reviews have high expectations from what I’ve read. If you’re looking for a romantic weekend holed up you better have more money and look elseware. Great place for an adult basecamp....damn I wish my girl camped.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview and building 4 is the one that is furthest away (not really that far).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hotel is located across the street from Dillon Marina/Lake Dillon in Dillon, Colorado! The views are breath taking. For the skiers, the shuttle bus stop to the resorts is right across the street. It's super clean, their free continental breakfast was wonderful (their house blend coffee is really very good!). For the price and the location, this was an awesome deal and a wonderful stay! Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: I prefer the top floor rooms. This hotel only has 2 levels, but the ground level is half underground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susymichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Ptarmigan Lodge has a great location for 3 ski areas. The room was a good size, they have ski lockers conveniently located to the rooms. The "contientinal" breakfast was great, eggs, sausage etc. We were on the ground floor, in the morning I was awakened by the occupants of the room above us, walking back and forth? Maybe a small child running around the room? It was early too, maybe 5:30am (I would have liked to sleep a little longer) once I was laying awake I could hear showers in the rooms around us. With these couple not glowing comments, I would still book here again.

Room Tip: request the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sagamore73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my inlaws, two kiddos and three dogs. They are not the most "modern" hotel out there but they are functional and very comfy. The free breakfast was good and the view of the lake and mountains is fantastic. You really don't go to the mountains to stay in your room, but when you do you want the room to be clean and comfy. We stayed in a suite that had two bedrooms and a full kitchen. The only thing about this room is it could benefit from an extra bathroom. Overall, I really enjoyed our stay here and the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with family they do have a suite with a full kitchen and two full bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaMGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06098, Manager at Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thak you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwaybaby109
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We checked in for one night, showed up in the evening and were promptly checked in. The room was nice, it had a new bathroom and a pretty big flat screen in it. It also had a little kitchenette, a stove, sink and microwave. The beds and linens were fine, the water pressure was excellent and everything was clean. The room we had was "motel style" meaning that the doors to the rooms open outside and we parked right in front of our room. That was great fro loading and unloading, but not so nice for noise (especially when everyone was yelling and slamming doors at 7am trying to get up to the ski resorts). The sound-proofing between rooms seemed pretty good. In the morning, we grabbed some food from the continental breakfast, there was fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, and some eggs and sausage we decided to pass on. The lake was stunning and right across the street from the hotel, so we took a walk down. We also had a great time at the Arapahoe Cafe and Pub in the parking lot. Some of the best BBQ I've ever had!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bwaybaby109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed two nights during early December. The employee at the front desk has zero personality and really needs some training on how to properly greet your guests. Our room had a great view, was clean, and had a coffee maker and refrigerator. However, the walls are paper thin and allow every noise to be heard from adjacent rooms. This hotel is definitely more like a Motel. The rooms need a renovation to include additional insulation and thicker walls. The heating is a very old furnace type that takes forever to warm up your room. No air conditioning in these rooms either. The continental breakfast was very good though. This is a Terrific location that deserves better lodging accomodations. I have never stayed a a Best Western that is so similar to a motel.

Room Tip: Request that the heat be turned on prior to your arrival unless you want to freeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hot-n-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillon
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Dillon
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Silverthorne
0.6 mi away
The Dillon Inn
The Dillon Inn
#3 of 7 in Dillon
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
526 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#3 of 21 in Frisco
304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Silverthorne
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge

Property: Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
Address: 652 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon, CO 80435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Dillon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel Dillon
Best Western Dillon
Dillon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing