We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice location, awful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“nice location, awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

We were charged the wrong nightly rate - different than the confirmation/reservation I originally made - desk refused to honor the original reservation rate. Next, there was no/little heat - the room never got above 65 degrees. We ended up buying a space heater to make the room comfortable. Again service/fron desk did not do anything to fix the situation.

Other than bad service, the building was nice and a great location!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no heat in room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bing O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    261
    72
    11
    22
See reviews for
262
289
62
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2007

Very nice rooms in Dillion, which is a tiny town above Lake Dillon. Altitude is 9000 ft, and I had heavy snow falling-first snow of the season- when I stayed there but it melted right away. Rooms have no AC but at that altitude, probably never need it, I turned on the heat. Rooms are very large, it caters to skiers at nearby Keystone and other resorts just a couple miles away, so I guess they assume the rooms will have several people. Ski storage is available down in the entry to each of the buildings. Rumor has it I heard in the restuarant next door that the hotel may be torn down to build more condos, so if this review is several months old, check the Best Western Website. Dillon is tiny, but just down the hill a few hundred yards from the town is every major fast food and retail store, and a multi screen theatre. Great location just off the interstate, but far enough You don't hear the traffic. I would stay there again.

Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank michaeljones46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

We came to the hotel on a romantic get away and found the accommodations to be noisy. We could hear people walking up and down the stairs all night long. The noise problem could have been fixed had there been air conditioning. However, since we had to leave the window open, we were subjected to the noise of other guests walking by and the unpleasant occurrence of people starring impolitely into our window. There was also a concert in the amphitheatre across the street that we became captive listeners to.

The staff was unfriendly. Any exchange I made with the front desk was unwelcomed with a stern and defensive expression. No pleasantries were exchanged including, "Did you enjoy your stay?"

It was not a big deal for us, but I should mention the maid service failed to clean our room while we were gone from 8:30am-3:30 pm.

The only perk was that the view of the lake was spectacular and we also liked the convenience that dogs were allowed. However, we will not visit again because of the overall lack of privacy and noise.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverDelilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2007

You get what you pay for. Ok hotel in great location. Close to all the ski areas and restaurants. Rooms are dated, but If you are looking for a decent, clean place to stay after skiing all day, its fine.

I am here to ski, but the Best Western is located on Lake Dillon,so you have a lot of water activities right out your door in the summer months.

If your looking for a reasonable place to stay and a reasonable price($100-150/night), it is worth checking out. If you want luxury and all the amenities, look elsewhere.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank gocigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

Great location - terrible experience! Hotel is run down and not up to what other Best Westerns that I have stayed at. Room was ok at check in, went to dinner and hot tub. Hot tub room was dirty, changing room dirty, sauna dirty. Came back to find smoke coming from TV and terrible, caustic fumes in the room. Called front desk and was told mgr was immediately on the way. Had to evacuate room -- I was coughing terribly. I waited over five minutes before mgr came -- I had called again and was going to pull fire alarm because the fumes were so strong. Mgr came, unplugged TV, opened window and said "It's fine now, all over" He actually expected us to stay in that room!! Finally, he gave us another room to stay in but was very surly about it. We coughed all night long and felt ill. When we complained the next day to the front desk staff, she said that it was not a fire, we were fine and she and her husband were not going to make any concessions to us. We weren't asking for anything -- just good service, an apology and a little concern would have gone a long way! We will never stay at this location again and hope that for safety sake, no one else does either.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Management and staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay Away!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KSTravelWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2006

We stayed at this hotel mid-September, booking by internet. It was easy enough to find and is situated in a beautiful location, right across a quiet road from the Lake Dillon shore - you can walk to the water in 2 minutes. Check-in was fine and the ground-floor room was of a good size, clean and well equipped.

Dillon has virtually no commercial centre, but there are shops and restaurants on the main approach road about a mile away, and it's a 10-minute drive along the lakeshore to Frisco, quite a bustling place.

The hotel has a small breakfast room. There is a separate restaurant on site, which looks independent but the licence reveals it's part of the hotel - "highly recommended", said the check-in staff.

Any problems? Well, yes. First, the floorboards creak, to a rather annoying extent - these were our floorboards, we heard nothing from above, but don't know if the room there was occupied. The other problem we had was the room was too warm for sleeping (we felt). There's no aircon, and skirting heating which didn't seem to be on, but still it was very warm. Because of this, we've scored the hotel as 'average', otherwise it would be higher.

However, it's hard to feel grumpy after you've walked across the road and around the water-side paved path to the lake's marina - experiencing a fabulous Rockies vista over the Lake. Sensational!

We paid around $60 for our room, extremely good value.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Capelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

Due to stormy weather we needed to cancel the reservation. When I called a day in advance, the front desk person said I can cancel by 4pm on the day or arrival. But when I called the next day morning (arrival day), the different person who answered the phone was the worst front desk person I have ever encountered. She would not listen and would want to simply charge us whethere we showed up or not!

When asked for the manager she mentioned that she is the one and we have deal with her only! After banging the phone down, I called up Best Western customer service folks. They could cancel it for me but not without $20 cancellation charge. This is the last time I will be staying at a Best Western. They need to stream line their policies.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
3 Thank Hrithik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillon
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Dillon
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Silverthorne
0.6 mi away
The Dillon Inn
The Dillon Inn
#3 of 7 in Dillon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Silverthorne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
5.1 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#3 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.3 mi away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
Address: 652 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon, CO 80435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Dillon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel Dillon
Best Western Dillon
Dillon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing