We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Mountain Lake”
Review of Dillon Reservoir

Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Dillon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recreational reservoir between Dillon and Frisco.
Dillon
Level Contributor
363 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fun Mountain Lake”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Good services, slips boats for rent. ez access. Many opps for rec on lake or around. Ride you bike to Dillon and take the water Taxi to Frisco!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snowpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    44
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We called the Dillon Marina (http://www.townofdillon.com/index.aspx?page=6) and rented a pontoon boat for two hours. The rental was easy, the staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and explained things well. We took a picnic lunch and ate while cruising the reservoir. Because of the water temperature, swimming & other water activities aren't allowed - but we knew that so we just enjoyed the sunshine and the gorgeous views. It was one of the best daytime activities (and a great value) during our week in Summit County.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank thequeenb615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“such a great afternoon”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I love going on the Dillon Reservoir and rent a platoon boat, it is so much fun! the bicycle path is also very well maintained and quite perfect. You cannot swim in the reservoir - however, you can fish in it (I never caught anything!)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank amimastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Swan Mountain bike path notes”
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Just rode this part of the Dillon/Keystone/Frisco/Breckenridge rec path(s). I picked it up in the vicinity of Swan Mountain Road and Highway 6. The ride to the summit of Swan Mountain is a little more than 4 miles and ends pretty much at the summit parking lot where there is a restroom and a spectacular view of the reservoir from Sapphire Point. For now, if you want to ride down to Highway 9 from the summit, you will have to ride on the road. It's about 2 miles and there is quite a bit of traffic including trucks. I chose not to do this and instead rode back down the way I came up. This trail takes a bit of fitness, in my opinion. The grades are relatively steep and long. Over the last few days I have ridden from Keystone Village down to Dillon and on around the reservoir past Frisco on the path along Highway 9 that heads up toward Breckenridge. Nothing in all that riding has come close to the challenge presented by the Swan Mountain leg of this rec path system. I'd like to ride it again and I'm hoping that eventually the path will be completed down to Highway 9. That would be one great loop!

Helpful?
2 Thank Gr8Accountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
187 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Best views of Colorado”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you are here during the summer you should definitely come here. The views are great, the track is flat which makes it an excellent place for biking.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dillon Reservoir also viewed

 

Been to Dillon Reservoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing