We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Ranked #8 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Service is very nice and friendly. They gave us a huge gorgeous room. We were charged to park our car at the hotel which we weren't made aware of until we got the room bill. Also, they do charge extra for wi-fi!
The food is terrible. It's from Elways - a connecting restaurant - that's where all the room service is from. It's not fresh and breakfast was horrible.
I also went to the spa which was just OK. It's inexpensive though. But not very clean.
The rest of the hotel is great. Just food and spa needs work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 944 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

Located on Curtis Street, it is walking distance to the Colorado Rockies Coors Field Baseball Park. The collocated Elway's bar and grill is very nice. Walking distance to the Street Mall as well. While the location is excellent, the hotel provides the quality you would expect from the Ritz Carlton chain.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenKinSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

From top to bottom the Ritz has excellent service. Rooms are amazing. Love the new touch of the Nespresso machines. Conference facilities were also excellent including the food and service. Lastly Elways was top notch. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Leslie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Although this hotel doesn't have it's own pool or gym; there is one that is connected to it. The kids loved the pool and there is a climbing wall in the extensive gym. The building is also connected by skywalk to restaurants and there are a bunch of other restaurants in walking distance; we went to the spagetti factory. Cons: the room was unbearably hot with the feather bed, pillows and blanket and it was winter when we stayed. The kids slept fine but the wife and I were up half the night. I had the same experience when I stayed at the St. Louis location too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenJanicek, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Denver, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and your kids were able to take advantage of the fun facilities we have with our Fitness Center. Regarding the room temperatures I will be sure to look into that as we know the importance that plays in your comfort. I noted you are from the Colorado Springs area and hope we see you soon back in Denver.

Steven Janicek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel used to be an Embassy Suites, now its been redecorated, repositioned as a Ritz, but its really a Mariott. The rooms are DARK - very dark. The service is not so much. We ordered room service breakfast at 7:20 and were told it would be 40 minutes. This seemed like a lot, but it actually took 1 hour and 20 minutes! Breakfast at Elways -- mediocre quality. An associate asked if he could store his bag for the day, the answer: it was against hotel policy.
We moved to the Four Seasons. The same associate, same bag a day later: "Absolutely sir, no problem". Need I say more.

Room Tip: there aren't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rslcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenJanicek, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Denver, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We apologize we did not perform to your expectations and value your feedback as it will help us improve the overall guest experience in the future. Should you like the opportunity to speak with me directly and further discuss your stay I would welcome your call at 303-312-3800.

Warm regards,
Steven Janicek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had spoken to a young lady when I was making my reservations and told her this was to be a special trip, as it was a present for my mother for her 90th birthday. She said she would note that and try to have the hotel make it extra special. I subsequently spoke to another staff member about a question I had and told her, as well, about the significance of the trip. She also said the hotel would make sure it was a memorable stay. When we got to our room, I realized they weren't kidding. There were flowers in a vase( that we could take with us), chocolates and other things, including delightful hand-written notes waiting for us. We were floored. The room, itself, was smashing. Elegant, tasteful, roomy, immaculate - perfect, better than perfect, actually. We left early the next morning, but the staff was fabulous while we were there. What's amazing to me is that we were there on a package including free parking and breakfast for two (excellent) for @$300, an incredibly good deal. The fact that they would go to these lengths to insure my mother would have a wonderful time touched us all. My mother actually couldn't believe it. I had told them I had never stayed in a Ritz Carlton before. Normally, we will only go to a hotel at this level if we can get an extraordinary deal, like this one. And even then, we will normally only go once, maybe twice on a trip. We are not rich. Nonetheless, we will keep our eye out on future trips for Ritz-Carlton and will stretch where possible to stay there.They deserve our patronage.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJJC_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a very nice hotel with polite staff who aim to please. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was surprisingly spacious for a city hotel. No real complaints. This is not an inexpensive hotel, so don't be surprised by paying for wifi and the $35 valet parking. You get what you pay for sometimes.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
662 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Denver

Address: 1881 Curtis St, Denver, CO 80202-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Denver
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#12 Business Hotel in Denver
#13 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#37 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $260 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Denver 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with majestic Rocky Mountains and down-to-earth cosmopolitan delights. The Ritz-Carlton, Denver is the city's first and only AAA Five-Diamond hotel, bringing luxury to a new altitude. Whether you need to spend the day close to downtown's Financial and Business District or you want to take in the offerings of LoDo or Larimer Square, you are always just steps away from the very best that Denver has to offer. The Ritz-Carlton, Denver features 202 spacious guest rooms including 47 suites, 32 Club Level rooms and one Ritz-Carlton Suite. With the largest, newly renovated, guest rooms in the city, our Denver hotel provides sweeping views and luxury to match. The Ritz-Carlton Spa is an award-winning facility with a salon and is open to the public; the Spa is the perfect for a relaxing escape in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver Hotel Denver
Denver Ritz Carlton
Ritz Denver
Ritz-Carlton Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing