We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“lovely but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Denver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Ranked #12 of 151 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
western colorado
Level Contributor
228 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“lovely but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. The room was large and well appointed with a good bed. The staff is extremely friendly and doing their best to make you feel welcome. Everything is clean and in good repair. I thought it was expensive ($400 a night) for a place that was probably no better than a less expensive hotel. I was especially surprised that internet service was not included in the price of the room, but was $12.99 extra per day. Breakfast was included, and choices were varied and delicious. The location is convenient to most places downtown. I am probably a spoiled traveler, but I cannot give this hotel a perfect rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gentinasybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    137
    49
    22
    6
See reviews for
120
216
39
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Exactly what I expected from Ritz-Carlton: Staff were readily available, always friendly, and very helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable—and it even had a Nespresso coffee maker with a choice of three types of coffee. The Forza health club—easily accessible from the elevator and included in my room rate—was very well equipped. It even included a swimming pool and a basketball court.

The hotel is downtown, just a couple blocks from the 16th Street Mall. If you are flying out of the Denver airport, allow plenty of time to get there from downtown. Even without traffic problems, it can take roughly a half-hour to get to the airport exit from I-70, another 10-15 minutes to reach the terminal, and another half-hour or so to get through security.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have had a great experience every time we have stayed at the Ritz in Denver. The staff is friendly and efficient and some of the best sites in downtown Denver are within walking distance. The food at Elway's, the hotel restaurant, never disappoints and we always go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Do stay on the Club Level. Doug, Zach and Asia provided excellent service. This was our second time to be exposed to Doug's hospitality and he is always delightful. Thomas always had a car ready for us downstairs, Our suite was beautiful, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was enormous. We treated ourselves to a special treat and enjoyed a couples massage in the spa. We agreed that both our massages were the best we had ever had. My husband enjoyed working out in the gym most mornings of our stay and was very impressed with the facilities.

Coming here is always a great retreat for relaxation and enjoyment.

Room Tip: Recommend 11 or 12 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpwtravel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you ever get to stay at the Ritz Denver, have access to the Club level and get to experience Douglas, consider yourself very lucky indeed! Douglas absolutely made our stay in Denver totally delightful. What an amazing trip. Every time we stepped onto the 12th floor he was ready to provide superior friendly assistance. He took care of every possible request and then some. Actually we even called him from the road for restaurant recommendations and he never disappointed; in fact his suggestions were spot on, the best. I have never before experienced this level of service in any Ritz or comparable property! What a genuinely friendly, delightful and amazingly helpful representative. I hope to return soon. Thanks Douglas, The 2 Sisters from Atlanta!

Room Tip: Had a great room with a slice of Mountain view. Very nice. Go see Douglas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpwtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Upon entering the hotel lobby I was greeted by the GM, nice! We went up to our room on the concierge level where we had the biggest room I've ever stayed in with 1 1/2 baths and a beautifully appointed living room and seperate bedroom.
The beds were super comfortable with a button on the night table for a ceiling mounted reading light.
We had access to the 12th floor which has a spread of wonderful selections of food throughout the day along with refreshments. It is very cozy and nice place to hang.
The van service took us to the Cherry Creek Mall as a courtesy.
Only suggestion...a little more light in the bathroom would be nice. Overall, A+.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I'm a fan of Ritz-Carlton's. Who's not? But I do have high expectations when staying there. In general this property is great. The reception actually knew who I was before setting foot inside the lobby - great touch. The service was spot on. The primary restaurant is an Elway's - I love it. The room was large and clean. My one personal criticism: they put me in a room by an elevator. I know someone has to stay in these rooms but you would think that Ritz could find a way of making them quiet - probably my largest criteria for quality. I was only there for a night so I toughed it out, but I did not have a good night sleep. I expect better from this type of property.

Room Tip: Get one away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1mayday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#3 of 151 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 151 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#2 of 151 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Denver

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Address: 1881 Curtis St, Denver, CO 80202-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Denver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#12 Business Hotel in Denver
#13 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#37 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Denver 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with majestic Rocky Mountains and down-to-earth cosmopolitan delights. The Ritz-Carlton, Denver is the city's first and only AAA Five-Diamond hotel, bringing luxury to a new altitude. Whether you need to spend the day close to downtown's Financial and Business District or you want to take in the offerings of LoDo or Larimer Square, you are always just steps away from the very best that Denver has to offer. The Ritz-Carlton, Denver features 202 spacious guest rooms including 47 suites, 32 Club Level rooms and one Ritz-Carlton Suite. With the largest, newly renovated, guest rooms in the city, our Denver hotel provides sweeping views and luxury to match. The Ritz-Carlton Spa is an award-winning facility with a salon and is open to the public; the Spa is the perfect for a relaxing escape in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver Hotel Denver
Denver Ritz Carlton
Ritz Denver
Ritz-Carlton Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing