We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best tasting Mexican food I've had in a long time”

La Sandia Mexican Kitchen and Tequila Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
La Sandia Mexican Kitchen and Tequila Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #269 of 2,985 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish, Contemporary, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Stapleton
Cross street: Between E 47th & E 46th
Description: La Sandia Tequila Cantina serves internationally acclaimed Chef Richard Sandoval’s high quality, authentic Mexican cuisine. Featuring familiar favorites prepared with high quality ingredients, guests can dine and gather over dinner and drinks. The expanded tequila bar and lounge features over 150 tequilas and mezcals and handcrafted margaritas. Warm, Latin-inspired service will round out your experience at La Sandia.
Elbert, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best tasting Mexican food I've had in a long time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

What a great experience! The usual Mexican food is so salty and heavy that I'd quit eating it. This, however, is quite nice. We got fresh chips that aren't laden with salt, fresh guacamole that isn't drowned in salty salsa, and an excellent vegetable fajita platter that isn't just veggies pushed around on a greasy grill. We dined with a cousin who was out here for a day on business (only 15 minutes from the airport where they were staying). We were all impressed with the food. The salsa is excellent, by the way (and not salty). The staff was friendly, helpful and we got just the right amount of service, as we were busy catching up. The only "bad" thing I can say is the music was a bit loud for us, since we wanted to chat, and we were in a "quiet" corner area. We will definitely go back, and more importantly, we will take others there with us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    73
    35
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Handled large family well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had 8 people with 2 young children. They kindly located us in an alcove where noise wouldn't be a problem. The service was great - always good to order for the youngsters first. Everyone was satisfied with their food. The chicken quesadillas tasted OK, but don't order the if you're hungry. The portion size is not large.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpine, tx
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great, Fresh and Fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a pleasant and unexpected stop at the Meadows Mall. The shrimp fajitas were light and tasty served with lettuce leaves instead of tortillas. The guacamole was fresh, as were the chips and salsa. The kids meal came out fast. Agua fresca was a delight. The rice was a little crunchy and underdone. Otherwise I loved it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saddlehorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora, co
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tableside Guacamole the highlight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

On Friday I was listening to the Dom and Jane Show on Mix 100 and they were talking about a fundraiser that La Sandia was having, both at Northfield and Park Meadows, where you could get a prix fixe menu for $44.95 for two that benefited an organization call "Food for Thought." I'm always up for donating through eating so I organized a "date day" with my hubby and off we went to Northfield for a movie and a late lunch at La Sandia. We were greeted (not), by the hostess who seemed to be terribly busy sorting out the various menus and papers at her station. One couple ahead of us finally told her they were leaving and walked out. We asked for a table outside and were told that there weren't any in the shade, so we pointed out to the hostess that there was indeed one in the shade that had been vacated and just needed to be cleared. She seemed a bit put out by this but after much whispering and gesticulating with the other wait staff, finally acknowledged that a table might be available for us. The person who took us to our table was very nice and all the other waitstaff we had throughout our meal were great. We were a bit puzzled that no one mentioned the option of the fundraiser meal to us, and when we finally asked our waiter he told us that he needed to find out about it and returned to tell us that the option was only available for the dinner menu (???) I checked the website again later and it doesn't say anything about it being available in the evenings only. The meal was pretty good, the tableside guac was fun, though we were left with big chunks of not quite ripe avocado and it lacked salt. My husband liked his "Chicken Zarape" which the waiter assured us was the BEST thing on the (extensive) menu. It was tasty, but nothing to ooh and aah over. I had the mushroom flatbread. The dash of truffle oil gave it an interesting twist. I also had the "skinny" margarita -- way expensive and so sweet! All in all, good meal, but not great, and disappointed that we were not able to enjoy the fundraiser special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patsyayite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ceviche Rules This Roost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

For lunch fare, this upscale establishment specializing in Mexican cuisine proves a nice repose from the hustle and bustle of Stapleton life. Yet, the abundantly flavored shrimp ceviche rules the roost of this restaurant's menu. Exacting in the fusion of tart, sweet, provocative, and worthy flavor, the chef blends a shrimp cocktail approach to a chilled sauce base. While it offered a break from a hot summer day, I can imagine that Ceviche pairs nicely with a winter meal. This Tequila Bar knows how to balance the spice and the chill of a perfectly balanced palate.

The lunch trio of crème fraich enchilada covered in green sauce, a scrumptious chicken taco, and traditional Mexican rice and black beans made for a perfect-sized and neatly presented lunch. Waist-watchers can rest comfortably knowing that they won't balloon the next day following this healthy lunch (unless they decide to fill on homemade chips and excellent in-house salsa).

Not all was glorious though. The included tortilla soup left much for flavor. Not a good pairing with ceviche either. Blandness bothered this broth despite a unique flatware presentation. Also, as for prices, the value overall may not have totally been there. Price exceeded value despite the overall satisfaction exceed expectation.

I will return for the Ceviche and with a bigger appetite. There is more there I wash to try.

The ladies next to me at the bar relished a gigantic guacamole tapas approach. I want to try that guacamole too. It looked like guac on roids.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustinA688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sandia Mexican Kitchen and Tequila Bar also viewed

 

Been to La Sandia Mexican Kitchen and Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing