We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Doubletree Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver
Ranked #47 of 157 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Doubletree Nightmare”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

In their defense, I did not choose to stay here. I booked a hotel and car, using American Airlines Advantage miles through AA Vacations. I was moving my daughter to Boulder and the closest hotel available with miles was in Westminster (about 14 miles from Boulder) - it was a Doubletree. After a long day of moving, I went to check in (I had the address of the hotel and map from my original booking on AA Travel) and they couldn't find my reservation. The reception clerk told me I was at the wrong hotel and began showing me on a map, directions back towards the airport ("about a 25 minute drive"). They told me there was nothing they could do and "can I help you with anything else"? I asked them to call the other hotel and transfer my reservation - I did not book it there and had never seen the "Quebec Street" address. They called, Quebec refused. They offered me a cookie and water. I phoned AA Travel and they said it was prepaid and needed 48 hours notice to change it. Great. So, I sucked it up and drove back to Denver to this Doubletree and explained my EXTREMELY FRUSTRATING day to the pleasant gal at checkin. She offered me a cookie too. She was nice, apologetic and then proceeded to give me THE ABSOLUTE CRAPPIEST ROOM in the hotel - second floor - looking at the back of the sign and all of the HVAC equipment and vents. I was so exhausted I decided just to deal with it. THEN I went to use the bathroom ... when I tried to open the door to get out, it was warped on the top AND I COULDN'T OPEN IT FOR OVER 10 MINUTES. I yanked and pulled, but it was stuck in the upper left corner. I didn't have my phone with me either. At this point I finally lost it and burst into tears. I took my suitcase and room keys back to the same gal at the counter - repeated all of the crap that had happened that day and said "I am out of here". I never once lost my temper, did not yell, was not disrespectful, I was sad and frustrated ... this girl didn't do anything except make a very poor choice in giving me such a crappy room. However, she did not offer me a different room, did not offer to get a manager, did not offer to call American Airlines ... I think she did offer me another cookie though. The cookies were good. No one made any attempt at either Doubletree Hotel to try to help me. I did call American Airlines again and when I told the gal about the wrong hotel, the crappy room, locked in the bathroom, her response was "Really? That's a 4 star hotel. I'm surprised you didn't like it." So, bottom line, this is not just about the Doubletree hotel "Quebec Street",Denver, it is also about Doubletree "Westminster",Denver and American Airlines Vacations. Beware when you book using miles, you may end up being sent to a different hotel than you thought and you just might get the crappiest room and a hotel staff that really doesn't give a rip. I've always like Doubletree, but I will never stay in another one again. And, no wonder AA is about to go belly up.

Room Tip: Sorry, I don't have anything good to say - just refuse a room on the 2nd floor unless you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newportbeachmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen_Paty, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Newport Beach Mom -

I had hoped to chat with you about your poor stay in Denver and hope to still touch base in the near future. Your trip seemed to be a "perfect storm" of mischance on several fronts and I truly regret our part in your day. We take pride in being the one thing our guests can count on in a hectic day so I sincerely apologize. Please be assured I have worked with our Director of Engineering extensively on the sticking-door issue. As well, we are in the process of renovating our guest rooms but due to the busy summer months, the project is on hold for a few more weeks. I realize our DoubleTree is a little out of your way for your visits to Colorado, but I would be delighted to demonstrate to you the true hospitality and excellent lodging we offer. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance on your next trip to Denver.

Sincerely,

Allen Paty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    613
    346
    111
    62
See reviews for
427
357
132
699
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were expecting more from this hotel. The front desk failed to give us the breakfast passes when we checked in, so we had to get them in the morning when we were all hungry. The walls in our room were paper thin and we could hear the guests' television on all night. The restaurant was not kept very clean. The floors were sticky in front of the bread station and we had a terrible waiter the first and third days. The waitress on the second day was good, but she wasn't available on the third day. The hallway light in our room was out, and the bathroom door got stuck. And there were no shower caps in the bathroom. We will not go back to this hotel and we definitely don't recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadenza62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen_Paty, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Canela62 -

On behalf of the staff and management, I sincerely apologize for the poor experience you had with us. We take pride in providing the best in lodging and service so our lapses during your visit are being taken very seriously. Please be assured I am speaking to the managers of those areas to fix these issues immediately and to ensure they don’t recur. I would be delighted to speak with you directly if you would like to call or email me at (303) 329-5200 or allen.paty@hilton.com. Our goal is to Make It Right with every guest every time.

Sincerely,
Allen Paty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Everything was great - front desk, housekeeping, room service, restaurant, etc. The housekeeping staff knew me by name on the second day and if they saw me later in the day asked me if everything was acceptable.

Suite 940 is about the size of a small country...it would be excellent for a large family rather than getting two or three rooms. The shuttles to local shopping and dining are awesome as well as the airport shuttle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisInSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen_Paty, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Chris -

I was delighted to read your great review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Denver! We are especially proud of our friendly staff and inviting hotel rooms as well as the complimentary shuttle service to DIA and Northfield Shopping. I will certainly pass along your comments to our housekeepers on the 9th floor - they're among our longest-term staff and enjoy welcoming our guests as family. I hope you visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Allen Paty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We chose this hotel for it's proximity to the airport since we were leaving the next day. It's about a 20 minute drive to the airport and they do offer a free hotel shuttle. We had a rental car so the free parking was a plus. The hotel location is a good middle point, between downtown and the airport. The Denver Zoo and nature museum are close by. There is a shopping area across the street that offers the usual fair; Panera, Chili's, Starbucks, Noodles and Co., Walgreens, etc.
Our room was a bit dated and worn but clean. Beds were comfortable. A/C unit was a bit noisy and air blew onto the bed, causing a constant breeze. This is a big, 1980s style hotel on a strip with other old hotels in this area of town. It could use a makeover, but, it still had all the amenities a traveler would need. The indoor pool area is quite large, and outside there is a large patio with hot tub. The hotel lobby has a bar, restaurant, Starbucks and an Avis car rental desk.

Buffet breakfast in the restaurant was okay. Maybe ordering off the menu would be better. The staff at the hotel were very friendly, and quick to help with directions or suggestions for food or entertainment. There is a concierge. Wall St. Journals are available in the lobby.

Over all this hotel is a good value and should be considered if you are looking for a clean room near the airport and zoo.

Room Tip: This is a very large hotel, so if you don't want to walk very far ask for a room near the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbh-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen_Paty, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Visitor From Virginia -

Thank you for your review following your stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Denver. I was pleased, that in spite of your short stay, you were able to take advantage of the close-by sights Denver has to offer as well as our immediate neighborhood's offerings. We are a great choice as a base to visit Denver and the Rocky Mountains with everything the business or leisure traveller needs right at your fingertips. While we hold off on major renovation projects during the busy summer months, we are in the planning stages for several renovation projects starting in just a few months so I hope you come back to see our improvements. On your next trip to Denver, let us welcome you with our friendly staff and warm chocolate chip cookie!

Sincerely,
Allen Paty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable three night stay for a business meeting at this Doubletree. Thought the service everywhere was vey good. That included the front desk, restaurant, and housekeeping. The rooms appeared to be recently updated but the rest of the hotel was dated. But not to the point that it was much of a big deal. Parking can get a little squeezed as the night goes on so be wary of the fact that you'll likely be forced to the back of the hotel on level one or two. Again, not that big of a deal. Just a minor inconvenience. The fitness facility could stand some improvement.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MattArmb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen_Paty, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear MattArmb9 -

I appreciate your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Denver and your feedback. Hearing from our guests is how we make the all-important decisions on improvements from year to year. Updating is most certainly in progress but we tend to hold off on our biggest projects when it's busy in the hotel - so the fitness center and various other areas are in the planning stages as we speak. I was pleased you enjoyed the warm hospitality from our staff - one of the hallmarks of DoubleTree by Hilton and our property in Denver. I hope we see you again soon on your travels - whether business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Allen Paty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was a pleasant enough place to spend a night before our morning flight home. Having an Avis rental car counter right in the hotel made it super-easy to return our car, and we simply took the airport shuttle the next day.

We had been given a mountain-view room, and the view would have been nice if the windows were clean. It may sound picky, but if a hotel advertises a room as having a view but the windows are dirty, it's a turnoff. Our other negative experience was the food. We chose to eat at the hotel for dinner because it was convenient, and it was easily the worst hotel food we've eaten in a long time. I generally have low expectations for hotel food, and I really don't mind bland, but both of the entrees we ordered at the Cafe were unpleasant.

I wouldn't say we made a mistake in staying here because of the proximity to the airport and the ease of returning the rental car, but I'd advise you to limit your stay to one night and to eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are not worth requesting because of the dirty windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen_Paty, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Canadian Guest -

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I always appreciate getting feedback from our guests, especially when there are areas my management team and I need to address. I apologize for the poor experience you had and want to assure you we are discussing the items you mentioned. On the other hand, I'm glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our complimentary airport shuttle service - the most extensive in the city - and the convenience of the Avis car rental on site. The DoubleTree by Hilton Denver is centrally located to Downtown Denver, Cherry Creek and Northfield shopping areas, and makes an ideal base for day trips to the Rocky Mountains. I hope you will come back for a longer visit and give us a chance to prove our commitment to providing the best in lodging and service.

Sincerely,
Allen Paty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermillion, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I enjoyed my 4 night stay here. Upon arrival the young lady at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The room was clean upon arrival, and tended to nicely each morning. The hotel was near the location of my seminar, very convenient. I did not have an opportunity to swim, but the hotel offered a nice sized pool and hot tub. Also, a decent sized shopping area with multiple dining options was right across the street. I did not utilize the shuttle, but saw that many guests did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen_Paty, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear South Dakota Visitor -

Thank you so much for your positive review following your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Denver. We take pride in providing friendly, comfortable surroundings so our guests are free to focus on their business in Denver. I hope you'll come back soon for pleasure this time and enjoy the many attractions close by. As you noted, we have a very busy hotel shuttle operation - the largest in the area - and provide free shuttle service to and from the Denver International Airport in the event your next visit is by air. We look forward to being your lodging base in Denver again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Allen, Paty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Stapleton
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North
Stapleton
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver Stapleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#41 of 157 in Denver
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver
Address: 3203 Quebec Street, Stapleton, Denver, CO 80207-2319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Stapleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Denver
#36 Business Hotel in Denver
#42 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#43 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshing and comfortable stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver. Located south of I-70 on the corner of Quebec Street and Martin Luther King Boulevard, our Denver hotel is just six miles from downtown and 20 minutes from Denver International Airport. Allow us to welcome you on arrival with a freshly baked cookie to make you feel at home. Unwind in a modern, stylish guestroom featuring a range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with an on-demand movie and view a selection of premium channels on an LCD TV or stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access. Upgrade to a spacious suite, complete with a separate seating and conference table and take in views of the Rocky Mountains from the comfort of your private balcony.The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver offers a choice of diverse dining options. Dine at The Café Restaurant and enjoy a selection of delicious salads and tempting steaks. Sip cocktails and catch up with friends over a light meal in the Lobby Lounge or view the latest sports in the relaxed Character's Sports Bar. Stay active during your stay in the fully equipped fitness center and enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the indoor pool. Stay in touch with work in the complimentary business center complete with modern facilities and do business in a choice of 32,000 sq. ft. of versatile meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Denver
Denver Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing