We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Denver Downtown
Ranked #106 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Terrible hotel!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Asked for a handicapped room. They must have been trying to play a cruel joke, as they put me as far away from the front as possible, at least 1/2 mile by wheelchair, on the second floor. I was having surgery and they didn't even have a record of my reservation when we arrived.
No hot water, staff was rude. All the ice machines were broken, on every floor. This hotel was simply a disaster.
Will never stay here again

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracydr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys_Hospitality, Director of Sales at Ramada Denver Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Ramada. While it is embarrassing to have two ice machines that broke down on the same day (now repaired), our front desk stepped up and provided ice for all who requested it. We have every intention to provide guests with the proper accommodations for there stay but if your reservation is not sent correctly through a third party source, we can only work with the vacant rooms available. We have the perfect location for a hospital visit and would love to have you stay with us again. Call us directly when booking a future reservation so we can have the proper and necessary accommodations in your room upon arrival. Our hotel is undergoing a major renovation process so please keep your eyes open for the WOW factor during your next visit.
Director of Sales and Marketing
Mary Jarrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    314
    369
    289
    251
See reviews for
248
327
148
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McGregor, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Ramada has freshened up the lobby area by adding new carpets and furniture. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The pool was nice and located by a courtyard area where you could sit and relax if you wanted to. We were there for seven days and had and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face Colfax because of traffic noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexTravelers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys_Hospitality, Director of Sales at Ramada Denver Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay! We are extremely pleased to hear that you have noticed some of the changes during our up-grading process. It is also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our one of a kind courtyard and pool. This is a delightful amenity that we feel sets us apart from neighboring competitors. We hope to welcome you back to our community in the future.
Director of Sales and Marketing
Mary Jarrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This isn't the newest hotel in downtown Denver, but that's what makes it so great. It is less than a mile, and an easy safe walk, to the Denver Art Museum, State Capital, and other downtown locations. It is very clean, staff is super nice, and parking is FREE! Interior courtyard features an outdoor pool (very clean), a deep, HOT hot tub, and a grassy area with large mature trees. While it is an older hotel, is does not have that "old hotel" smell. Amenities are minimal (i.e. no fridge in the room, no workout room) but for the price, ($100 or more less per night than other downtown hotels) there is no better value hotel in downtown Denver. You have go in with the expectations that this hotel won't have "everything" a fancy, new hotel does, but the benefits it does offer make it a great deal. If possible, get a courtyard facing room, which are quieter than the street facing rooms. Be sure and have breakfast (or any meal) at Tom's Diner, about three blocks towards downtown. 24-hour diner with GREAT breakfast deals (home fries are addictive!), and another 60's gem with all original design. Super cool!

Room Tip: Courtyard facing room are quieter than street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethN234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys_Hospitality, Director of Sales at Ramada Denver Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback and for staying at the Ramada Inn Denver Downtown. It is always nice to hear that a repeat guest found the hotel to be a warm and relaxing environment. If the A/C unit in your room is still making noise during your stay please inform the front desk. We will gladly address the issue in order to insure a quiet stay for you! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Director of Marketing and Sales
Mary Jarrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

When I checked in, I asked the front desk where the closest post office was because I had forgotten to drop some mail off on my way out of town. She told me that I could just leave it with her and she would mail it for me. That was very helpful. Not being familiar with the area and having a class close by the next day, she also gave me great directions, keeping me off the interestate and busy roads. The room was very comfortable and clean. The only problems I had were the first night, whoever was in the next room had a group of people and the singing went on until almost 3 am, despite two calls to the front desk. After having to be up at 6 am for a class, I was quite tired that night, so decided to order room service. I called about 6 pm, and they were out of cheeseburgers. I was disappointed. Overall, a decent place to stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjlee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys_Hospitality, Director of Sales at Ramada Denver Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Ramada Inn Downtown. Your kind words about our warm welcome and hospitality is much appreciated. Although you didn't quite have your barrings at first, we are pleased to hear that you found the location favorable to your city experience. For further transportation assistance during your next visit please inquire about our free shuttle. This is a very popular and convenient service that provides drop offs and pick ups within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Director of Sales and Marketing
Mary Jarrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Don't know who checks on the star ratings on all of the travel sites, but the Ramada Downtown Denver is not a 3 star hotel. Maybe a 1 star. Thought we got a good deal on a travel website withe the price and a three star hotel downtown. This place had rude staff, who didn't seem to care about much of anything but getting paid to sit and do nothing. Hotel is dated and dirty. So are the rooms. Beds were horrible and sheets were old and dirt looking. May want to sleep with your clothes on. Carpet was dirty in our room. You could feel it on your feet. Carpets needed to be cleaned badly. Both of our rooms smelled of smoke as did the hallways. Lots of pot smoke around coming forms rooms! Needed ice and all three floors ice machines were broke. Very disappointing stay. Not recommended to stay there unless the above doesn't bother you! Again, not 3 Stars!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keys_Hospitality, Owner at Ramada Denver Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I am sorry your did not enjoy your stay at the Ramada. While it is embarrassing to have two ice machines that broke down on the same day (now repaired), our front desk stepped up and delivered ice to all rooms that requested it. I generally don't like to argue with guests, but I do take issue with your statement that the staff is just sitting around waiting to get paid. I believe that we have the best hotel staff in Denver! They work extremely hard to make sure that our guests are as comfortable as possible. It seems that you got upset because you couldn't find ice, and then wrote an angry review. If you would have engaged our front desk with your problem, I'm sure that you would have found that our customer service at the Ramada is the best around. We really do want you to come back and stay with us again. Talk to the manager when you check in and we'll make sure that you are taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denver hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
#101 of 157 in Denver
154 reviews
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#40 of 157 in Denver
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#58 of 157 in Denver
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Denver Downtown

Property: Ramada Denver Downtown
Address: 1150 E Colfax Ave, Denver, CO 80218-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Downtown Denver Hotel Denver
Ramada Inn Denver
Ramada Downtown Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing