We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Denver Downtown
Ranked #109 of 161 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The good: The hotel is fairly well located, especially if you want access to downtown. I had a conference at the Marriott City Center and this place is a slightly long walk from there and the 16th street mall (but very do-able). There is a nice Irish bar just across the road as well as generous parking. And the staff is fairly helpful. But that is where the good things end.

The not so good: The hotel obviously is fairly old, and the rooms, walls, and furniture show the age. The carpets even in the non-smoking rooms and especially in the lobby stink of cigarette smoke. As another reviewer has pointed out, the area surrounding the hotel is not the best in the world; lots of homeless people hanging around and there is a smell of weed on the walkways around the hotel. There is a porn store a couple of blocks away and some not-so-nice bars in the area too, which makes things rather uncomfortable. In general it does not seem very safe. Lastly, the beds are not the most comfortable.

Overall then, nothing here will "wow" you, and I would go somewhere else if I had family with me. But if you are by yourself and could rough it out a bit to save some $$, this is not a terrible hotel. However, if you are on a company funded trip and / or can pay a bit more, then there plenty of better hotels closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shashank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,182 - 1,188 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

I will probably come back to this hotel as it is not too far from the city so a taxi won't cost much, free shuttle service available to/from conference site in city, and the price is reasonable

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwner1959, Owner at Ramada Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed your stay. As you rightly point out, we have a great location for Denver activities, and our free shuttle (which runs from 7 am to 10 pm) makes a stay with us especially convenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank emtb1997
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelOwner1959, Owner at Ramada Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank WLAJ70
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelOwner1959, Owner at Ramada Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Jessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed one night at Ramada Downtown Denver and were pleased when we first walked in. It's decorated very nice in the entry area. Check in was very quick and smooth. We were on the third floor and we were the last non smoking room. Getting off the elevator, the first thing we noticed was the smell of smoke. The smoke smell grew stronger and stronger with every step further away from the elevator and toward our room. The smell in the room was less than in the hall but was still very definitely there. We opened the window to air the room out which helped some but to our surprise there was a nice full juicy dirty diaper out on the ledge. The pictures were a bit deceiving as they look elegantly decorated but the one thing missing was the red throw at the foot of the bed which made our room look pretty plain and made the cigarette burn on the coverlet very obvious.

The bathroom was very small. Think small public restroom stall where your legs are touching the toilet in order to close the small door.

The hotel is about 4 feet from the "longest road in America" and a very busy part of town. Constant road noise may be a distraction for a light sleeper.

The best thing about the room is that everything worked (water, toilet flushed) and there was a bed.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, ask for a room far away from smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOwner1959, Owner at Ramada Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

So sorry you were discomforted by the smell coming from our smoking rooms. This is a key reason why we are converting to a totally non-smoking hotel. Even though your room was a non-smoking room, there are occasionally smokers who think it is OK to smoke in the hallways as well, which impacts more than just their smoking room. We have a lovely area in the courtyard for smokers, and are specifically looking for guests to have enough respect for the hotel to not smoke inside at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank JackArkadelphiaARUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelOwner1959, Owner at Ramada Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Radisson Denver Central
#86 of 161 in Denver
96 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#82 of 161 in Denver
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#38 of 161 in Denver
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Denver Downtown

Address: 1150 E Colfax Ave, Denver, CO 80218-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 161 Hotels in Denver
Price Range: $95 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Downtown Denver Hotel Denver
Ramada Inn Denver
Ramada Downtown Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing