We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Bartender!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Denver Downtown
Ranked #29 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I arrived to the hotel after a day of flying and a two hour shuttle ride from the airport (no connection to the hotel!), late for a company-sponsored cocktail reception. I was wiped out, but I had to be there. I asked the bartender, Johnny, for the tallest glass of ice cold water he could find - which he quickly and very graciously provided. We chatted a bit - talking about the horrors of traveling, and the importance of staying hydrated, among other things. He kept me well-hydrated through the reception, and we had a few more quick chats upon each return to the bar.

Thanks to him, what would have been a "gotta push through this" type of event, was actually a pleasant and uplifting experience!

Now that's service!
Thank you, Johnny!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naza327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your encouraging words! We have passed on the kudos to Johnny, as well as posted your comments for the rest of the hotel to continue to be motivated to take care of great guests such as yourself. We look forward to the next time you can stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,398)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Denver Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

This Westin is a bot older, but still nice. Good location. The room was fine, just a notch below "typical" Westin in my opinion. Valet was very nice. I'd stay there again, but competition in DT Denver is fierce.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cooper_Flyod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I agree with you, our location and proximity to LoDo, Larimer Square, Pepsi Center, Coors Field and Sports Authority Field is a fantastic amenity for locals and visitors to Denver such as yourself. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just returned from a very cold trip to Denver with my Husband. Spent more time in the hotel this trip since it was so cold that I didn't want to venture out much. Spent more time at Starbucks people watching, and enjoyed getting my breakfast and coffee there. Spent time talking to Teresa and Mi Ok when there wasn't a long line, they are very friendly and very good at their jobs. They speak with all the customers and ask how they are and wish them a good day. Sure I'll be back a few more times this year and will again look forward to my trips down to the Starbucks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your encouraging words! We have passed on the kudos to Mi Ok and Teresa, as well as posted your comments for the rest of the hotel to continue to be motivated to take care of great guests such as yourself. We look forward to the next time you can stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We are relatively local -- stayed at the hotel because we were attending a wine-related dinner that evening, and didn't want to drive home. We arrived at the hotel and wanted to take a quick shower before going out. No hot water. Bothersome, but not a big deal. Told the front desk people of our problem. They offered to fix it immediately, so we didn't request a new room. We returned from our dinner, and confirmed with the front desk people that the water problem had been fixed. Tested the water in the sink -- seemed hot. Went to bed, no problems. The next morning: although there was hot water in the sink, no hot water for a shower! Lousy way to head out to work. Complained at the front desk on the way out. They apologized, but no offer to discount the room, give us a credit towards a future visit -- NOTHING. So, despite the fact that the room was fine, the linens were nice, the place was quiet and the mattress was good (all things required to get a good review!) would I go back there? Heck no.

Room Tip: Had specifically requested a "quiet room" when I made my reservations on line; they honore...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishinmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

I am so sorry your recent experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. At The Westin Denver Downtown, we strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and we did not do this in your case. Should you wish to share more specifics in regards to your room number so that our engineering team can investigate the water, please feel free to contact me directly at julie.rhodes@westin.com. We hope to exceed your expectations on your next trip to Denver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Everything about this hotel was very nice. I was here for a meeting and service at all our receptions and meals was great and the food really good too. The only problem I had was there was an ice skating rink on my side of the building and even on the 7th floor, music was very loud until 11pm on Fridays and Saturdays. I asked the desk how long it would go on and they were nice and even called me back to let me know about Saturday night. They couldn't switch rooms because they were full (and I wouldn't have anyway, all unpacked and there 2 days) but they left me a nice fruit platter and juices. I would ask for a room NOT on the skating rink side if you go in the winter. Super location!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room not on the ice skating rink side if you are an early to bed, early to ri...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. It is nice to hear that eyour meetings went well and our staff met your service expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

It is a standard Westin in a good location. I like the Westin brand as it is always a nice hotel with a good comfortable bed with a good gym and good food. This hotel met the standard of Westin. You can easily walk to all downtown Denver businesses and tourist sites

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Denver Downtown. I am glad you enjoyed all the amenities The Westin Denver Downtown has to offer. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Spent a couple of nights there as a get away. Was so glad to get home and back to my own bed. Their Heavenly beds are hard as rocks and so uncomfortable. Over all great hotel. Nice staff, clean, noisy as almost all hotels are. Great location as there are so many place to shop and get a bite to eat. We ate at The Palm restaurant in the hotel the first night. Good food but not worth the prices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. We agree we have a great staff and an excellent location close to many restaurants, shops and sports venues. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our beds. Should you wish to share more specifics in regards to your room number, please feel free to contact me directly at julie.rhodes@westin.com. We hope to exceed your expectations on your next trip to Denver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 158 in Denver
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denver Downtown

Address: 1672 Lawrence Street, Denver, CO 80202-2010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Denver
#15 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#17 Business Hotel in Denver
#19 Family Hotel in Denver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $183 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Denver Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel is a four-diamond hotel located in the Tabor Center, located near the famous 16th Street Mall, Colorado's leading tourist destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Westin Tabor Center
Westin Hotel Denver
Westin Denver
Denver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing