We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, love the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Denver Downtown
Ranked #29 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just stayed here over the labor day weekend and it was a great stay. All of the staff here is very friendly. The hotel is very nice. I read in a couple reviews that it was beat up but it must have been renovated recently because it was beautiful. The rooms were nice a clean. You do have to pay for parking here($25/night self, $32 valet), something I was trying to find out before hand. The Westin is located right on 16th street which is very nice, lots of restaurants around and you can always hop on the 16th st. bus to head to many other places in Downtown Denver, we never had to use our car. The pool here is great! cool place to hang out but nice if you have children too. They do serve food and drinks by the pool. I will definitely return to the Westin when we are in Denver.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked with Cash & Points for 1 night in late August. Since we were there just 1 night, my SPG Platinum Status got us upgraded to a "luxury" room on the top floor (19th floor).

Which wasn't a suite, but a massive room with 2 beds. The room itself was very convenient for 3 adults and 1 toddler. The bathroom was massive as well (see in the photos), with a separate rain shower and double sinks. The room also had a small kitchenette area (small sink, empty mini fridge) which came in handy when traveling with young kids (see photos).

The view was great and the location perfect. We were right on the 16th Street Mall and a 10 minute walk to/from Coors Field to watch the Rockies game. We couldn't have picked a better location in all of Denver.

Parking was located beneath the hotel, but run by a separate company. However, if you brought the parking ticket at check in, they would take care of it for you and just charge you on your hotel bill. I've heard reports that the $25/night they charge is higher than if you paid yourself, but I can't verify that. Valet is $32/night and might be worth it because we got lucky that we found a parking spot in the "Non-Valet" section. I could see it being very difficult to find a spot at a busy time.

The pool is rather large for a city hotel and has both an indoor and outdoor section, though the indoor is quite small relative to the outside section. There's a lot of rooftop for sitting/tanning as well. However, the pool isn't heated if that matters to you.

The only major negative was that the room connected to the adjacent suite, which happened to have a big group of people in it that night. They weren't doing anything obnoxious (their group talking in a normal volume at 11PM on a Friday night), but the connecting door was letting EVERY sound through.

Had I known in advance, I would not have accepted the larger room with the connecting door to a suite. But it was already late on Friday night and my family had settled in. It was too late to switch rooms, so we just dealt with it.

Wifi was about $11/night, but it was free for Starwood Gold/Platinum members. However, it did show up on my folio so I had to ask to remove it. Not a big deal, but just a reminder to check your bill before you check out.

On the positive note, the Platinum amenity choice we selected was free breakfast for 2 people in their lobby restaurant. You need to get a voucher from the front desk at check in to present to the server. We were only entitled to continental breakfast (cold) but we were also offered hot food (eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, etc). 100% no charge. Not even presented a bill, but we did tip as if we did pay. The servers were great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Songer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent experience at the Westin Denver Downtown. We share these comments with our staff to motivate them to continue to exceed the expectations of our guests so we can replicate your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

we celebrated our daughter's wedding at the Westin downtown Denver. The experience was wonderful. Johnny was our server during dinner, very attentive and his care for us was exemplary. Ryan also made sure the whole event ran smoothly and perfectly. Thank you for a great celebration at the Westin Downtown Denver.
Debbie, Mother of the bride

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your encouraging words! We have passed on the kudos to Johnny and Ryan, as well as posted your comments for the rest of the hotel staff. We are happy to have been a part in your daughters special day and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I visit Denver about 6-8 times a year on business and try to stay at the Westin as often as possible. The hotel is in a great location as it is steps away from the 16th Street Mall, close to LODO, the museum, most businesses and sporting venues. Downtown Denver is not very big when you compare it to say Manhattan so you can walk to most everything from the Westin or take the free bus that rides up and down 16th St. Being an east coast person I often get up early and run 16th street which can be a little strange at night or in the early morning hours as the Mall attracts the homeless and the young adult skateboarding types.

The Westin is nice enough and has everything I look for as a business traveler. Its convenient, the room is sizable and clean, the bed is comfortable, the gym is bigger than most hotel gyms, and the staff is friendly which why I keep coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The service I receive from Mi Ok and Theresa is exceptional. They get to know the regular customers and what they order that my order is ready by the time I pay for it. They always smile and chat and still get the orders processed in a timely manner. I hope that their service to the customers is appreciated by their employer as much as we the customer appreciate them. They are truly exceptional people and makes my visit a very pleasant experience. Anna

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was so excited to stay at this "nice" downtown location, but I was not really impressed at all. Our room felt worn out. The furniture was a bit shabby and scraped up. The room was huge and could easily fit queen beds, but the double beds they put in the rooms are extremely small. Do not count on a good night sleep if you have to share the bed with someone. The pool was a great setting, but the water was cold. The thing that irked me the most was the self parking. We were told to return the parking pass to the front desk to get it validated and have the charge added to our bill. I noticed that they charged more for this than if we were just to pay as we exited. When we inquired at the front desk, they were very coy about answering the question about paying more for doing the extra work and having them validate the pass. The front desk staff told us that we would save money, but not sure how much and that we would have to locate the lost ticket button if we wanted the charge off our room bill. We did this and saved some money. Not sure why they are charging more for their guests to park?? Overall, there are nicer options downtown than this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homestake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Let me start by saying how extremely accomodating the staff at this hotel was. My husband and I were traveling with our 18month old daughter so we had a few extra requests to ensure we could make HER stay easier as well. All requests were responded to quickly, efficiently, and with a smile.

Location is great! There was some outside street noise, but nothing that couldn't be muffled with a little music in the background. There does seem to be a picketing "homeless" problem outside of the hotel, however, noone bothered us and they were just wanting to be heard.... no issues.

Hotel was a nice wide open and clean feel. The rooms are large and didn't feel cramped. Hallways were quiet with the exception of an occasional slammed door. NEVER heard hall conversations. Starbucks in the lower lobby was a bonus to not have to stumble too far out for a caffeine fix.

3 items that weren't all that impressive:

1) the Heavenly bed.... wasn't so Heavenly. One side of the mattress was rather soft and "broken in", while the other side seemed to have some coils that were no longer in place and made for a lumpy bed. As we had 2 beds in the room, this wasn't a huge issue because we had options to rotate.... but certainly wasn't what Westin is advertising.

2) the Heavenly crib. I'm not sure I understand why this is referred to as a "Heavenly crib". (what was I expecting?) Plain small metal white crib with a mattress and a sheet. Not any different that any other crib I've seen in hotel rooms and if the mattress was anything like that mentioned above, then it is no wonder that my daughter refused to stay in it. I will say the rug they brought with the crib (nice and fluffy ...blue with white clouds) was quite soft and kinda cute. However, I don't understand why I needed a rug with my crib. Appearances? Again, didn't make a case for my daughter to stay in the crib.

3) Water leak in bathroom under sink..... that ran out in floor..... and around toilet. Really? Wouldn't the maid notice this? Apparently not as she kept stacking fresh towels directly under the leak. It wasn't a flood... and really just a minor annoyance but still something that should have been addressed before assigning the room to a paying customer.

All in all it was a good stay. I stay in a lot of hotels and found the small inconveniences to be somewhat typical of a hotel room.... though not necessarily a Westin. I would definitely recommend a stay here. ... Just be willing to live with a little wear and tear in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momspeed12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#44 of 160 in Denver
2,789 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#42 of 160 in Denver
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denver Downtown

Address: 1672 Lawrence St, Denver, CO 80202-2010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Denver
#15 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#17 Business Hotel in Denver
#19 Family Hotel in Denver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $147 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Denver Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel is a four-diamond hotel located in the Tabor Center, located near the famous 16th Street Mall, Colorado's leading tourist destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Westin Tabor Center
Westin Hotel Denver
Westin Denver
Denver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing