We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Denver Downtown
Ranked #29 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Midwest Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed one night in the Westin Denver Downtown. The hotel is in a great location downtown. The hotel itself is clean - comfortable beds with the standard Westin experience. I didn't notice any problems with the renovation, but am not a swimmer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    466
    176
    63
    32
See reviews for
180
261
83
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The price was right and the hotel was in tip top shape. This is the second time I have stayed at this Westin and I will continue to stay here any time I come into town for business. It was also nice that there is a Starbucks and Palms Restaurant in the hotel. The location is also very central and very close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanyj328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as it was close to the downtown area. Many of the facilities were closed and therefore "value for money" was not there. There was construction and noise from the street band until mid to late in the evening. The so called :Green Choice" is a sham. If you participate in it you get no services at all. Not only are your towels and bed sheet not changed you get NO maid service at all. The bed bed gets left unmade, the coffee and tea is not replaced and the maid does not set foot inside the room. This is unacceptable. I don't mind using the same towel and bed sheet for 2-3 days but it does not mean you get no service whatsoever. This is just a cheap gimmick!!!. No upgrade was given for SPG Gold member despite asking for an upgrade. Not a good experience

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel, lobby and rooms were really nice and there's a quiet lounge for drinks with a Starbucks to start your mornings. Unfortunately the roof top pool and gym are undergoing renovations and two of the three mornings I was awakened by the equipment on the roof.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCFamily091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieR1012, Manager at The Westin Denver Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I am happy to say that our renovation project will wrap up late next week. We are excited to offer newly renovated meeting space for our guests. We hope that on your next trip to Denver you will be happy with the changes as well. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Westin in Downtown Denver is exactly what you expect from a Westin brand large hotel which caters mainly for business travellers.

Located in the Tabor Center, The Westin Downtown Denver Hotel is near the famous 16th Street Mall and Larimer Square, Colorado's leading tourist destination

However, many other customers (like me ... on vacation) also stay there ... and here are my tips and comments:

The good

- Fantastic, fantastic location ... right on 16th Mall
- Great size bedrooms
- Some of the best beds I have ever slept on
- Staff who do their best ... despite being busy
- Great outdoor pool
- Great cable
- Price on internet access is actually reasonable for a business hotel.
- Check in was good ...and the staff very friendly ... indeed ... they kindly held a GPS package from Amazon for me for a day or so before I arrived

What you need to know as an non business traveller ...

- You can get great great rates on this large hotel if you go to places like this on certain websites
- It is a business hotel that expect you to just "expense it" ... so if you are not ... limit your services you buy ... but they seem aware of this and are advertising certain films for say $5 ... rather than other

The less good


- Wifi free only in lobby ...... just go to starbucks opposite
- The hotel is going through some renovations ... so the Pool/ Gym etc ... which are strongly highlighted on the website ... are not open till March/ April 2013 .... I was a little shocked at this ... but they do compensate by give you day access tokens to the Denver’s only upscale Athletic Club ... which is a short walk from the hotel and does include a pool (but indoor)

My biggest point is that the hotel does need better signage ... you can miss it ... my driver did ...and so did I when I walked their late at night (particularly an issue since this area in denver does attract a lot of the homeless)

... they seem to advertise "the Palm" (a in house restaurant... and you can see this sign (beides looking skywards for the Westin sign) ... but until you know that this means the Westin as well ... you can

So overall ... I liked it. It will be great when their renovations are finished ...and perhaps they need to highlight this more on their website.

Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphi, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during our stay for the Western National. Staff was very friendly and professional. Room was clean and spacious. Only complaint was when we came back late one afternoon from show and our room was not clean yet. Other than that, have no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legaleagle76_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I visited with my son to watch the Bronco's playoff games. The hotel is in a great location close to shopping, sports and eating establishments. The service was great and we were well taken care of by the staff. The room was nice, we had two double beds and they were comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank housermania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denver Downtown

Property: The Westin Denver Downtown
Address: 1672 Lawrence St., Denver, CO 80202-2010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#14 Green Hotel in Denver
#17 Business Hotel in Denver
#19 Family Hotel in Denver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Denver Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel is a four-diamond hotel located in the Tabor Center, located near the famous 16th Street Mall, Colorado's leading tourist destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Westin Tabor Center
Westin Hotel Denver
Westin Denver
Denver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing