We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formerly nice hotel about 30 years past its prime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Warwick Denver Hotel
Ranked #39 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Formerly nice hotel about 30 years past its prime”
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We were disappointed with our four-day stay here: Our room smelled musty, the carpet was worn, the bed was soft and squeaky, and the room felt dirty. The pool -- much hyped on the Web site -- was also outdated and small.

Our traveling companion's bed was broken, so she was upgraded to a suite, which was nicer (but probably much more pricey if they hadn't comped the upgrade). I can see how this hotel would have been considered nice, but it hasn't been maintained well, and as a result its charm has faded into outdated and old.

Be sure to ask NOT to have a room that overlooks the parking lot.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank COCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    473
    192
    85
    57
See reviews for
217
562
96
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
290 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

I liked this hotel and felt it was good value for money. I booked a suite for a three days at a rate of $160 per night.

Check in was quick and very courteous. The suite was big - great sized sitting room with sofa, armchair and ottoman, walk in wardrobe and huge balcony. Bedroom was smaller, but good bed (sheets and blankets, no duvets) and the most brilliant air-con - the rooms chilled down within 5 minutes and even in October the outside temperature was in the 80's. I do agree with other reviewers that the property is dated and could do with a revamp. A colleague of mine found her room to be very dusty and asked housekeeping to come in and clean again, which they did very promptly.

The hotel is very central - it's a 10 minute walk to 16th street and to the capitol building - 20 minutes from the cultural centre and the amazing Lieberskind modern art gallery. Denver is a pleasant city to walk around and it does surpise me that other reviewers thought the hotel was not central. Yes, there are more central places, such as the Marriott and both Hyatts, but I liked being slightly out of downtown. There is a mini-mart just around the corner and a good coffee shop on the next block.

The concierge drove us around Denver centre in the hotel's complimentary 4x4 - this was a really great service and he came to collect us to go back to the hotel within 10 minutes of calling - brilliant!

Room service was quick and very good - great Ruebens sandwich. Randolphs restaurant was really good quality but they were stretched during the breakfast service as the hotel was full for the world series, and service was slow. Understandable, but irritating.

Being able to smoke on the balcony was a real plus especially in Denver, which is entirely non-smoking.

Hotel has complimentary HBO and the wireless internet is only $10 a day. But why oh why do hotels charge for this at all? In 2007, an internet connection is as essential as a shower and I would REALLY resent having to pay $10 per day for that!!!

A good hotel, well run and value for money - although I am from the UK and the £ is very strong right now so the USA generally is a very good deal!

I would stay here again.

  • Liked — big big rooms
  • Disliked — dated
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tryanythingonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

We stayed at the Warwick Denver along with the rest of guests for a wedding for 5 nights.

Room: I don't understand people that complain about the decor of the rooms and such. Do people not take a look at the hotel's website before visiting. Yes, the furniture might look like something in my great aunts house but the bed was actually really comfortable. Huge balcony in the room was very nice as well. The bathrooms were the best thing about the rooms. Large, spacious, good vanity, large shower, good water pressure.

Room Service: Really good room service we ordered for breakfast a couple of the mornings. Very quick service as well.

Bar: The bar was the best thing about the hotel. Great bartenders (male and female). Amazing appetizers at the bar as well. I recomend the asian sweet and spicy wings. I think we had them just about every day. Overall great atmosphere.

Parking: If at all possible, do not park in the underground parking garage. The spots in their are so small, I could not believe it. Park in the back lot where there is much more room.

I probably would not stay at the Warwick again because of personal preference, but I would definately frequent the bar.

  • Liked — Bathroom, Balcony, Bar Area
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

Stayed her for three days in October. Had a heated pool on the roof. Could use more light up there. Gym equipment was dated and of below average. The room king size bed was good. The TV was a 21" old school TV. The room was spacious enough for one person. Bathroom was nice. Products (shampoo, body wash, soap, lotion) were way below average. The iron board was regular size, but the iron was less than $10 quality. The patio was big but had a large mat under it which made it look bad. Parking was rather expensive ($12 per day). Free internet in the business center which was cool. The staff was average. Not too snooby as others have said but rather inexperienced in how to deliver great customer service. They were all young kids with jobs, not professionals in the hospitality industry. Overall, the stay was average.

  • Liked — heated pool
  • Disliked — small tv
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

As mentioned by other travellers, the upmarket lobby area actually gives a misleading impression of the quality of the bedrooms. The room was huge and clean but it wasn't well maintained in terms of decor and the grotty carpeted balcony overlooked a carpark/ rubbish bin collection point.

As a tourist staying one night it was alright but I wouldn't have wanted to have stayed there for several days. Certainly wouldn't stay at the Warwick on business.

Basically it was reminiscent of a stay in a 2 star hotel on the Spanish Costas!! If it had been half the price then I wouldn't have cared less but at $250 a night, I thought it was not particularly good value. Would look elsewhere if I was staying in Denver in the future.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank iddybid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper WY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2007

This was the illusion of a good deal. This was supposed to be a 3 1/2 star hotel, with antiques in the rooms. I was looking forward to our stay there. When we arrived in Denver, we found the hotel, but it was a good hike from 16th Street. My husband and I laughed that from the rear view outside, it's a bit reminiscent of a northern Irish bunker. The lobby is nice, and so you would think that would be a good preview to the rooms....not necessarily so. The staff was helpful, but when we got to the room, I had to laugh. Sorry, folks, but 70's reproductions that have scuffed up corners are NOT antiques, yet.....the bathroom was nice, and the toiletries were kind of cool, but overall, this was not at all what I had envisioned when I made the reservation. We ended up with a full size bed, stained 70's chair and ottoman and a tiny little tv. The site we purchased the reservation through said this was a $200/ night room, but I felt it was barely worth the 127 I paid. Next time, I'll pay the extra and know what I'm getting.

  • Liked — The Lobby
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaely32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

By far the worst hotel in Denver in this price range. The service left a lot to be desired. Despite confirming my reservation for a king size bed and charging me a corresponding rate, the hotel only provided me with cramped room with a queen size bed. When I asked to be moved to a room I booked, I was told there were none available.

Aside from being small and cramped the room was in a dire need of deep cleaning. Many of the harder to access (but easy to see) areas around the bath and toilet haven't been cleaned in a while. The room carpet was probably as old as the hotel itself.

The functioning balcony and the hotel's quiet location were the only redeeming qualities.

Service at the hotel's restaurant was excruciatingly slow for dinner and downright lethargic for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sine_Patria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#36 of 157 in Denver
2,723 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#21 of 157 in Denver
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Denver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Denver Hotel

Property: Warwick Denver Hotel
Address: 1776 Grant Street, 2 Minutes From 16th Street, Denver, CO 80203-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#30 Business Hotel in Denver
#32 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Denver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denver's only hotel located within the popular Uptown Neighborhood, noted for its tree-lined streets and array of independent restaurants, bars and boutiques, Warwick Denver Hotel is home to 216 spacious guestrooms. Most rooms feature private terraces, along with floor-to-ceiling windows,Complimentary high speed wifi for Warwick Members and available to all guests on sign up, smart flat screen televisions, luxurious robes and slippers, wet and mini bars with local Colorado snacks and beverages, and baths with marble finishes and designer amenities. Warwick Denver Hotel combines the finest in modern service and amenities with a storied past, housing Denver's Playboy Club throughout the 1970s and into the 1980s. Today, the hotel is home to a private, heated rooftop pool and lounge featuring panoramic views of the Denver skyline and Rocky Mountains, open year round; state-of the-art, 24-hour fitness and business centers; 24-hour in-room dining; complimentary cruiser bicycles by which to explore Denver; and a variety of services for travelers' furry companions as a proud pet-friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Denver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel Denver
The Warwick Hotel Denver
Warwick Denver
Denver Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing