We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old-world charm and elegance in downtown Denver!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Old-world charm and elegance in downtown Denver!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

We always look for historic hotels in our travels, and we were quite taken with The Oxford Hotel; it is absolutely CHARMING! From the moment we stepped through the front doors, we felt as if we were in London, at the turn of the last century. The hotel has been meticulously renovated, with attention to such details as the staircase railings, the carpet in the elevator (changed daily), the gold-leaf ceiling in the atrium. . . Your room keys are actual KEYS, and you may leave them at the front desk when you go out for the day. Every single member of the staff went over and above to meet our every need--from the front desk to the valets to the housekeeping staff, they were gracious, attentive and professional. Our room was perfectly LOVELY; if you make a reservation, ask for room 202, as it overlooks the front entrance and is a "larger" room. (I especially appreciate the gentleman who made my reservation, for recommending the larger room; I glimpsed a smaller room during our stay, and they face the back of the building and are a little cramped.) Our room was furnished with lovely antiques but included such modern amenities as high-speed internet and cable TV. They do have exercise facilities which are available at no charge, but the hours of operation made it difficult for me to use them while we were there. I also wish they offered breakfast as part of the rate, but apparently very few hotels in the downtown area do this. Thankfully, they have a yummy restaurant (McCormick's and Schmick's) right next door, and are only one block from the 16th St Mall where there are many restaurants open for breakfast, a free bus ride away.

The Oxford is across the street from Union Station; because of the geography, it feels more like it sits in a cul-de-sac than on a downtown street. It's in an excellent location; you can walk to Coors Field, the riverfront parks, and lots of shops and restaurants; the bus and light-rail system is excellent and can carry you anywhere in town you want to go (including the airport).

Our rate was a special package, the "Park and Stay", which included free parking (although we still tipped the valets, of course). If you are traveling by car, I recommend this package, as you can simply leave your car there and walk or take public transportation anywhere you want to go.

If you prefer staying in modern, streamlined hotels, you should not stay here, but if you are like us, and prefer hotels with character and elegance, then I promise that you will fall in love with The Oxford! You'll want to return to it again and again, just like us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    192
    66
    18
    18
See reviews for
154
443
60
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

The Oxford is an excellent example of how to best preserve an historic hotel while creating a comfortable, convenient, modern stay. The feeling is entirely authentic (it's not one of those places filled with replica Victorian knickknacks) and the location is a short walk to the best of Lodo. If you want a glimpse into the history of Denver and the West, I doubt you can do better. If you want completely consistent modern convenience, you might prefer a Westin, Hyatt, etc.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1KeeneTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed one night in a 4th floor room overlooking the street leading to Union Station.

Our room had a lovely old canopy bed and the room had several 19th or early 20th century antiques: an armoire with oval mirror and a chest of drawers. The room was decorated with different silks and tasselled curtains, recreating a turn-of-the-last-century elegance. Beautiful 19th c. oil paintings depicting the American West decorate every room and public hall or lobby often in large gilded frames.

The bed was very comfortable, the linens were lovely, as were the soaps. My only disappointment was not having a bath tub, but the shower was good.

The hotel is located in the heart of a newly chic and hip neighborhood with horse-drawn carriages, street musicians, art fairs and bicycle taxis. We spent the evening walking around, looking in galleries, shops, bars, and restaurants. The hotel felt authentic, while having been beautifully restored.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYViaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

We recently spent one week at the Oxford. We were supposed to spend only 3 nights and then move to a golf resort. However, we liked the Oxford so much, that we canceled the golf resort and spent the remainder of our trip at the Oxford. While we thought the lobby could have been spruced up a little, we could not have been more thrilled with our room. We had one of the blue superior rooms depicted on the hotel web site. We were pleased to find that it was actually exactly like the photo on the website. It was absolutely beautiful and furnished with antiques. While it was very elegant, it was also extremely comfortable. When we take into account the service we received and the beautiful room, we believe the hotel topped any other hotel we've stayed in while traveling in the U.S. The hotel reminded us of those small and charming hotels in which we've stayed in France and Italy. Also, we've stayed at the Brown Palace in Denver, which is double the price of the Oxford and, in our opinion, does not hold a candle to the charm of the Oxford.

We are puzzled by some of the poor reviews and are wondering whether those guests do not appreciate a historic hotel? In all fairness, we had a room with a bathroom which had been recently renovated (but was still small as one might expect from a historic hotel), so it would probably be best to ask for one of those.

The other unique and charming aspect of the hotel was the Cruise bar, a 1930's martini bar which had more charm and appeal than any hotel bar we've ever seen. In addition, the hotel's 24 hour room service, nearby Oxford Club (gymn, spa and salon), excellent service, complimentary coffee in the morning and wine in the evening, flat screen t.v.'s, computers with internet access on each floor, etc. etc. made our stay as comfortable as we could have hoped for.

Lastly, each and every staff member we encountered was kind, friendly and knocked him or herself out to be helpful. The hotel had the charm and ambience one hopes for (and rarely gets) in a 4 or 5 star hotel without any of the stuffiness or pretentiousness.

We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Denver.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fakeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
475 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

I really wanted to stay here after reading their website and viewing the photos on their website. It sounded delightful even if it was a bit pricey. I decided to book it for only 2 nights as that's all our budget would allow and then we'd move on elsewhere. The location is definitely good and it's nice to be able to workout at the gym nextdoor - that was great. However, all it takes is a bit of bad service to put a bad taste in someone's mouth. First of all we had to wait to be served at the checkin desk. That's not a problem if someone else is being served, etc. But the person behind the desk was just chatting with someone and didn't care that we were quietly waiting. After nearly 10 min my other half asked if someone could help us. The lady at the desk, not happy to have to work, claimed she had no record of my booking. I had the reference number and printout, etc. and then she suddenly located it. Phew! We got our room and were dismayed to see how old and dark the bathroom was! I can honestly say that our bathroom at the Super 8 was brighter and in better condition. The bedroom was very nice - with a Bose stereo. But my personal experience left me cold and put off, especially for the price.

Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank intlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

Although the location is superb, the ambience leaves much to be desired. I was very disappointed upon check in when I noticed the old and worn area rugs that appeard to have been mopped and swept around for years. The bird cage near the check-in area was a nice touch, but the bird seeds (hopefully only birdseed) droppings were appeared to have only accumulated between check-in and check-out. The room did not appear to have been renovated since the 80's-90's. The night stands were falling apart, the linens were below sub-par and the decor....again, really dated. The sink/ vanity- too small for two travel bags and just dated. What else can I say. It was very disappointing. I would recommend spending my money elsewhere until a serious remodel and upgrading takes place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jensmith122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timeless09, Director of Operations at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2009
Thank you for your candid feedback. I apologize for your stay being less than satisfactory. One of our lobby rugs was purchased two months ago and the other one is a historic Persian rug that is serviced regularly but we will have our rug expert take a look at it. The canaries are tended to with great care every day with their cage being cleaned twice a day. Canaries can be quite messy. We are currently in the process of renovating all of our guest rooms and have twenty percent left to complete. It would be my pleasure to offer you a future complimentary night’s stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. Please feel free to contact me directly.
Michael O’Shea
Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada - USA
Level Contributor
516 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

The Oxford is Denver’s oldest and most historic hotel. I have never stayed in a historic building before and was pleasantly surprised with the vintage charm and comfortable feel of the room.

HOTEL AND ROOM – Staff is friendly and efficient. We were assigned to Room #504 and enjoyed a view of 17th Street near Union Station. I am not sure what class level our room was (standard?). There is free “wireless” but we found that connecting to the iBAHN cord in the room made the Internet connection perfect.

Our room was quite spacious with antique styled furnishings – they appear to be old but not sure if they are truly antique or recreations. If you like brand new and ultra modern hotels, this is not the place for you. I agree with another poster who noted that some of the art has the old patina look to it.

The bathroom is small but had a European feel – it reminded me of a hotel in Venice so it actually brought back wonderful memories. It is of note that different rooms have larger bathrooms, so if you need a larger bathroom, you may wish to book an upgraded room. The shower head was absolutely wonderful and of sufficient height – not too short, not too tall. The corner shower worked just fine with hot and cold water and no drainage issues. Though the toiletries are not brand names like Aveda, I found the hotel brand to be of fine quality.

There is a lighted closet in the room with plenty of room. There isn’t a refrigerator in the room, though there is a bar refrigerator with sodas, juice, snacks and alcohol for purchase. Bar refrigerator shockingly had visible rust on the top and should be replaced.

I did not experience any squeaking or creaking wood floors as one poster mentioned. Since the hallways are wide and only a small amount of rooms per section, we did not hear noise from other guests exiting or entering their rooms. After the Rockies game, we heard yelling from people who were celebrating, but this was momentary.

Included with the room is coffee daily in the foyer of each floor and coffee/tea service in the lobby, liqueur service from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. daily, use of the Oxford Health Club and Fitness Center (see later in review), evening turn down, Lincoln Town Car for service to downtown areas, and show shine service. Water with slices of limes and oranges is also available in the lobby later in the day.

For those of you wishing to pick up some bottled water or other groceries, there is a King Soopers Grocery Store on Wewatta behind Union Station – the hotel driver can probably take you there since it is very close.

The elevator changes its rug each day to reflect the day of the week. When it comes to a stop, there is a little jolt – I believe the elevator is probably of an older style as it appears as the owners have tried to keep the facility as close to original as possible.

Notable hotel guests at The Oxford include the Clintons, the Dalai Lama, Robert Redford, Lauren Bacall, and other entertainers and ambassadors (according to the downloadable PDF on the hotel website).

LOCATION - As other posters have noted, the location of the hotel is close to many things like Coors Stadium, the Pepsi Center, the historic Union Station (light rail), the 16th Street Mall, City Lights Pavilion, Denver Performing Arts Complex, and the Colorado Convention Center. I would even venture to say for those baseball fans that The Oxford is “the” closest hotel to Coors Stadium.

Denver is one of the most well planned areas I have ever experienced. There is a free 16th Street Mall Bulls that takes you from Union Station to the RTD Civic Center Station. Along the almost 15 blocks on both sides of the 16th Street Malls, there are lots of restaurants, shops, and attractions. These include Cheesecake Factory, ESPN Zone, Johnny Rockets, Corner Bakery, PF Chang’s, Delectable Egg, Rock Bottom, Hard Rock Café, many coffee shops (Starbuck’s Dazbog Coffee, Ink Coffee, Caribou, Coffee, Etc), and the list goes on and on. More information about the downtown area can be found at: www.downtowndenver.com

FITNESS CENTER AND SPA – This facility is two doors down from the hotel’s main entrance when walking towards Union Station. There are beauty products for sale when you first walk in, and if you are interested in fitness, you would go down the stairs to the work out rooms. To the right of the stair landing is the large exercise studio with wood flooring for yoga and dance. To the left is the cardiovascular area to include treadmill and elliptical machines (about 10 different pieces of equipment). Another set of stairs then leads below to the free weight room.

The equipment offered at the fitness center is much more than a typical hotel, and those serious about exercise would be pleasantly surprised at what is available. Also, the number of classes offered daily includes at least three, so there are ample opportunities to participate in physical activity in a variety of ways.

I did not eat at McCormick’s, nor did I try the Cruise Bar or room service. The two things that stand out the most about this hotel are the location and the wonderful staff working there. For us, The Oxford Hotel was a wonderful part of our downtown Denver experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing