We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I love antique hotels. This is a great one! The bell hops are wonderful, the front desk staff great. The beds are awesome, and it's a great location. If there were anything to improve on, the Cruise Room could have better service. This hotel feels a lot like the Strater Hotel in Durango, but Durango is way more fun!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Real_Colorado_Native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Real_Colorado_Native,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with The Oxford Hotel. We are blessed with amazing associates and we will be sure to pass along your comments to our bell staff and front desk staff. We will also be sure to pass on your comments to our Cruise Room staff. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Todd J. Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    201
    69
    21
    18
See reviews for
164
456
63
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Carlo and the entire staff at the Oxford Hotel did a great job for my two day meeting. The property is unique and upscale. The oxford Theater meeting room is spacious and great for u-shaped seating for 20. Check out the Cruise Room bar for a fun happy hour.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsGo800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We live in Denver but wanted a weekend getaway. The Oxford is an old and historic hotel that has been renovated and well maintained. It captures the historic feel but still has modern attributes (water pressure! and a fitness center with a fabulous locker room and steam room). The staff was professional and helpful. The bar and restaurant was great and the room services was top notch. It ended up being the romantic, worry free weekend we wanted. The only downside was the bed was a little too soft for our liking.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the interior, others over the street. If that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonWWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear WinstonWWolf,

We are so glad to hear that your Denver "staycation" was a success. Thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel and our Oxford Club, Spa & Salon. We are in the process of replacing all of our mattresses, so please mention your preference for a firm mattress next time and we'll be sure to accommodate.

Sincerely,

Todd J. Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed just one night at the Oxford, but that's enough to get a taste of the place. Location is great, in lower downtown. It'll be even busier in the neighborhood when the Union Station renovation next door is complete this summer - something like a dozen bars & restaurants will be added to an already vibrant downtown scene.

The oldest hotel in Denver, it's a unique place to stay - with every room being different and appointed in period furniture. Nothing like the cookie-cutter experience at most of the big chains these days. It's a throwback to a time where personal service meant a lot more than it seems to most places today.

My king room was nicely appointed, with a very comfortable bed. The only mild complaint would be that the room was kind of dark. The light switch only ran one lamp in a corner of the room. There were two lamps at bedside, but overall the room could be brightened up. The bathroom was clean and everything functioned as expected. Tub was very high to step into, but there is a wall bar to assist if you need it.

Service was impeccable, from a very friendly and prompt check in/out process to suggestions on places to eat in the area. Finally, the shuttle service offered in the downtown area is a very nice perk - in a Cadillac Escalade, so you feel like you're rolling in style.

All in all, highly recommended for those looking for top-flight service in a unique and historic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJH-SFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear SJH-SFSD,

Thank you so very much for sharing your positive experience at The Oxford Hotel. We agree that our location in LoDo is fabulous and that once Union Station re-opens, that this neighborhood will become the new Center of Denver. We appreciate all of your comments and please know that we will share with all of our staff.

Sincerely,

Todd J. Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiells, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Doing some research for hotels for our trip last October I wanted a hotel that would be very knowledgeable of the area since this was our first time to Denver. Reading the reviews, yes this in an old hotel, but if you are looking for class and sophistication the Oxford Hotel is the place to stay. From arriving on our first day, the staff was very helpful and knew ALL the best bars, breweries and restaurants in the area that was a must to try during our visit(talk to Stewart!) We utilized the hotels car service(Cadillac Escalade) to take us to dinner, which was great. We felt like first class. If you are willing to spend the extra money on staying here, you will not regret it :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and not facing main street(tends to be a little noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Kimberly,

Thank you so much for your very gracious feedback. We will be sure to share your comments with our entire staff and specifically to Stewart, whom you mentioned as a local area expert. We are blessed to have an amazing team at the hotel and we are so proud that they were able to make you feel special during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
todd.iseri@theoxfordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,121 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Forget the big chain hotels, stay in this wonderful historic property. The oldest hotel in Denver. It has great ambience and old charm. It's close to great restaurants. In fact, they have a wonderful bar and seafood restaurant for joining. Their bar with the Art Deco interior from the 30s seems exceptional..

One fun thing to see are the original men's urinals downstairs from the lobby. They are vintage 1870. They are massively big porcelain tubs. A blind man wouldn't miss. I have seen Tourists go down just to take a photograph of the urinals. They're worth an enthusiastic piss

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Jonmun,

We agree that our location in the LoDo neighborhood is fabulous and we appreciate your comments about The Cruise Room and McCormick's Fish House & Bar. And thank you for mentioning one of Denver's hidden treasures, our amazing antique urinals. Not a week goes by without someone wandering in to the hotel asking to photograph them. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
todd.iseri@theoxfordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Yes this is an old hotel! They offer nice amenities, but when you want a nice quiet nights sleep, not so much. Bring ear plugs. Walls are thin, it seems; floors are creaky; lots of thumping as people walk outside your door and upstairs above your room. Staff is friendly, Room was clean. Nice that they offer a selection of pillows, we didn't know this so we brought our own, but this was a plus for them.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IceAngel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear IceAngel1960,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. You mentioned our friendly staff and we take pride in our staff's commitment to providing an unparalleled customer experience. We are so sorry that you were unable to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep. Our number one mission is to ensure a positive guest experience and we failed in this instance. Please let me know if you will be in the Denver area again in the future as I would love the opportunity to showcase The Oxford Hotel in a more positive light.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
todd.iseri@theoxfordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
823 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,208 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing