We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

From pulling up to the entrance to checking out, our entire stay at the Oxford was horrible. Extremely poor service. Could hear the person in the next room vomiting and sounded like he/she was in our room. Had to continually call down to the front desk for items that housekeeping had not put in the room. And the list continues.

We have stayed at other old, historic hotels -- Brown Palace, The Stanley Hotel, etc., and have never experienced a problem with their walls being "paper thin" so that conversations/activities in the next room could be heard verbatim in our room.

We will NEVER stay at the Oxford again, and we definitely don't recommend that you do either. Stay at the Brown Palace if you want to stay in a downtown historic hotel--excellent customer service, beautiful rooms, etc. Prices are comparable with the Oxford.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colorado1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Colorado1982,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and I am so sorry for your negative experience with us. At The Oxford, we take pride in creating lasting positive memories and we undoubtedly failed in that regard. I would love the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more and to invite you back to experience the true Oxford Hotel experience. I can be reached directly at 303.628.5446 or via email at todd.iseri@theoxfordhotel.com.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    191
    66
    18
    18
See reviews for
154
443
59
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just returned from a quick weekend trip to Denver, and was so happy with having chosen the Oxford Hotel. Next door is a bar, Cruise, for a quick nightcap, two doors down is the Oxford Club for working out (full gym and spa in a great setting), and a coffee shop across the street. Wide hallways to the rooms and actual room "keys" that makes it all feel wonderfully old school with all the modern amenities. Small second floor landing with a reading area, and great staff (and easy street parking if you don't want to valet park) just made it a surprisingly delightful trip. Not to mention the location where you look down the street and there is the beautiful old train station. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. [Well, okay, the hotel restaurant breakfast was just okay for the price.]

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niraam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Niraam,

We are so glad to read of your positive experience with us. Isn't our Oxford Club, Spa & Salon amazing? And you're right, our location is the best in the city in the LoDo District and adjacent to the new Union Station development. Thanks again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nome, Alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is the oldest hotel in Denver! That's enough of a reason to stay here... add fantastic and friendly service, a town car to take you anywhere w/in a 2 mile radius, comfortable, updated rooms and a historically amazing bar next door (The Cruise Room) and you've got a can't miss for Denver Lodging. The location is key, and we will definitely be making this our new go-to hotel in Denver!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear GypsyPeanut,

We are thrilled to hear that we are your new, go-to hotel. So glad that you had an opportunity to experience our famous service and elegance. We can't wait to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Oxford Hotel is truly Denver's best hotel .From the excellent spotless period furnished rooms and baths to the Cruise room Lounge. The best thing about the Oxford is the entire staff, They all were engaging, courteous and a pure pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Bill,

We love to read guest responses such as yours. Thank you for the kind words and we are so pleased that you enjoyed a pleasant stay at The Oxford Hotel. Our entire team is dedicated to providing our guests a memorable experience and we're so glad that we hit the mark with you. Please know that we will be celebrating your comments with our staff. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you soon.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

For those looking for a sense of history and feel for the old Denver - combined with a boutique hotel level of service then I would recommend the Oxford. the location is exceptional - with walking or short cab distance to major sports venues, lots of bars and restaurants - and shopping. it should be noted that the spa and fitness center are a real bonus - such a cool setup in the old building.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you so much for the kind words about our hotel. We are especially grateful that you found our level of service to be something to rave about, as we take great pride in providing the best service experience in all of Downtown Denver. And we are also elated that you were able to experience The Oxford Club and Spa during your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

For many years now, when my husband and I want to treat ourselves to a Denver get-away, we book at the Oxford Hotel. Everything about this elegant old hotel is special: the rooms are quiet, spotless and beautifully appointed, the beds and pillows are comfortable, and everything works as it should (lights, plumbing, TV). On the very rare occasion that we've had a complaint, the staff has always been courteous and more than accommodating. The Oxford is also wonderfully located with the The Denver Center Theater, the Tattered Cover, and the Sixteenth Street Mall a hop and a skip away and the Denver Art Museum in walking distance. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby, and McCormick's, which can be accessed from the lobby, can't be beat for oysters and seafood.

Room Tip: We've especially liked the rooms on the higher floors overlooking Wazee Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Evi,

We are honored that you continue to choose The Oxford Hotel as your Denver retreat. We agree that The Oxford is a special place and thank you for sharing your positive experiences with our staff. We take great pride in creating memorable experiences and look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Todd Iseri
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Similar to the Chateau St. Michael in Miami's Coral Gables, The Oxford Hotel has no particular interest in being a business traveler's or budget hotel. The niche to which it caters is the adventuresome; guests seeking something more. And The Oxford consistently delivers.

From the incredibly historic and impeccably-maintained building (constructed in 1891) to the guest rooms lavishly appointed with authentic European antiques, to the oversized key rings you are encouraged to leave with the front desk staff upon departing the hotel, The Oxford sets itself apart.

The staff is great. The LoDo location places you within a short walk to Coors' Field, fabulous art galleries, multiple microbreweries and fantastic restaurants: Not to mention McCormick's Fish House and the best spot in town for a martini, The Cruise Room which are on site.

If you are open to the extraordinary, give The Oxford a try. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: For a small increase in price, the King Corner Suites offer king-sized beds and a sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HF1clTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, Sales Coordinator at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your glowing review! It is always an honor to share Denver's history with those who enjoy it. We truly try to create a Denver experience for each person who walks through our doors. Of course, we do what we can to cater to all types of travelers and provide amenities, comfort, and service that people expect from a luxury hotel.

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Teddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#19 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing