We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and Fantastic Staff”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Fantastic Staff”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

If you are visiting Denver and need a good place to stay in the Downtown area, you'd be doing yourself a favor by staying at the Oxford. The location is unbeatable: it's within walking distance to lots of happening places like Larimer square, the 16th street Mall, and Denver Center for Performing Arts. I never felt I needed a car throughout my the 3-night stay at the hotel.
The staff is great, especially the front door personnel. They can drive you anywhere within a 2-mile radius. All of them are helpful and will try their best to accommodate your needs.
The parlor suite was more like a regular room than an actual suite, but the rooms and hallways have an old charm to them, especially the decor. Even the keys are custom-made to fit the old times theme this hotel projects. The bathroom and bedsheets are nice and clean.
Sometimes, I could hear the neighboring room's conversation, but that wasn't a problem for me (I usually sleep with earplugs), but might be for others.
I used the fitness center once. I was pleasantly surprised by its size, the quality and diversity of their equipments. They had resistance bands, kettlebells and lots more.
Except for the small size of the suite, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Oxford and would stay there again if I get the chance to revisit Denver.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, Sales Coordinator at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,
We do agree with you! This area of town is fantastic to visit and explore all types of fun things that Denver offers without the need of a car. Of course, there are many options to stay active and fit in the area, but the Oxford Club’s fitness center is a neat and spacious place to keep up your healthy routine. If you do have the opportunity to visit again, we would love to have you return as an honored guest of The Oxford Hotel!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    201
    69
    21
    18
See reviews for
165
457
63
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We flew out to Denver to see our sons and meet our granddaughter. I made reservations at the Oxford based on the reviews I read on Trip Advisor. I loved this place!! The location was perfect. It is in LoDo (lower downtown) and close to everything. We walked to all of the restaurants and shops. The service at The Oxford was impeccable. We were there for 3 days and every time we returned to our hotel, one of the staff always said "welcome back. did you have a nice day?" We had the parlor suite and it was perfect for 3. The hotel has a lot of character and is full of antiques. The lobby was decorated for Christmas and always had a fire going in the fireplace. One night we watched our granddaughter and the front desk sent up a "pack n'play" at no extra charge!! This is an awesome hotel and I highly recommend it. Thanks to all the staff at The Oxford for making our first visit to Denver a memorable one!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, Sales Coordinator at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,
A new member of the family is such a lovely reason to be visiting! This time of year is very special to us and it’s absolutely magical to see all of the holiday decorations. Hopefully, these visits will become a tradition and one day, you can bring your granddaughter to one of our favorite holiday traditions: the Dolls’ Tea Party! Blessings to you and the whole family and we look forward to your next visit!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A marvelous, historic hotel, beautifully furnished. We had two lovely rooms, with large, modern, even plush, bathrooms. Delightful beds. The room on the interior was very quiet (423). We also had a room called a King Suite, which was one room with an enormous bathroom, but not really a suite in my opinion. Despite reservations made months in advance, they had "upgraded" one of our rooms to this suite, which had a king bed instead of the two queens reserved--not perfect for a group of women sharing rooms, and we were unable to change when we arrived. But the total experience overcame this fault. The halls are filled with lovely, beautifully maintained antiques. The staff here is truly exceptional. From the moment you arrive and interact with the doorman/valet/bell staff, the greetings were friendly, personal and sincere. Dave Weber, in particular, gave us recommendations for everything from beautiful hikes to restaurants, each of which was spot-on and terrific. We could walk to most meals, and the hotel's complimentary car service efficiently carted us both ways to a slightly-farther-afield restaurant. We had a great time in Denver, thanks in large part to our stay at the Oxford.

Room Tip: The room on the interior was very quiet (423).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, Sales Coordinator at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for joining us here in Lower Downtown Denver for a girls’ getaway! We are very proud of our team and are pleased to hear they helped make your Denver experience shine. I do apologize for the inconvenient upgrade and hope that will not deter you all from returning to our hotel!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Overall I enjoyed my stay at The Oxford Hotel. The Hotel had a great ambiance with lots of old world charm. The staff was very helpful and attentive. I booked a Parlor Suite and was disappointed by the size of the room, especially for the price. I also found it strange that the hotel did not have a self-accessible ice machine, you had to ask the staff for ice, which they were glad to get however. You absolutely cannot beat the great location, very central to downtown!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afsi B, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very happy you chose to stay with us and are sorry you were disappointed in the size of the room. Luxury hotels in this area can seem pricy, especially during high-demand dates like large city-wide conventions. We do hope you return to the property and invite you to book our Presidential Suite which is 300 square feet larger than a Parlor Room. Additionally, reservations for the new Crawford Hotel at the Union Station will be opening soon and select room types there will be larger than a 400 square foot Parlor Room.

Regards,

Afsi Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

There are lots of nice hotels, but what really separates the Oxford from other top hotels...is the staff. My son and I stayed there while he was relocating to Denver. The team there treated us like even more than royalty...they treated us like friends and family. I could name almost anyone on the staff...we were all on a first name basis with everyone. My son'sold relocation had a coupe of surprises (like his new apartment being delayed a week...finding out one day before move in!), and the staff bent over backwards to help. World class service from a wonderful group of friendly, caring human beings!

The hotel was charming. The rooms likewise...and spacious. And you can't beat the location in LoDo.

While the bricks and mortar were wonderful, it was the special group of people who work there that made the Oxford Hotel so incredible!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afsi B, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest,

If you were to guess what we are most prideful about, and you were to mention our staff like you did above, you would be completely correct! It is the only way we know how: we take the best care of our employees so that they can take the best care of our honored guests!
We are thrilled you got to be part of our family and look forward to a family reunion when you return!

Regards,
Afsi Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,362 reviews
313 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Let me just say that I didn't want to leave.

After three days of this kind of luxury, it's hard to go out in the real world again!

The hotel sits solidly on it's corner in Lower Downtown. The oldest grand hotel constructed in 1891, it pips Browns Hotel to the post by one year.

My room was on the corner and the huge windows let in the light. All the rooms are decorated in one of several ways. I had French empire in a beige colourway. When you have to use steps to get into bed it's serious luxury.

The bed, pillows, shower, towels and toiletries were all excellent. The WIFI is free and there's a work desk and TV. Breakfast is not included, as will all luxury hotels.

The bathroom is just sybaritic. I love white subway tiles and it was just gorgeous.

No coffee, fridge or microwave in room, however, there is a BOSE iPod dock by the bedside.

Parking is valet only for a daily fee.

There's a nice library on the mezzanine.

With two restaurants and a Art Deco cocktail bar onsite there's very little need to discover the outside world, but you really should as LoDo is hopping with great things to do.

I highly recommend this hotel and it made my Denver.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afsi B, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We had the pleasure of having you in one of our three corner rooms in the hotel! It sounds like you had a wonderful experience with all parts of the hotel. We do have coffee machines now in all of our guest rooms and also serve complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby and business center areas. We would love to see you here again, and definitely let us know if you need a refrigerator in the room during your stay – we can certainly accommodate!

Afsi Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We left Chicago in the high 20s so our arrival in Denver at 8am where it was snowing was a bit of a shock! The Union Street station (we arrived by train on the California Zephyr) is closed at the moment it will reopen I understand in 2014 and this hotel which is adjacent to the station will have more accommodation in the new complex. For now the station is in a temporary building out of the centre so it was not as convenient for us as it may have been (we had an early start the following day) However, the station staff rang for a taxi and we received a warm welcome at the Oxford despite arriving so early. We were able to leave luggage and go off exploring. The bathrooms were lovely with huge tubs and lots of hot water and the bed was very snuggly! We rejoined our train the following morning and the hotel supplied a free car to take us back to the temp station which we thought was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Traveling by train can be an excellent way to see the country and we are so happy we were one of your stops! The temporary station is just 5 blocks away, but guests can call for a complimentary pick-up from our town car. Of course, when the station is finished, it will be 4 blocks more convenient for guests!

With such a short stay, comfort of the bed and amenities are of grand importance! We are so happy you found your room to be a restful environment and hope we get to see you again soon!

Regards,
Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
838 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,216 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing