We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Warp to 1890”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Filled with antique furniture and modern ammenties, the hotel is a great break from the ho-hum corporate business hotel or the forced hipness of a boutique hotel. The staff is gracious and helpful. It is unusual to see the remants of a hotel that was grand in its early days, followed by a seedy period only to be salvaged to a modern downtown hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street face east and get am light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritzNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear guest,

We are very happy you chose to visit us here in Lower Downtown! The building we get to work in is very special to us. The colorful history of the neighborhood and of The Oxford Hotel gives us all a reason to have pride in our business. We have created a truly unique place in a very neat area of town to offer genuine service and friendly hospitality. Next time you are visiting Denver, let us know and we will welcome you back!

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Oxford Hotel is a beautiful old world charm hotel in a wonderful section of downtown Denver. The staff is attentive and caring. The beds with Frette Linens was divine. The restaurants and Martini Bar are fabulous. Walking distance to 16th Street Mall and fun shops and new hip restaurants

Room Tip: Room 210 is a great corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you again for joining us here in Denver! We love working here for the same reasons you enjoyed your visit and hope you will return for a visit soon!

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed several times at the Oxford Hotel in downtown Denver. It is close to everything. The staff is very much service oriented and I mean personal. The rooms are all distinctive. Just a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room away from main street to avoid revelers on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear valued repeat guest,

We love that you come back to us again and again! Each time we see you come back to check in, it reminds us of how important fantastic guest service is to our business. Thank you for becoming part of the Oxford’s family and we look forward to welcoming you back home again soon!

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 night. Very nice place with a wonderful staff. The fitness center is excellent for those of you that work out. This hotel is in walking distance of tons of great restaurants. Take the free shuttle bus to the 16th Street mall (shopping). Great City

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Septemberharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing The Oxford Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be convenient! Our fitness center is certainly a big asset of our property. It’s quite a sizable sanctuary for any type of workout. I hope that you will visit us again, soon!

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We took Amtrak to Denver. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the Union Station (currently under renovation - 5 blocks from temp. station). In the heart of "LoDo", it is easy walking distance to restaurants, galleries, bars Coors Stadium.

Nicely renovated classic hotel with a comfortable lobby and interesting art collection. Service was good if a bit familiar - every member of staff called us "you guys." Maybe that's a Denver thing.

Our room was 408 - very spacious with King bed, comfy armchair (one), TV, armoire instead of closet. Classic architecture with decorative moldings, high ceilings, arched windows that open but not old fashioned or kitsch. Contemporary fabrics, etc. The bathroom had black and white mosaic tiles and a stand up shower, no tub.

The room was 4th floor right on the main street (corner building so it has two busy streets) and on a Friday night you could hear the people partying in the outdoor restaurants. Back rooms would be quieter.

Breakfast in the dining room was good, variations on the usual American selections, portions too big, etc.. We had lunch in the bar area - not sure of the name. Not memorable. Creamed spinach came with tons of parmesan on it but this wasn't mentioned on the menu - floating in oil. Huge portions again but at New York or San Francisco prices. Pronto, the Italian restaurant across the street, however, had great food and was half the price - a much better option.

They had a complimentary SUV service to drive you anywhere within a 2 mile radius, which was convenient.

I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the outdoor restaurant noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for both visiting and writing about your experience! Next time you are in the neighborhood and need a place to stay, we would love to have you back to experience one of our other uniquely appointed rooms. The particular features you experienced in room 408 are similar to our other deluxe rooms, but every room in the hotel is different. For example, some rooms will have a closet instead of an armoire, some will have a shower-tub combination in the bathroom, and some will have two chairs and a small table rather than a large chair with an end table. Many of our repeat guests request the same room each visit, but some others like to try out different rooms or room types on their return trips.

The hotel was built in a U-shape, thus there are options to stay in a room that is off of the street. On days that there is a Rockies game, there is a lot more action in the streets and the 17th Street side of the building sees less traffic than the Wazee Street side.

With the car service, there are many excellent restaurants within range so that you can find the dining experience you want. The hotel restaurant’s daily fresh fish selections often demand a premium price but there are many options on the menu. Just within a few blocks of the hotel, guests can explore French, Italian, American, Asian, Mexican, and Brazilian cuisine!
We look forward to your next visit! Just let us know and we will help you book your reservation!

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed our room. The Cadillac Escalade shuttle was very convenient and helped us a lot. The rooms are clean, well kept, and very nice. Getting a cold bottle of white wine was difficult because the wine in the room is not chilled, so the concierge was very nice and brought us a bucket of ice, then had to come back with a cork screw. All in all we enoyed our stay and we would stay at the Oxford again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0hnwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review! We should have thought to bring up the cork screw the first time, but we do have ice available 24-7. The hotel recently transitioned from having minibars to honor-system snack baskets. It is much greener to not have 80 minibars running in the hotel and the rooms seem even more spacious without them.

Next time you are in town and need a convenient place to stay, we hope you stop by for a visit. See you again soon!

Regards,

Brandon Hendricks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a lovely stay here at the Oxford. It has lovely older architecture charm but super clean and amazing rooms and lobbies. Friendly, helpful staff. We just had one night here on our way to grab the Amtrak to Utah over the mountains (Also highly recommended! ) and it was the closest hotel that just happened to be fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank focaheela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! Your description of the hotel is spot on - while we are a historic landmark, there are so many contemporary and modern touches throughout that it makes the hotel feel relevant and up to date! Thank you for mentioning our staff, we will definitely pass on your comments and give them our thanks, as well! There are a lot of lovely hotels in Denver, but the thing that we feel sets us apart is our terrific team! Thank you for mentioning them. We hope that you will visit us again, soon.

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
950 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
The Maven Hotel
The Maven Hotel
#6 of 160 in Denver
187 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $194 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's most historic hotel, featuring recently refreshed rooms, the hotel is located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing