We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 150 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stumbled upon this hotel while searching for a place to stay while on business in Denver. Didnt want to stay at a big modern chain again. This hotel was just the right place. Its perfectly located in the City and the staff is incredibly helpfull and professional. Rooms are very large with really nice beds and big robes in the closet. The hotel is totally retro but with all the modern conveniences including a great gym and spa. The bellmen and concierge staff are absolutely the best of any hotel I have been to (and I travel frequently). Just an overall great experience and when I return to Denver I will absolutely stay at this hotel. Just an awsome place. Wish more citys had places like this.

Room Tip: I had room 200. Was huge and faced the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SG2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your glowing review! It’s everything that’s important to us to help a guest, especially a business traveler like yourself, find a relaxing retreat that’s convenient for your business. Don’t be shy about letting your colleagues know that we would love to do the same for them! We are excited to see you on a return visit!

Regards,
Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    175
    62
    17
    18
See reviews for
139
394
53
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The foyer and our room were beautiful to look at. The hotel has been wonderfully renovated and it's character makes more modern hotels look plain - first impressions were great. Our room was spacious and clean and well presented. The furniture was in keeping with the building, but looked almost new in it's cleanliness.
However, we found the bed to be smaller than we expected for a "queen" (more like a double) and the typical feather pillows that american hotels seem to adore flattened away to nothing when you put your head on them, no matter how many you stacked on top of each other.
The curtains were more like light filters than light blockers and by 6am they were essentially useless. Also, we were on the 3rd floor and following advice from other travelers on this site, in a room facing outward, but, the windows are single-glazed and by 7am the morning traffic was loud enough that sleep was no longer possible.
Finally, following more advice from this site, we considered parking in one of the lots down the street to save money, but on balance, you have to park after 6 or 7pm and have the car out before 6am or you are charged by the hour. The end cost made little more than $5 or $10 difference, so we went with the valet.
All-in-all, a pretty hotel with a lovely bar. Great for romantic couples who will be exhausted enough to sleep in the light and noise or those who rise early.

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest possible floor. If you like a big bed, get a "king" room, the &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaso747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I’m happy we had the honor of having you as a guest on your last visit to Denver! As a historic property, we work hard to maintain the building and perpetuate the classic character you got to experience while you were here. The hotel maintains a collection of antique furniture that reside in the public areas as well as the guestrooms of the building. Of the 80 rooms in the hotel, most actually have a king bed. When you make your next reservation, just let the reservations agent know that you prefer the larger bed. It sounds like there are a few other simple things we can do to make your stay more comfortable. Our hotel receives primarily business travel so, in most cases, the lively nature of the neighborhood isn’t a burden on guests.

On your next visit to The Oxford Hotel, I hope you’ll allow us to find a king-bedded room on the 17th Street side of the hotel for you. That side of the hotel is more northern and receives less traffic so the morning sun and hustle won’t bother you. Of course, if there are any ways in which we can make a guest’s stay more comfortable, it is in the nature of our hotel to find a solution to enhance their experience. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Denver!

Best regards,
Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Oxford Hotel. The hotel is truly unique with rooms decorated in the 1920s style-- a huge improvement over many antiseptic modern hotels. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the hotel has a good sized fitness center. It's also located near great restaurants, and it's an easy walk into downtown. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful you chose to stay with us! Working with such a unique property with amazing history is something I have really developed a fondness for. I’m so proud of our hotel and its associates. The fact that we are near awesome restaurants and attractions just makes me even happier to be a part of the neighborhood.

Thank you very much for your compliments; we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your next Denver trip!

Best regards,
Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A friendly welcome at the door, a lobby reminiscent of New York's Algonquin Hotel at its finest, a check-in complete with a real key...And that's just the first 5 minutes! Comfortably sized and furnished rooms, free wi-fi, and the bathrooms (some with soaking tubs) are squeaky clean. On the hotel premises, an Art Deco bar called The Cruise Room feels like a pleasant time warp trip to the speakeasy 20s, with a reddish glow infusing the atmosphere. McCormicks, part of the McCormick & Schmick chain, offers scrumptious food right there. The hotel is situated in the heart of LoDo, the lively yet not frenzied part of Denver. One block off the 16th Street free bus, easy walk to REI and the Platte Valley trolley and hike/bike trails, getting around on the public bikes makes Denver a breeze. Every time we came back to the hotel, we were greeted personally by bell staff and concierge...we enjoyed hanging out in the lobby where the New York Times, Denver Post, Wall Street Journal awaited, along with free coffee in the mornings. I was ready to plan a trip to come back even before we left!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter (off the street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Denver! If you are a big fan of using those deep-soaking tubs, you might ask for our complimentary bath butler service next time you are here. We truly work to enhance the LoDo experience of each person who walks through our doors. Being part of the neighborhood we are so fond of means that when you visit, you are one of our friendly neighbors!

Depending on what season you visit, there will be many different ways to enjoy Denver. Your next visit will be just as memorable!

Best regards,
Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

PROPERTY:
Great hotel. Classy, and classic - literally - it's been around FOREVER. :) That said - forget about leaving any comments about it needing updates, or remodeling, etc.....it's not supposed to be a modern, cookie cutter property. The locks and doors are period, as are some of the fixtures and accent furniture. By staying here, you're taking in the classic feeling, but with the comforts - the beds are great, the hardware (bathroom, etc.) are Kohler, and the staff is largely helpful.
STAFF:
Bell staff was awesome. Accommodating, professional, and prompt. The desk staff was pleasant and went the 'extra mile,' when we requested different pillows. Sasha searched the entire property (all closets), and even called the night clerk to inquire further as to where she might find some, however there were none (hotel was full), but the effort was much appreciated.
FOOD:
McCormick's appetizers - meh; not memorable, but overall what you'd expect.
Cruise Room - great atmosphere, but overpriced cocktails (and I'm not talking about the wonderful specialty cocktails that have their own history), but rather just the Crown-Cola at $11.
The AM coffee service on the floors is a nice touch.
OVERALL:
Great hotel, service, etc. The ONE gripe I couldn't get past was that darn recycling/garbage truck we heard at least 2 of the 3 nights at about 3 or 4am.....quite the annoyance/wake-up call (perhaps one that could be avoided/corrected).

Room Tip: -Art Deco rooms are a tad small (relatively), but comfortable. -Be sure to request a room off of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MplsLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are grateful you chose to stay with us and thank you for the accolades! It means a lot to our hotel to be able to uniquely combine our past with modern convenience and luxury. It turns in to quite an adventure to walk through some of our halls; we have framed some very interesting pictures that tell the story of The Oxford Hotel throughout the years. When the current owners acquired the property, they uncovered some of the original technical drawings of the hotel which are now framed and displayed for everyone!

I am sorry the early-morning garbage truck was such a nuisance and wish there was something I could do about the city’s trash schedule for that very reason. Hopefully, those comfortable beds you mentioned were able to coax you back to sleep. We hope that we will get to have you as our guest again soon!

Best regards,
Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Staff is extremely friendly and go out of their way to accommodate guests requests. The gentleman that valeted our car even drove us to a restaurant in the hotel car and picked us up so we didn't have to take our own vehicle. The rooms are beautiful, very clean, beds are comfortable and rooms very quiet. The hotel offers nice meeting rooms and a computer center and is affiliated with a spa. The location is walking distance from the train station (currently under renovation, but will re-open when tracks to the airport are completed). We stayed here twice; once before we took Amtrak to Glenwood Springs and then when we returned to Denver before flying home. This hotel is a great choice for downtown business meetings with numerous restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TarpleyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so excited for LoDo and for Denver to have the other light rail tracks completed! With Union Station reopening, we will have even a few more choices for restaurants within walking or town car distance. Our neighborhood truly is lively. Whether you are traveling by train into the mountains, or enjoying a vacation in our dynamic part of town, we look forward to your return visit.

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The place was beautiful, comfortable, clean, updated with old-world luxury charm. It's located within walking distance to everything. We even walked to the capital and the U.S. Mint. Took in a Rockies game and tried many of the great restaurants, never got in our vehicle for two days. The street at night was a little noisey, but we closed the black-out curtains and it was not bad. However, when I made this reservation I knew this was a little out of our price range, $280 a night, but I had heard parking was a real issue in the downtown Denver area and I figured it would be nice to just park the car and walk to everything. I haven't seen this in the reviews nor was I told when I made the reservation that I would be charged an additional $30 per night for parking. Be prepared to pay an additional $70 - $80 per night from the quoted price in fees, taxes, and parking. Also, a few hours after we left, I realized I left a necklace in the room. We called the hotel for several days, but it could not be found. I guess housekeeping is the same no matter how much you pay for a room or how luxurious the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased you chose to stay with us and are sorry to hear about the disappointments you experienced during your stay. I’m glad to hear that you were able to make the most of downtown Denver; several of my favorite restaurants are within five blocks and who doesn’t enjoy being at a ballgame? It’s because of all of those restaurant and attractions that downtown parking is at a premium. If you are visiting again, consider checking out one of our many package rates that include more for your Denver experience and your money. Parking is included in package rates to add to your savings.

As far as your necklace, we will check again to see if something has turned up; please let us know, too, if it turns up for you. We hope to see you back here soon!

Best regards,
Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#3 of 150 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#2 of 150 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Hotel Teatro
#23 of 150 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing