We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we'd hoped for but be prepared for extra fees they don't tell you about.”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The place was beautiful, comfortable, clean, updated with old-world luxury charm. It's located within walking distance to everything. We even walked to the capital and the U.S. Mint. Took in a Rockies game and tried many of the great restaurants, never got in our vehicle for two days. The street at night was a little noisey, but we closed the black-out curtains and it was not bad. However, when I made this reservation I knew this was a little out of our price range, $280 a night, but I had heard parking was a real issue in the downtown Denver area and I figured it would be nice to just park the car and walk to everything. I haven't seen this in the reviews nor was I told when I made the reservation that I would be charged an additional $30 per night for parking. Be prepared to pay an additional $70 - $80 per night from the quoted price in fees, taxes, and parking. Also, a few hours after we left, I realized I left a necklace in the room. We called the hotel for several days, but it could not be found. I guess housekeeping is the same no matter how much you pay for a room or how luxurious the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased you chose to stay with us and are sorry to hear about the disappointments you experienced during your stay. I’m glad to hear that you were able to make the most of downtown Denver; several of my favorite restaurants are within five blocks and who doesn’t enjoy being at a ballgame? It’s because of all of those restaurant and attractions that downtown parking is at a premium. If you are visiting again, consider checking out one of our many package rates that include more for your Denver experience and your money. Parking is included in package rates to add to your savings.

As far as your necklace, we will check again to see if something has turned up; please let us know, too, if it turns up for you. We hope to see you back here soon!

Best regards,
Brandon Hendricks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
There are newer reviews for The Oxford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want central location, personalized attention, historic and charming facilities (yet clean, clean, clean with modern convenience) - stay at the Oxford! It's got a first class restaurant, spa and martini bar(!). The staff was amazing, all went out of their way to know our names and to assist us in making our stay over the top. Would definitely go back - can walk or very short taxi ride to absolutely everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I can tell you it’s quite a special thing to be part of this LoDo community that creates memorable experiences for so many visitors. It’s great to hear that you were able to enjoy so many things that just our building has to offer. Between relaxing at the spa, enjoying a special meal at McCormick’s, learning pieces of Denver’s rich history, and restful sleep in our comfortable beds, we create an atmosphere that is appropriate for all types of travelers. It will be an honor to have you again as a guest and we look forward to making your next stay just as amazing!

Best regards,

Brandon H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

An informal reunion in Denver led us to the Oxford for our weekend stay. The beautifully restored 1891 hotel is comfortable and reasonably spacious. The staff is friendly and attentive and the dining room and lounge are warm and attractive gathering places. The location in lower downtown known as the LoDo District is a very active and popular part of the city and an easy walk to Coors Field where we enjoyed a Rockies game followed by a stop at one of the many roof top cafes on our way back to the Oxford. This is a nice reasonably priced hotel with amenities which I would recommend to families and friends young and old alike.

Room Tip: External rooms will have a nice view of the city if you want a vista. Internal rooms look into the c...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freeskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so pleased we had the opportunity to be part of your Denver getaway! It sounds like you really made the most of your time in LoDo. Of course, our staff is as passionate about this area as a visitor might be! Next time you are here, ask our staff about some other fun and local activities like biking brewery tours or live, outdoor entertainment. We all use downtown in different ways and look forward to sharing new experiences with you during an upcoming visit!
Best regards,

Brandon H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend. Very European feel, smaller hotel, nice gym, but beware it was really loud. 6am heard trucks, people In hotel walking, talking, etc. Our shower was broken which they fixed but our a/c rattled and that was not fixed. Hoping they check rooms workings before people check in. It was clean and everyone was nice, if you are laid back and a very early riser then maybe a food option. Good location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Beautifully renovated vintage hotel. Great location in Downtown Denver - close to many restaurants and bars. We were there weekday, so it was quiet. The interior has antiques and heavy brocade drapes, but doesn't feel stuffy. It feels updated and clean, despite the traditional styling in the room. The lobby is little more transitional in the design. Staff is very helpful and courteous. The bed was comfortable. The shower clean, nicely designed, and there was good water pressure. McCormick and Schmidts is in the hotel, so easy to grab a bite for breakfast. Park up the street - about a block, for less than the valet. I would stay again for certain.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recently had a one night stay for business in downtown Denver. Everyone I met on the hotel staff was extremely gracious and efficient. The hotel is old world style hotel. Despite its age the hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. Will stay there again on next trip to Denver.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JF4660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a surprisingly spacious room. It was clean and quiet and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Mikey the canary in the lobby was a highlight for my daughter. I liked the quick access to McCormick and Schmick's Restaurant and the historic ambiance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 158 in Denver
867 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 158 in Denver
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 158 in Denver
1,235 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $232 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing