We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like history, skip the stay and take the $15 tour instead”
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was so disappointed when I opened the door to our tiny, dark, one-window room, which cost almost $300 inclusive. I guess all the 'friendly staff' who gave other reviewers great service were off that day, as our check-in experience was chilly, bordering on negative. We needed to change clothes for the Bronco's game, and when we found our room wasn't ready, I got a bit stressed when the desk clerk said to come back later and "it MIGHT be ready..." The very elderly (80-something yr old?) bellman limped so badly we felt awful making him carry our heavy bag, but he seemed irritated when we tried to assist him. I am all for supporting and employing our elders, but this just isn't working - for him or the customer. One of the other doormen told us to walk the opposite way from Invesco Field and take a long bus ride, when in fact it is more expedient to go toward the stadium, right behind Union Station and take a quick little tram that drops you right at Invesco. (Shouldn't he know this?) The hotel limo will not take you to the stadium, by the way.

Our room was in an inner courtyard, which I knew going in, but didn't expect the "courtyard" to be only about 15 ft across to the other rooms, with an huge silver metal air vent practically taking up our entire "view", black soot-covered rocks at the bottom which showed through our window, and shards of broken glass to add a bit of "sparkle'. I had to shut the curtains, which rendered our tiny room even more claustrophic.

Some of the deco items in our room may have been nice in a museum, but served no function and frankly, weren't in the best shape. The deco desk clock wasn't working, the bureau opened up to various velvet lines narrow shelves, probably used for a jewelry store - who knows? All it did was take up valuable space in an already cramped room. The art deco desk was jammed in next to our bed as an end table.

Morning coffee in the nearby hallway/business center was very good, as was the internet connection and we liked the printers for printing our boarding passes.

I thought I was into historic buildings - but I learned my lesson at the Oxford. Next time I will just take the $15 historic tour and stay in a nice clean spacious room with windows and a view.

Room Tip: Do not get an inner courtyard room unless you enjoy prison cells.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy_RInnO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afsi B, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Nancy,

Thank you for taking my call and discussing your most recent review that was posted on TripAdvisor. Once again please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of service you experienced with us. As I mentioned to you over the phone, there are some incredible aesthetic changes to the rooms that we are trying to accomplish within the near future; new bed linens, phones and carpeting to name a few.

As for one of our senior employees, who you had mentioned on your review, he decided to retire after 30 years of employment with the Oxford Hotel. As we discussed it is something that we are extremely proud to have had such an amazing long tenured employee working here with us at the Oxford Hotel, he really was a well known, respected and tremendously appreciated person in the local community as a result of his three decades of service to all.

Your valued feedback has been shared with all staff and we hope for you to see the difference in service when you do return back to the Oxford sometime in the near future.

Thank you.

Afsi Bird
• GENERAL MANAGER •
1600 17th Street • Denver, Colorado 80202
abird@theoxfordhotel.com • theoxfordhotel.com
p: 303.628.5401 • f: 303.628.5413

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
There are newer reviews for The Oxford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been coming to the Oxford for years because of its charm and the added level of service. There are several old world lodgings in downtown Denver that the Oxford competes with. The Brown Palace and the new Patterson Inn both operate in the same vein. The Oxford hotel has always been our favorite due to its location, a coffee service on every floor, familiar staff who have been with the hotel for years, the relaxed atmosphere and the attached McCormicks restaurant. We spent the night in February with some friends. I paddled out in the morning to get coffee and there was none. One of our favorite things about the hotel was the full coffee service on every floor. Good coffee with good cream. Not the standard issue cheap coffee machine in every room that every hotel provides. Now one must get dressed, find one's way to the second floor or lobby to enjoy the coffee service. A small thing (if you don't love coffee and lovely, quirky touches...) but hopefully it doesn't indicate future changes that will transform the Oxford into just another hotel without charming individuality. That being said, we will give it another go next time we are in Denver - the rooms are quirky and comfortable and there is a food/drink bar in the rooms with terrific snack and liquor choices. We have always loved the Oxford!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent two-night stay at The Oxford Hotel. Loved the Lodo location (near some fine restaurants and The Tattered Cover Bookstore) but it was the excellent staff and quirky old timeyness of the place that made our stay truly enjoyable. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Talk to Grant.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afsi B, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience with us . I am happy to hear that our staff was able to provide a memorable experience for you . We think we have a special hotel and it's always nice to hear that others think so too.

Please call me directly if I can be of any service to you for your future visits.

Afsi Bird
• GENERAL MANAGER •
1600 17th Street • Denver, Colorado 80202
abird@theoxfordhotel.com • theoxfordhotel.com
p: 303.628.5401 • f: 303.628.5413

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon, and it was a real joy. I love old-fashioned hotels, and this one really feels like you're in the past - but with all the modern amenities, of course! They even still use real metal keys, which is a touch I like sometimes.

We upgraded to a room with a huge claw-foot bathtub for $40 a night extra, and were very glad we did. The room was large but still cozy, and really felt like home for two nights.

The location could not be better - I lost count, but there must be at least fifty interesting restaurants and bars within two blocks, but it's still not noisy!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blurgeshmurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afsi B, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experince with us . I am happy to hear that you and your husband had an enjoyable stay at The Oxford Hotel . We think we have a special hotel and it's always nice to hear that others think so too.

Please call me directly if I can be of any service to you for your future visits.

Thank you

Afsi Bird
• GENERAL MANAGER •
1600 17th Street • Denver, Colorado 80202
abird@theoxfordhotel.com • theoxfordhotel.com
p: 303.628.5401 • f: 303.628.5413

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were given a gift certificate for our "family day/adoption celebration" in 2010. Due to having a large, very young family to care for we were unable to "get away" until 2013. The Oxford did not hesitate to allow the use of this certificate - even though it stated that it expired in 2011. What a wonderful statement of who they are! Beyond this, the staff was very warm and conscientious, we were given a gorgeous corner room, their town car brought us to and from our evening's events and every person we encountered was absolutely wonderful. The architecture speaks for itself - stunning! We enjoyed our time at The Oxford in every way!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzettelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afsi B, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Suzettelle,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! It is wonderful to read your comments and to see that our staff was able to deliver a memorable experience for you . We will be sure to share your comments with our team.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you
Afsi Bird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

These days, travel has a tendency to be impersonal. We make reservations over the internet, and never actually have to speak to a human. From the minute we walked into the Oxford Hotel, the staff made us aware that they were there to make sure we had a wonderful time. The friendliness of the desk clerk, room service, parking and restaurant cannot be understated, in this age of computer-processed travel. The rooms have been beautifully updated since our last stay, as well. You can't go wrong with the Oxford.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKKColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afsi B, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear EKK Colorado,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! It is wonderful to read your comments and we will be sure to share them with our team. Thank you again and we look forward welcoming you back to The Oxford Hotel.

Afsi Bird
• GENERAL MANAGER •
1600 17th Street • Denver, Colorado 80202
abird@theoxfordhotel.com • theoxfordhotel.com
p: 303.628.5401 • f: 303.628.5413

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I treated my husband to a weekend at The Oxford for our anniversary & was really blown away by this small luxury hotel! Patrick at the Front Desk & Stewart (Stuart?) in Valet were both super courteous, but the entire staff never missed a beat. We were upgraded into the Corner Room, which was so lovely! We especially enjoyed the giant clawfoot bathtub. This is definitely the place to stay for couples looking for a romantic staycation in the city. The towncar service is awesome & will take you anywhere in a 2 mile radius - which is pretty much anywhere you'd want to go in Downtown Denver. Did I mention the pillow menu, yet?! For anyone not crazy about feather pillows, not to worry there are 5 other types that can be delivered to you! Thanks to The Oxford team for helping us make wonderful memories on our anniversary - you rock!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afsi B, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Marie C,
I am happy to hear that you and your husband had an enjoyable stay at The Oxford Hotel . We think we have a special hotel and it's always nice to hear that others think so, too!

Please know that I have shared your comments with our entire team in particular with Patrick and Stewart and we all look forward to your return.

Thank you

Afsi Bird
• GENERAL MANAGER •
1600 17th Street • Denver, Colorado 80202
abird@theoxfordhotel.com • theoxfordhotel.com
p: 303.628.5401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 158 in Denver
868 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 158 in Denver
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 158 in Denver
1,230 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-1204
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $232 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxford Hotel is Denver's oldest and most historic hotel - located in Denver's popular Lower Downtown neighborhood. Offering luxurious charm with modern day amenities, you'll find no two rooms alike at this independent hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing