We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Worst Hotel Service Ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #27 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Worst Hotel Service Ever!!!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2007

This Hotel only cares about getting your money after that they could care less about the customer.

Very rude managers with a very poor idea on how a paying guest should be spoke too. I have stayed in this hotel twice but will never spend another day at The Brown Palace!

Waste of money!!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Poor Service. Rude Staff
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FLYH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrownPalaceExecutive, Executie Assistant Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 25, 2007
The Brown Palace Hotel & Spa takes the utmost pride in our customer service and goes to whatever length necessary to reach complete satisfaction by our guests. This incident was thoroughly investigated by our staff and while the phone was not found, we agreed to replace his phone at full cost as a gesture of goodwill and hospitality.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    317
    133
    96
    52
See reviews for
248
603
128
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wgc
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2007

Stayed her for a single night in September 2006.

This was the final hotel. We had extreme difficulty getting parked up to register at the hotel and must have gone around the block 3 times. Something to be aware of – this is valet parking, so everything needs to be out of the car as soon as you arrive.

The concierge at the hotel was extremely helpful, and managed to sort most stuff out for us – the noisy fan (though it was left with a slight hissing noise), the storage of our cases etc. whilst we went off sightseeing.

The hotel itself can be quite noisy, both with the atrium, piano playing and additional dining on the second floor. I would recommend a room further from the atrium. We were quite close, but the noise was only heard just inside the door in our room.

Also the hotel is quite old, and as such has a number of odd features – you have to step up into the bathroom – be aware of this.

There was also a business centre that you could use as a resident, which had access to the internet, and could be used to print off directions etc.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking and registration
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank joychild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

The Brown Palace is a nice place but nothing special. The staff was very friendly and helpful but the rooms need updating. My shower was tiny as was my bathroom. The bathroom also had a step down which caused me to trip a few times. The bed was very comfortable however. Overall just average.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jbellae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

I loved the Brown Palace!
I feel one word that summarizes this hotel is classic. It was like turning back the clock to the 1940s. The service was amazingly friendly - like how it used to be. The decor was wonderful. However the best part about the hotel, was the restaurants. I ate at two of them (the Ellyingtons and Palace Arms was one of the finest meals I've ever had) and had a drink at the Churchill Bar.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kueric09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2006

I reserved a "Top of the Brown" room, received my confirmation and upon arrival, my wife and I checked in and were taken to a standard room on the 4th floor. I called the front desk and was told that the reservation system must have made an error so I took them my printed confirmation. Well, it just so happed that all the "Top of The Brown" rooms were sold out so I asked if I could pay more for an upgraded room (suite) but was told they were sold out too. I asked for the Manager and was asked in return "which Manager as the Brown has many Managers", so I asked for "The Hotel Manager" but I guess they don't have one. I have to mention, we were given the lower standard room rate, comp breakfast and comp one night room. This was very fair but the overall confusion and room disapointment was not in character with a 5 star hotel.

  • Liked — room service
  • Disliked — reservations, front desk
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jhoriuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2006

I stayed here for a conference back in October. I thought the hotel was wonderful. I had high tea on Sunday in the lobby area and it was awesome. I HIGHLY recommend it. The Palace Arms is a very upscale restaurant in the hotel and it was fabulous. My manager visited the spa and said it was one of the best spa experiences she had ever had. I think this hotel is great for business trips but I would stay here again if I ever visited Denver while on vacation.

  • Liked — The restaurants and accomodations
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGalUNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on November 11. We just wanted to get away for a night and had many surprises and a couple of letdowns.

Hotel:
Beautiful hotel on the exterior and interior lobby and restaurant areas. They have done an amazing job of preserving the hotels history. They also do tours and a ghost tour which I would love to do. The decorations are that of the early 1900's.

Room:
This was one of our dissapointments of the trip. We stayed in their superior King room which I would say was lacking in comparison with the rest of the hotel. The room and bathroom was very outdated and had a very musty smell that you quickly got over after being in the room for a few minutes. The drapes and carpet need some help but the furniture was elegant. The bed was very comfortable with great sheets.

Service:
The service here is the BEST in the city. From the bell man to the maid service. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The twice daily maid service is a nice touch with chocolates and ice in the evening.

Food:
We had ordered late night room service (3am) and we had never had such good room service ever!!! Reubens, cheeseburger, chips with onion dip. It was great.

Sunday Brunch:
We are going back to the Brown for a night to specifically have their TO DIE FOR brunch. They have 2 different times for brunch. One that starts before 10 and one after 10. We had the cheap brunch(before 10) and it was exquisite. Everything was so fresh and elegant. Service was impeccable.

I recommend this hotel overall over the other hotels we've stayed at in the city -Hotel Teatro, Marriott city Center, Grand Hyatt. Hope this helps.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Sub-standard room
  • Tips/Secrets — Room Service and Brunch are excellent
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Hotel Teatro
#19 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing