We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel and great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed two nights at the Brown Hotel and attended a conference there last month. The hotel itself is historical and beautiful. My king room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. I loved having a ceiling fan in my room as well. Housekeeping also did a fantastic job each day. The doormen and front desk personnel were always helpful with anything I asked. The one issue I have with the hotel, and what kept me from giving it 5 stars, is that the hotel charges $13/day for internet service. I find this ridiculous when I'm already paying $270/night for a room. No hotel in this day and age, especially one that hosts conferences, should be charging extra for internet service.

I had one lunch in the Ship's Tavern which consisted of crab cakes and seafood chowder. Both were delicious. Lunchtime was busy and since I was by myself, the waiter even thought enough ahead to try and get my order in ahead of the other larger tables in the restaurant. Great service!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zihuatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    310
    131
    94
    51
See reviews for
241
587
127
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I just got back from my most recent stay at the Brown Palace, and it never fails to make me leave with a smile on my face. I have been staying here for a little over 13 years now and won’t even consider staying anywhere else in Denver. Of course it’s an amazingly beautiful building, with all of the perks one would expect with a hotel of this caliber; however it’s the staff that truly sets The Brown Palace apart from anywhere else I have ever stayed. From the moment of pulling up in front and seeing Leroy out front it just feels like home. He always greets me with a hug and a smile and that just sets the tone for the rest of my stay.

I have always stayed on the 8th and 9th floors, as they are a bit larger, and have a bathtub that I can actually stretch out in. The bedding is amazingly soft and beds are very comfortable. The rooms on these floors have not been re-decorated at least in my time staying here, however they have taken extra care to make sure that everything is very clean and nothing looks too terribly warn. I needed some help finding a couple of restaurants downtown as well as to get some info on local events and Vince at Concierge was amazing. After first meeting him every time I saw him the rest of the weekend he made a point to stop and say Hi with a smile. This is the type of staff that sets this hotel apart from all others.

I usually take advantage of room service, and this trip was no different. Anything you order off the menu will be amazing. The quality of food, even off of the late night menu is better than anything I ate all weekend anywhere else in Denver. I am usually tempted to just not leave the room between the amazing food, stellar staff, and beautiful surroundings. There are no words to describe the level of service and love that goes in to this establishment from all levels. This is why I will only stay at the Brown Palace when I am in Denver.

Room Tip: 8th and 9th floor have a little larger rooms
See more room tips
Green Features: Always feels good to support a business that is Eco friendly
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Sean,

Please know that we appreciate your ongoing loyalty to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa and are proud to be your destination of choice in Denver.

I was delighted to hear that our team always provides you with exceptional service and that they make you feel like a part of our family here at the Brown. Our employees are unquestionably one of our greatest assets and I will make sure I reach out to both Vince and Leroy and let them know how much you appreciated their service.

I know how precious time is and we value your insight and your willingness to share your hotel experience with others.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were in town for a conference and stopped by the brown palace hotel for dinner at the ship tavern. Dean was our waiter and was absolutely incredible! He knew the menu and was able to articulate the options wonderfully. He was so attentive and never let our glasses get half way down. He had a smile the entire time and made our meal so enjoyable!
Best server in Denver!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsgoebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at the Brown Palace for a girls' night out due to the location of the hotel to downtown Denver. Turns out, it was perfect! Well within walking distance to the 16th Street Mall where all of the night life action is!

The room was clean, well lit and had great views. The bedding was soft and luxurious. I'm not sure what type of mattress but it was so comfortable!

The price is definitely expensive (around $470 with tax) but if you have the extra money to spend, I recommend it.

Room Tip: Valet is free is you are using the day spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmatt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Bmatt86,

Thank you for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a good time downtown during your girl's night out. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
209 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Have stayed several times at Brown Palace. Staff is always courteous and helpful, rooms good, and historic charm that this not left to deteriorate but is kept up and modernized as needed in rooms. Fun to play with the rotary phones that are located thru out the hotel that connect you to the front desk. Food and service as you would expect in upscale hotel, and piano player in bar on weekends.

Room Tip: Try a corner suite, very roomy
See more room tips
Green Features: take the historical tour of the hotel and see where the presidents stayed
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MusicTraveler2
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

First of all, the Brown Palace is an incredible romantic hotel, what a great place to go for a special occasion. Great staff, particularly Zak and Mike, and wonderful amenities. Rooms are nicely decorated while maintaining a historic touch.
Now i'll take them, and almost every other luxury hotel I've ever stayed in, to task. From our room when we checked in we could hear soft piano music drifting up, and looked forward to going to the piano bar later. ( I think every hotel of this caliber should have a pianist or other musicians on staff, it wouldn't be the same without it.) After a great dinner we sat down next to the piano in the Ship Tavern and though the pianist was excellent the piano was so out of tune and damaged that it almost ruined the effect. I have seen one hotel and restaurant after another that will purchase a piano and then literally never, ever maintain it. It is inexplicable to me how they can have a great instrument, pay an excellent pianist, and not spend a couple hundred dollars a year to maintain the piano. TUNE THE DAMN THING! It isn't the pianists job, it is the hotels. It is such an incredible boost to the ambiance, and for just a little bit of thought could be so much better. It is easy, and will keep your piano in good shape and playing well for decades. My one regret in writing this is some manager will read it and decide it isn't worth keeping a piano around, but it is! My two cents anyway....
Back to how great the hotel is now. It really is a place everyone in Denver should experience if they have a chance. And if you're traveling from out of town make sure not to miss it if you can. It is a Marriott Autograph property, so even you points lovers can enjoy it. Fantastic food and drink and wonderful amenities made for a great weekend.

Green Features: The hotel has recycling bins in the rooms in addition to trash
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MusicTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear MusicTraveler2,

Thank you for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. I was delight to learn that you enjoyed most of your visit and we greatly appreciate the kind words and suggestions you have about our staff and hotel. I will reach out to both Zak and Mike and let them know about your gracious comments.

I will also reach out to our lead pianist about the piano in the Ship Tavern. We do monthly tune ups of all our pianos, but I will let them know about your comments in the hopes that we can do maintenance to them more often.

We truly are greatful for your willingness to share your insight and experiences with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel has great obeisance. Rooms are spacious. Hotel staff services were excellent. Restaurant service was slow. Took 10 min before the server came to my table. Valet was a savior for us... Definitely recommend to friend's.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Hotel Teatro
#19 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing