We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant oil hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #23 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very helpful bell staff, front desk, and valet staff. The building was truly a sight to see. Magnificent lobby area to just stand and look at. The room was nice but smelled of a sewer leak. Some deferred maintenance in the room. No ventilation to get smell out.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to comment on your experience with us.

We strive hard to meet the needs and expectations of all our valued guests and are disappointed when we fail to do so. It was very disconcerting to learn of the shortcomings you experienced because of the unpleasant odor in your room, which I understand we were unable to rectify during your stay. I deeply regret the adverse impact these concerns had upon your stay and want to assure you that the issues you experienced are not typical nor in keeping with the level of service that we wish to provide.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Old style Victorian hotel. The hotel has a great location near the art museum and government center. It has a tall open lobby and they had live music filling the space. My room was small but nice furnished. The internet connection was costly so I restrained myself. I'd visit again with the GF. I think she'd appreciate the uniqueness of the place. The bell hops were interesting too. I enjoyed eggs benedict in the breakfast restrurant (one of three). They have a cigar smoking room, but I did not partake. It looked interesting though...

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for reviewing us. We know how valuable and precious your time is and we truly appreciate your willingness to share your insight and experience with us.

We were delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend back in the future.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at The Brown Palace with our twin 16 month old boys in a one bedroom suite. It was wonderful. The staff was very helpful. The lobby is classically beautiful and, as we entered, a jazz quartet was playing in the lobby where many people sat with some happy hour drinks.

With 3 restaurants, a lobby bar, and a top-notch salon/spa, you don't really need to leave. If you choose to go out, all of downtown Denver is at your fingertips. Most of which is within walking distance.

Our suite was spacious and the shower included a rain shower from the ceiling!

Our boys had room service for dinner and gobbled it up. They also loved exploring wide hallways and checking out the nooks and crannies of the hotel.

Of course, this is a historic hotel, so the windows are a little drafty, the elevator is dated, and the standard rooms may not be as large as you see at other, new hotels. That being said, I loved this place where the doors are always opened for you, your luggage is sent up to your room, and the valet has your car ready within just a few minutes.

It's not widely advertised in hotel literature, but this was acquired not long ago by Marriott. They have not changed the hotel at all, but if you have Marriott points, you can use them to stay here.

If you wish, they offer tours of the hotel. You can join a public tour, or schedule a private tour if you are a guest at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This classic, well-maintained protperty bespeaks of the rich cultural history of Denver. The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa is a must destination for travelers and locals lookng for a get away, relaxing experience. The Brown Palace is Denver!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unreinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you so much for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. We know how valuable and precious your time is and we truly appreciate your willingness to share your insight and experience with us.

Please know that we treasure your loyalty to the hotel and are proud to be your destination of choice in Denver.

It would be our honor to welcome you again!

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. I adore old vintage hotels, and this one is kept in amazing shape, but also has modern amenities. We went to a play one night while we were staying at the hotel. We chose to walk to a nearby resturant before we walked to the play. They have a complimentary car service that we used upon our return to the hotel, as it was getting late and I felt uncomfortable walking back. We called the car service and it was there to pick us up in less than 10 minutes. You will want to use the car service or walk because there is hardly any parking in downtown Denver, and if you do find parking, it is very expensive. Be forewarned that the Brown Palace does charge for parking, it is not included in your room cost, and it is pricey. If you are a guest at the hotel, you can take a complimentary historical tour with the hotel's historian. She does a wonderful job with telling stories about the hotel along with Denver's history.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Denver is filled with history and the Brown Palace is the gateway to that historical journey. Being one of the oldest hotels in Denver, the Brown Palace emulates the rich majestic charm with a twist of modern amenities. The staff exceeded my expectations with service. Tucker at the concierge desk made me feel welcome and at home. He was a wealth of knowledge and very helpful in finding my way around Denver. Although the hotel has a handful of restaurants to partake in, there are a plethora of fine restaurants within walking distance of the hotel to choose from. My suite was roomy with ample space that allowed me room to relax and space to spread out while doing work when needed. The turn down service was a nice touch to the evening upon returning from dinner, although the bed was a little uncomfortable to sleep on, but I suppose to him their own. All in all the Brown Palace is a must when staying in downtown Denver.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Stevie B,

Thank you so much for staying with us at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have shared your generous comments with Tucker; we appreciate your taking the time to recongnize his exemplary service.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband surprised me with a stay at the Brown Palace. We rented a "Top of the Brown" suite. The room was beautiful. You have an office area, bedroom large bathroom, makeup area and a nice foyer.

The service was exemplary, and we were given champagne upon arrival. The valet and parking is not included, but it does include in and out privileges. I did not see if they had a car service, it would be a wonderful addition if they did.

There was a single hiccup during the weekend. The office area of our room had a smoky smell that hit you like a brick wall when you entered the room. Our mistake was not reporting this issue right away. When we reported it later that night, but it was basically brushed off. The smell was so bad that we couldn't even enter the office area.

We made the most of the weekend and had a lovely time. We will return at some point, and this time report any issues immediately.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcolomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
934 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
670 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#20 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $205 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing