We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with class and a magical feeling at Christmastime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at this hotel for our 25th anniversary. We couldn't have picked a more special place to celebrate. Our anniversary is in December, and so the hotel was decked out for Christmas. The "look" is all classy and has the staff to go with it. All the staff are very attentive to your needs and to you enjoying yourself. Our room was beautifully luxurious, from the bathroom design and functionality to the bed linens. We stayed in a room on the "pointy" corner, 6th floor. Topping off our great room and experience with the hotel were the three excellent restaurants. Each of them are different, and each is wonderful in its own way. The staff all aim to please. The Brown Palace helped create a wonderful memory for our anniversary and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I'd recommend not staying in a room above the 6th floor because the rooms on the upper two floor...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LispDenverArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
There are newer reviews for The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

I first stayed at the Brown Palace in the summer of 1969, when we drove the family station wagon from San Diego. From the eighth grade on, I kept a decal of the hotel on my bedroom window alongside some of my favorite sports teams. Beginning in 2008 I began a new tradition, making return trips each December---- always staying on the upper floor where the rooms feature a 1920s art deco theme and bathrooms with giant tubs and full-size showers.
The hotel is majestic, the staff super friendly, and there is even a first -rate fitness room across the sky-bridge at the partnered Comfort Inn. The only potential disappointment I would imagine for a family visiting is the lack of a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. We love to hear about people's memories of their stays with us and please know that we appreciate your ongoing loyalty and are proud to be your destination of choice in Denver. We look forward to creating more memories over the years and welcoming you back!

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I was traveling alone on business and the hotel was in close proximity to our Denver office.

First impressions: We kept classic hotel. It was clean and welcoming.

Check-in:
Friendly, fast and efficient

Room:
Decent size, comfortable bed, good sized tv, comfortable temperature. Shower had and option for rain shower head from ceiling or normal wall mounted head.

Stayed on the 6th floor. Found the noise from the open area on the main floor carried up to the room. Actually tried falling asleep with the radio on.

Exercise facility:
You have to go to the hotel across the street. Took the above street covered walkway (+15). It was heated so it was easy to do in my shorts. The facility is a decent size. There were only (3) people in it when I exercised. It was around 5:30 in the evening. I believe there were 3 or 4 treadmills.

The ambiance was really nice inside the hotel. It was all decorated for Christmas and very festive.

Room Tip: Select a room high up in hopes the noise from the main floor does not carry up.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratnrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

First time visiting Denver and knew of The Brown Palace's history -- open for business every single day since it debuted in 1892! Husband and I decided to stay a few days two weekends before Christmas and were so very glad we did.

The Brown Palace is currently a Marriott Autograph Collection property so we were able to use some traveler points for the stay. This hotel is amazing -- a gilded-age architectural grand dame with functional amenities for the 21st century business traveler. We're giving it a 5 star rating as it truly is one of the best executed functioning historic hotels we've had the pleasure of encountering.

Rooms are of the era -- super high ceilings, crown moulding, awesome walk in closet (complete with safe and hotel robes), and a funky and very cool bathroom. The interior walls must also be made of stone -- the rooms are so quiet! Furnishings are period true with the modern twist (granite topped bureaus, I-Pod compatible clock radio/charger, vast cable and on-demand TV selections and a mega plug on the desk to accommodate all our 2103 electrical needs). The Brown Palace has its own aquifer beneath the hotel so the water is uniquely Rocky Mountain spring fed. Bathroom was gorgeous with its marble floor and double door. The amazingly invigorating water pressure shower had a second rainfall shower head combined with the regular one. No bathtub in our ensuite (room 408). We had a larger king room which was lovely. Bonus hint -- they have humidifiers for the rooms, upon request, if the super dry, mile high air poses issues.

We sampled three Brown Palace restaurants -- Ellyington's, The Tavern (super family-friendly), and Churchill Cigar Bar. They also have a fine dining room -- Palace Arms -- with amazing historic decor. The food is first rate and the pricing extremely fair. The Ellyington's staff was superlative on both days -- our compliments to everyone who works there.

The Brown Palace does have a spa -- didn't have time for that. The lobby itself is a destination with its ornate seven story atrium. The Brown Palace's high tea / piano bar cocktail hours seem to be a local tradition. You'll want to dress well to be here and ghosts of the past may frown upon flip flops and logo T-shirts, though management would never say so.

A brochure detailing the entire history of the hotel is included in the room -- fascinating reading. Business traveler husband was really impressed with the functionality of the hotel and we both were delighted to be submersed in nostalgia (this is where the deal to form the AFL was made -- though TPTB declared the Broncos would never attract enough fans to make the franchise work!).

The Brown Palace is in the heart of downtown. A mere two block walk will bring you to the 16th Street promenade with a plethora of shops, restaurants and horse drawn carriages. Know that, being downtown, this area is quintessentially urban with all that entails. A bonus of being downtown, it would be quite easy to take public transportation to and from the airport -- Brown Palace has a free town car limo that would take you to the 16th Street RTD station that has a train directly to DIA.

Stay at the Brown Palace at least once if you can. Your heart may draw you here time and time after that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ohiofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I know you have a choice when traveling and are thrilled you chose us as your holiday destination. We appreciate your love of the hotel's history - for your next time in town please know that we offer history tours with our resident historian.

The holiday's are one of our favorite times here and we love to share that with our guests. I will reach out to the staff and let them know you how much you enjoyed their service. Hearing feedback from guests is always appreciated and helps us continue to maintain our standard of going above and beyond expectations.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our afternoon tea at The Brown Palace was a festive and enjoyable occasion in Denver’s elegant landmark hotel. The large atrium lobby, balconies and other areas are decorated for the holidays. The large chandelier is covered with hundreds of white lights. Tea was served in the lobby and along the mezzanine balcony. A talented pianist played seasonal music during the tea time. Our group of 30 was pleased to have our reservation made for the mezzanine tables. We had a great view of the lobby, balconies and the chandelier, while listening to the music. Each of our tables had attractive three-tiered plates with finger sandwiches, scones and dessert pastries. Though our waiter and waitress were better dressed (and honestly - more refined) than yours truly, their gracious and friendly manner made us all feel welcome. The teas and food were excellent. I thought the scones were outstanding. After the tea, we enjoyed seeing other decorated areas on the main floor. When two young girls walked up to the pianist, he started playing “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer,” and the girls sang along with him. All in all, tea at the Brown Palace was a fine time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The weekend before Thanksgiving my mom, sister, 4 month old niece, and I stayed at the beautiful Brown Palace!! Can't say enough about this beautiful hotel -- wrote a more in depth review on my blog - www.passportmusttravel.com/the-brown-palace/ -- but wow, what a hotel.

Our stay was wonderful in every way and what a throw back to a time when people enjoyed the finer things in life and made conversation a priority. Loved every bit of our 1 night stay.

Many thanks to the hotel staff for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nedheader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed at The Brown Palace for three days on business.
Very nice older, historic downtown hotel. A storied past and absolutely beautiful architectural appointments throughout.
Rooms were beyond comfortable, and probably the quietest I have ever found in Denver.
Beds were great, internet was satisfactory, bathrooms were more outstanding. All in all the entire experience was top shelf.
Be sure to wander the property a little to inspect some of the history. Have a drink at the bar. Schedule a tea time well ahead of your visit if you are so inclined.
Concierge service is competent and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 158 in Denver
1,235 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 158 in Denver
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#15 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $242 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing