We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Tea Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Holiday Tea Time”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our afternoon tea at The Brown Palace was a festive and enjoyable occasion in Denver’s elegant landmark hotel. The large atrium lobby, balconies and other areas are decorated for the holidays. The large chandelier is covered with hundreds of white lights. Tea was served in the lobby and along the mezzanine balcony. A talented pianist played seasonal music during the tea time. Our group of 30 was pleased to have our reservation made for the mezzanine tables. We had a great view of the lobby, balconies and the chandelier, while listening to the music. Each of our tables had attractive three-tiered plates with finger sandwiches, scones and dessert pastries. Though our waiter and waitress were better dressed (and honestly - more refined) than yours truly, their gracious and friendly manner made us all feel welcome. The teas and food were excellent. I thought the scones were outstanding. After the tea, we enjoyed seeing other decorated areas on the main floor. When two young girls walked up to the pianist, he started playing “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer,” and the girls sang along with him. All in all, tea at the Brown Palace was a fine time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    336
    140
    96
    56
See reviews for
262
620
132
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The weekend before Thanksgiving my mom, sister, 4 month old niece, and I stayed at the beautiful Brown Palace!! Can't say enough about this beautiful hotel -- wrote a more in depth review on my blog - www.passportmusttravel.com/the-brown-palace/ -- but wow, what a hotel.

Our stay was wonderful in every way and what a throw back to a time when people enjoyed the finer things in life and made conversation a priority. Loved every bit of our 1 night stay.

Many thanks to the hotel staff for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedheader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, OK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed at The Brown Palace for three days on business.
Very nice older, historic downtown hotel. A storied past and absolutely beautiful architectural appointments throughout.
Rooms were beyond comfortable, and probably the quietest I have ever found in Denver.
Beds were great, internet was satisfactory, bathrooms were more outstanding. All in all the entire experience was top shelf.
Be sure to wander the property a little to inspect some of the history. Have a drink at the bar. Schedule a tea time well ahead of your visit if you are so inclined.
Concierge service is competent and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Went here for a night on my 10th anniversary. The service was great. Everyone was very nice and professional. Once in our room I was extremely disappointed! Everything was very dated, especially the bedding and art. Our bathroom was oddly shaped and while nice the shape was so weird. For the cost of over $250 a night, I will not be going back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
First and foremost, congratulations on celebrating your 10th anniversary and for staying with us at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. We truly appreciate your willingness to share your insights and comments.

We strive hard to meet the needs and expectations of all our valued guests and are disappointed when we fail to do so. It was very disconcerting to learn that your overall stay with us did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your room. We appreciate the opportunity to learn more about how we can improve upon our guests experiences with us in regards to the room accommodations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

What a magnificent property. 5 star plus in every possible way. They have managed to maintain the classic beauty and character of this hotel, while upgrading roooms when necessary. From the moment you enter the hotel, the staff is ready and willing to provide anything you might require. I can't remember another property where the service was so amazing. We were fortunate enough to have a reservation for the Thanksgiving Buffet. By far one of the most wonderful dining experiences we have ever had. Give yourself a special treat and stay here if you are in Denver.

Room Tip: Upper floors have wonderful views of downtown Denver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Carol,

Thank you for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa. We truly appreciated your willingness to share your experience with us.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we are very grateful to you for your kind words regarding our hotel and staff. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests and are always happy to hear when we have done this for a guest.

On behalf of all of us here at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I've always been in love with the Brown and was fortunate enough to spend 11/27 to 12/1 at the hotel during our wedding. Amazing service in each restaurant. Classiest hotel in Denver. The doormen and porter are amazing as well as room service. On my wedding day the room service woman I had dealt with all week sent me a personalized note wishing me her best. And may I mention michelle Gillette-hands down the best planner in Denver! Thank you To everyone at the brown for everything!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjw241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

All I can say is, why stay anywhere else in Denver? This establishment represents the very best of historic western Americana -- beautiful wood-steeped ambiance, wonderfully appointed rooms, fantastic breakfasts, and a sitting area that excels all expectations for comfort. Add in the Holiday decorations and it would be hard to imagine a better experience. Also worth noting, it has a convenient downtown location and access to a large, modern fitness center in the Comfort Inn, across the street, and easily accessible via an enclosed skywalk.

Room Tip: I had a corner room with a downtown view -- great window coverage and a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Ron,

Thank you so much for staying with us during your trip. We know that you have many options when traveling and we are thrilled you chose to stay at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa.

Regards,
Managing Director
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,207 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
820 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing