We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #23 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 2, 2013

If you want a fabulous stay in Denver..this is the place to stay.Old world elegance with all the modern conveniences...and the staff are the warmest, friendliest most helpful I think I have ever met in any hotel worldwide. Important note if you are a "smoker" there is a very comfortable "Cigar Bar" , Rates are reasonable for downtown Denver...You will love this hotel.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are as good as the one we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 341Katew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

909 - 915 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

What can you say about a hotel that has its own well and keeps bees on its roof? This was my third or fourth stay at the Brown Palace and it has become one of my favorite hotels, period - and I've stayed in plenty. It's one of the most unique properties in the country, and therein lies its charm. The rooms are a good size and as well appointed as any other Mariott, the restaurants are excellent and there's afternoon tea in the main lobby area, which is like sitting in the living room of a mansion. The hotel's location is excellent, in the heart of downtown a block from the pedestrian mall. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A professional staff, and decent accommodations, but not the high standards I've experienced at other top level Marriott properties.

There's a good degree of charm in the common areas and dining facilities, but my room, which was a good size, was less than palatial. Although nice renovations bring the room and bathroom to modern standards, the fixtures and decorating of the bathroom could have been from Home Depot. The closets were tiny and I had to hang the few items of clothing I brought with me "sideways" because the closet depth doesn't allow anything else.

Sure, nice robes, but no slippers...They didn't remember the room service breakfast menu for the second morning, which is a shame because they lost out of serving me a $25.00 continental breakfast (including tip...)

Decent place, but as a Marriott fan, my preference leans to the JW in Cherry Creek. Even as a cigar smoker (the BP has a cigar bar named Churchill's which I've previously reviewed) I'd rather not stay here. The Brown Palace is "well situated" if you're inclined to a somewhat desolate downtown. If being entertained by your surroundings is of interest to you, JW at Cherry Creek is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Spent a lovely 3 nights at the Brown Palace. Astonishingly elegent interiors albeit slightly confusing light switches. Treated myself to the $25 breakfast of bacon and eggs which was out of this world. Excellent location, less than a block from one of the main shopping thoroughfares.

Denver is the mile high town so be prepared for dealing with altitude, it takes a day or two to get used to it. Drink lots and lots of water.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryBearsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The Brown Palace is step into elegant times. The Victorian architecture is like no other. The rooms are extra large with very, very modern features. The food and service in the restaurants is five star. Not only a great place to stay overnight but take time to tour the hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Gmanusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for staying at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa.

Your comments are a wonderful testament to the caliber and professionalism of our staff and I am pleased that your experience at our restaurants was a five star experience. Our employees are unquestionably one of our greatest assets, dedicated to ensuring our guests enjoy a true Brown Palace experience.

Regards,
The Brown Palace Hotel
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

just had a wonderful four days at the Brown Palace, in a king room (340) in the corner of the building. amazing room ... big and roomy, lots of windows. if it had a bath tub it would have been even better, but great rain shower and double marble sink unit. very comfortable bed, and wonderful high quality writing desk. felt like ernest hemingway had been there the night before. this historic hotel is quite extraordinary inside .. the view from the lobby up to the wonderful stained glass atrium is spectacular. and the cigar bar at night is a slice of heaven for smokers. it might just be my new favourite hotel in the US.

Room Tip: i think it's probably worth spending a few more dollars and getting a deluxe room or even a suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattjameskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

You can't beat the Brown Palace. Service is always superb and the food at all restraurants is top notch. So glad to live in Devner and have close access at all times. Brunch at Elyngton's is the best in town and getting drinks at the Ship Tavern or Churchills is always a class act.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
927 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
668 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $214 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing