We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Landmark, Though Uneven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City
Level Contributor
144 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“A Lovely Landmark, Though Uneven”
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Brown Palace reviews seem to fluctuate between lavish praise and angry criticism, so it was with some trepidation that we booked two nights here on Hotwire, at the beginning and end of our Colorado vacation. Overall, we found more to commend than to gripe about.

Night One: We arrived rather late and were given Room 603. Though plush, it was very tiny, with the queen-size bed taking up most of the room. In the Ship Tavern there was just enough time to order a delicious Starboard Salad before a night of tossing and turning in the springy bed, where the fancy linens couldn't quite make up for the room's smallness. (And yes, we could hear/feel other doors slamming on the floor.) Upon checkout we asked for a room with two beds when we returned, if possible, and the affable desk clerk said he would try.

Night Two: We received a much bigger room this time, 312 -- compared to 603 it was positively palatial. This grand room made it much easier to enjoy the hotel's elegant traditional style and the upscale amenities, including a flat-screen TV and aromatic Spa toiletries.

All was fine -- until we returned from a great Rockies game to find an extremely LOUD wedding reception vibrating right beneath the room. Since we had to get up early we were both miserable at the prospect of another sleepless night at the Brown Palace. Luckily, again, the Front Desk came to the rescue and moved us to Room 714, which was (unbelievably) even bigger than Room 312 -- if it were a Manhattan studio apartment it could probably sell for more than a half-million dollars. (The room's "rack rate" on the door was listed at $600.) We slept quite well in this posh, quiet room and felt that, all things considered, our experience here was mostly positive, especially since we were paying a reduced rate.

In short, the Brown Palace is a fabulous historic landmark, but as a century-old building it can compete only so far with today's sleek, contemporary hotels. Nonetheless, we had absolutely NO issues with water pressure/hot water, like in some previous trip reports. And everyone we dealt with -- Front Desk, Bellmen, Housekeeping, Ship Tavern bartender -- was as warm and friendly as could be.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank dale_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    312
    131
    95
    51
See reviews for
244
596
127
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

The hotel has a historic charm. I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference there. The size of the hotel made it a very convenient conference venue. It was so easy to go back and forth between my room and the conference rooms on the second floor and the lobby. The front desk, bell and concierge staff were very helpful and friendly. I ordered room service, which I was extremely pleased with. I also ate in the tavern restaurant, which I also very much liked. The location was prime, a one block walk to the 16th Street Mall shops, restaurants, free shuttle, and also a short walk to attractions such as Lodo, the Capitol building and Mint. There was no gift shop, which I usually visit. Although there are nearby stores. I did not try the afternoon tea in the center of the lobby, but it looked very scrumptious and inviting.

  • Liked — location, food, room service
  • Disliked — no gift shop
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank girlluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

The Brown Palace is one of the most beautiful historic (1890s) hotels that I've seen--and I've seen quite a few, because I particularly enjoy staying in historic hotels. The atrium lobby is spectacular. And, despite its age, the hotel is in great shape. My room was lovely, very comfortable and well-appointed. (Not everyone may appreciate the reproduction Victorian-style furniture, but it goes with the hotel.) Unlike so many upscale hotels, the room had a coffee-maker, which I appreciated. The bathroom, obviously recently re-done, was particularly nice. (The shower had two shower heads, one in the wall and a second in the ceiling, which was a new experience for me.) The only small drawback to the room was limited closet space.
I was at the hotel for a meeting so didn't take advantage of some of the amenities, such as the spa or having tea in the lobby, but the meeting rooms were nice, and the service provided for the meetings was good.
I'm very glad to have had the opportunity to stay at the Brown Palace, which I've admired during previous visits to Denver.

  • Liked — Beautiful historic building, comfortable room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Historybuff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

My mother and I stayed two nights at the Top of the Brown, enjoyed a spa day, took advantage of the fine restaurants in the hotel, had a lovely time at this grand old hotel. Staff was friendly and attentive, room was very nice and quiet, artesian water was a delicious surprise(well under hotel). There's even an internet cafe to pick up e-mails.

  • Liked — location, food at the tavern, spa
  • Disliked — everything was perfect.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2008

In our opinion there is no finer hotel in the country. I love the elegance, the location, the lobby but nothing compares to the service. From the moment you walk through the door, you feel like royalty. Every staff member we interacted with seemed committed to service of the highest quality. No detail was overlooked. I would go out of my way to stay at the Brown.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ejeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2008

My mother and I traveled to Denver for a long weekend as vacation. We didn't stay at the Brown Palace (though I would have loved to) but we did hit up the spa one morning to relax.

I typically go to Elizabeth Arden back home and thought the prices were comparable, but the experience much more unique in that the Brown is older, more historic, and so more memorable. The relaxation room allows you to use the sauna -- all the products you would need are available after your services -- from hair products to curling irons to paper products. It was quiet and relaxing.

I had a facial done and my mother had her hair done. Both girls were incredibly friendly and clearly enjoyed their jobs, which is always refreshing.

I would encourage you to double check your booking time and service before going as we had some confusion with that initially...but the experience was a unique one and I was glad I took a girlfriend's recommendation to check it out.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank ajp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

We came back to the Brown Palace because our first experience was so great! We were not disappointed. The room was beautiful; the food excellent; the staff extraordinary. We will always stay in the Brown Palace when we are in Denver. Actually, for the two of us, the Brown is now our destination!

the Rev. R. Kenneth Wills
the Rev. Dr. E. Carolyn Wills

  • Liked — Excellence in service, food, room
  • Disliked — Christmas crowds
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 156 in Denver
765 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 156 in Denver
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#18 of 156 in Denver
1,167 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing