We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, comfy room, quiet - but why charge for wifi?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed in room 705 for two nights. King bed. No view, but good natural light. Check in was easy. Room was ready before 3p which was nice as I’d travelled from east coast. Bellman was very helpful and helped me get a new room (I don’t like adjoining rooms). Ate at Ship’s Tavern – just so-so. Went to cigar bar which was fun. Good sleep quality and hotel was quiet while I was there. Good-sized flat screen TV with HD. The room could use more plugs – I needed to get creative for all my gadgets. Good shower and water pressure. Used wakeup call service and all went well. Did not do room service.

Why do hotels – especially at this price point- charge for wifi? It’s ridiculous.

Easy wall to 16th Street Mall area – very nice for walking, not much for shopping (mostly chains + cheesy gift shops).

Housekeeping was uneven – turn down first night was awesome, not so great the next.

Got a blowout at spa – David was wonderful and did an incredible job with my hair. It was really pricey (usually pay $35 in NYC) – it was $72 with mandatory tip added (which was OK since David was awesome – but what if he wasn’t?)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you here as our guest at The Brown Palace Hotel and we appreciate your detailed review.

We are pleased to read that your overall visit with us was enjoyable and that you particularly appreciated Churchill Bar, your room accommodation and amenities and your experience in the Spa with David. He was happy to receive your kind words pertaining to his service.

I would like to apologize, however, for your mediocre dining experience at Ship Tavern, as well as for the inconsistent Housekeeping service. These concerns are not indiciative of the experience that we strive to provide.

I also regret to learn of your disappointment with the charge for Internet. We had decided that it would be best to only charge those guests who are using elective services instead of incorporating this additional fee into the room rate. We are careful to ensure that our pricing is competitive with other luxury properties in the Denver area, and are pleased to continue offering complimentary Inernet in our Business Center and Atrium Lobby.

We do endeavor to exceed our customers' expectations and have shared your feedback with our management team for internal follow up and future consideration. Please feel free to contact Ryan Pratt, Rooms Division Manager, at rpratt@brownpalace.com if we may be of any assistance or if you would be willing to share additional details on how we could have improved upon your stay.

We would be most grateful for an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay a night at The Brown Palace in March. Stay from start to finish was excellent. We took the tour run daily... free for hotel guests or $10 for non guests. Tour guide was a historian and professor from Metro State University. She had a wealth of knowledge on the hotel, its history, interesting facts and a few stories that you wouldn't expect. We were lucky enough to see the Eisenhower and Beatles suites as they were both vacant at the time. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alar1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We are so pleased to read that your recent stay with us was exceptional from arrival to departure.

We're also happy to know that you had an opportunity to participate in our guided historical tour, which is an informative and fun way to learn about the events and people that have helped shape the Brown Palace over the years. We're glad you were fortunate as well to see two of our specialty Suites aptly named after the famous guests who had occupied them.

We are all looking forward to your return with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A lovely Grande Dame. We enjoyed our stay and I adored the Palace Collins and hot almonds in the atrium lobby at cocktail time. We reserved a corner king and we were upgraded. However, the staff did not accommodate us well when we asked to get into our room earlier than exactly 3:00 PM, which Marriott sometimes does for gold members. We understand that early check-in is not always available. Just a cautionary note to the weary traveler that takes an early morning flight to Denver from the East. Otherwise, I would have given this lovely hotel 5 stars. For those who enjoy cool facts, this hotel is crowned by a Tiffany stained-glass window.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reasonable50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We are most grateful for your time in sharing a review pertaining to your recent expericence at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa.

Your generous remarks regarding the interior architecture, signature Atrium Lobby cocktail items and your upgraded room accommodation are very much appreciated. We do regret, however, that we were unable to accommodate you with an early check-in. We do strive to honor all of our guest requests whenever possible and when business levels will allow. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused.

It would be an honor to welcome you back to Denver's Grand Dame again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Churchill Room is a great bar to stop by for a late night drink and a cigar. Ship Tavern was terrific another night for dinner. Both solid and enduring. The front desk was also attentive to every question.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Beech44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your recent patronage - we're very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experiences at some of our several dining venues recently. It was also nice to receive your remarks pertaining to the friendly and helpful service you received from our Front Desk team.

We do hope you will not wait too long before visiting us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

As an international attorney who is always 'on the go', I can not say enough wonderful things about Denver's Brown Palace. The staff is terrific, warm and accommodating. Taylor at the Front Desk is really helpful. Hotel pianist John (for more than 20 years!) is better than most found on Broadway. If you would like to feel at home in Denver in a beautiful historic hotel, stay at The Brown Palace. I will be back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalGal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We truly enjoyed receiving your gracious account of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that your stay was five-star in every way and that our staff provided you with friendly and accommodating service.

It gave me great pleasure to share your kind remarks with both Taylor and John personally. We are truly fortunate to have such a great team here at The Brown Palace and your comments are a testament to this.

We are looking forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here 1 nite (May1). I have stayed in many Denver hotels as i come here on business frequently - usually Marriott or Starwood properties. Room 702 a queen bed which was very firm. I expected the hotel to be noisy with the 8 floor atrium and antique doors, but it was surprisingly quiet. Room was small but functional tho few electrical sockets. They were very nice to provide a mini fridge. Bathroom was very small but an excellent shower (no bath). Worst hair blowers of any hotel, as my long hair got caught in it. Excellent location 1 short block off the 16th st mall. At least 3 restaurants in the hotel but i had business meals elsewhere. The have a hotel car that took me across town to my meeting which was very nice. The hotel is a fantastic historic site. The atrium and lobby are spectacular. Wish i had been able to use the spa. All in all, since i got a good rate, this was worth the try.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and are grateful for your feedback.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your room accommodation overall, and would be pleased to provide you with different layout options upon your return if you are seeking a room with a bath or additional electrical outlets.

I would like to apologize for the faulty hair dryer in your guest room. I have shared this concern with our Housekeeping team to ensure that all of our room amenities are in the best condition possible for our guests.

Thank you again for your patronage and please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have been to the Brown Palace spa multiple times over the last 5+ years and consistently have a great experience. Its starts and ends with the greeting at the front desk but all throughout my experiences (mostly facials), the staff is professional, courteous, and goes above and beyond to make my spa day most enjoyable. I highly recommend Shai Albright for a facial, she's fantastic!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearsoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa for all of your Spa needs!

We truly value your business and are delighted to know our staff has consistently provided you with an exceptional experience from start to finish. We also want to thank you for recognizing Shai's outstanding service and I will be sure to share your kind words with her personally.

On behalf of all of us here at The Brown Palace, we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
927 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
669 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $211 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing